We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Overall nice room and very nice pool and spa. Good experience at the in house restaurant, Eight, as well. The hotel is a bit stuffy and formal for our tastes though.

We booked this stay on hotels.com and when we arrived, our room was not fully stocked with kitchen items, robes and slippers. The staff quickly fixed this but then we discovered a leak in the bathtub faucet. They upgraded our room from the 3rd to 5th floor. Huge difference! Much nicer room on 5th floor. However, the fridge did not work so they brought us a bucket of ice and replaced the fridge the following morning. After these incidents, we really enjoyed our room and the wireless internet was solid throughout our stay.

The hotel's policies related to food and beverages by the pool need to be clear and consistently enforced. It doesn't bode well for the hotel when only the young guests are reprimanded.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that our staff were quick to address your issues. It’s always our aim to provide the best customer service we can. We have passed on your feedback about the poolside service to our Chuan Spa and food and beverage teams.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 4,558 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

as always we enjoyed our stay at the Langham. The service is par excellence. Our stay in the club meant that we missed out on our usuual breakfast with Ann and her team' s top quality service but Judy and co made our stay, as ever. memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Really helpful staff and a free shuttle bus down to the waterfront (though you do need to book this with the concierge) which is great as the hotel is at the top of the hill a little way from the town centre.

The spa is well worth a visit with a heated outdoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna with cold showers and ice.

The hotel has an old style glamoour with a modern twist, cool for afternoon tea and spa treats. If you need further proof of the quality of The Langham it was teaming with the pilots and cabin crew of Emirates Airlines - tres chic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlinkyGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent a night in November then another two nights in mid December and were pleased to receive an upgrade to a Club Room. Although complimentary upgrades don't actually allow access to the Club Lounge, it didn't bother us as those lounges don't appeal. However we did notice the difference in the Club room, namely being on a higher floor, superior bed linen, complimentary fruit and nut platter in the room and superior bathroom amenities.
Once again, everything was perfect. Room service food a cut above other hotels, very comfortable bed and pillows, turndown service with slippers, chocolate and mineral water, well stocked mini bar, quality towels and bathrobes, large array of in house movies. Staff are all very professional and genuinely friendly. Gym facilities are fantastic. All in all, great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHOFXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The rooms have a nice colonial feel and the pool and gym facilities are very good. However the check in process took a long time due to the rooms not being ready, and we met an elderly American couple who had arrived early from the US at 9am but didn't get there room until 4pm. The main reason for writing this review was the fact that I was charged NZ$6.50 for a coffee which is exorbitant. I don't understand why hotels do this because if it was more reasonably priced then you are more likely to eat and drink in the hotel, rather than feel that you are being ripped off and make a point of eating/drinking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Langham is a reliable choice for someone wanting a quality hotel in a city. Although the rooms are definitely ready for a makeover, the bed was without doubt the most comfortable I slept in throughout a two week tour of NZ.

The staff were very helpful and were most attentive to ensuring the needs of guests are met. The front desk staff were great with their restaurant recommendations and we certainly appreciated the access to free Wi Fi that is available to any guest who is a member of the Langham loyalty program. Rooms are clean although its time to shed shower curtains. They definitely date the rooms and really need to go.

This hotel would have been really beautiful in its day and is still absolutely fine, but it's time for the opulence of the foyer to extend to the rooms.

Be careful with room service as there is an additional $10 for delivery to your room. That's actually pretty ridiculous.

The bar in the lobby is gorgeous. We didn't have time for high tea but it looked divine. Had drinks before dinner though and it was really lovely. The shuttle bus is a great value add as it's about a $12 cab fare to the harbour from The Langham.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaview088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Langham for 5 nights. We loved the room, although it was near the elevator it was very quiet. The staff are great. Although it's not in the downtown area they have a shuttle which leaves every half hour and drops you downtown and then picks you up every quarter to and at every quarter after the hour.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on 6th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,970 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £90 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing