We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some things missing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but some things missing”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

liked the package of one night free valet parking, breakfast included 280.
For an international hotel i would have expected they emphise the kiwi side of things...kiwifruit and lamb....at the hotel. Agreed Chinese new year is apon us..but the window stickers and lanterns look like a permanent feature. Quintessential kiwi please.
they layout could have been better with bread in two spots, no tongs for the hot bread or bread plates.
Food was ok..a chocolate fountain...wow. the bircher museli wasnt though, watery as..should be thick. ordered an omelet..thaught it would be saved for me...but wasnt. a selection of honeys..great! but had to pick up each pottle to find out the different types. Gluten free.

Couldnt find any feedback from in the room or..at reception!!!!!!

Would have appreciated reception to have more local knowledge. wanted to find out where a dancing spot was..and no one really new. also was recommended a restraunt which was closed on Sundays.

The bar downstairs ordered a pina colada wich had a piece of rotten cream at the bottom!
informed the bartenders...but nothing was done about it.
Seems there is a problem with there processes here.
was otherwise presented as expected

Not a soundproofed room! not really central.
they had a shuttle operating to go downtown which was ok.

Room itself was clean, but no balcony at this hotel. the airconditioning actually worked and smelled clean and wasnt noisy which was good. given this hotel.
Id class this an old "grand" hotel with an enormous shandalier opera music in the lobby comfortable seats at the bar.
Would love to see some nightlife here. dancing disco...etc.

Room Tip: Facing away from the main roads?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,577
    1,124
    392
    108
    64
See reviews for
490
2,095
253
971
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel got off on the right foot by immediately upgrading us to an executive room. Staff were helpful throughout. Room was sumptuous; hotel has a nice outdoor pool & decent gym. They also do a shuttle to take you down town, although it's only a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked two rooms here when visiting Auckland for our wedding for 23-26 Jan. The property oozes that timeless old-world charm which they've clearly gone to lengths to preserve.

Service levels are equally as impressive- staff go to lengths to impress and nothing is ever too much trouble. As per other reviews, yes the rooms are a little 'old', but this is in keeping with the old-world decor. They are well maintained and immaculately clean; everything was in perfect working order. Free Wi-Fi offered upon joining the 1865 Club. My sister called ahead of time to order some flowers for our wedding, and concierge was very obliging, as were reception staff when we wanted to change the date of our pre-ordered breakfast. The nightly turndown service was also a pleasant touch.

We also enjoyed a Tiffin High Tea after our wedding ceremony which was pricey, but enchanting experience and worth every cent. The waitstaff displayed excellent product knowledge and appeared to be very passionate about what they do. The buffet breakfast is also well worth the price.

On our final afternoon/evening, we were looking forward to spending some time by the pool spa and ordering a drink or two along with some bar snacks which were reportedly available. Unfortunately this didn't appear to be available. The pool area was nonetheless clean and pleasant.

The charm of this hotel went a long way in making our event feel special, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise and a better view of the CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeKu1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I based ourselves here for our first ever trip to Auckland - 4 days. We were upgraded to an Executive Room (stay 2 nights and get a free upgrade subject to avail. etc). The stay were extremely helpful and very polite at all times that we met them, but we were disappointed with the room. Although the Executive Room was large the furniture was dark and large particularly the dresser. The room was dark (and it was mid summer!) and when we opened the net curtains we looked onto a huge flat roof of something that could have been a car park. No view whatsoever! If this is the Executive Room I wonder what the other rooms' view are. There were very few drawers for your clothes, what there were had been allocated to room snacks (all part of the mini bar) wine glasses, drinking glasses all set in pre moulded holders in the drawer so you couldn't take them out to use the drawer etc etc). It had obviously been designed without REALLY THINKING what would the GUEST need and like. This is obviously not the fault of the staff, nor the Manger but is that of the owner.
The location, up a hill, is quite some distance from the hub of Auckland i.e. Downtown and the Waterfront where we saw other large hotels such as the Copthorne and Mercure. To be fair they do run a courtesy bus service to Downtown and we used that quite a lot as the area surrounding the Langham does not have a selection of restaurants unless you want take-away or burgers. The University campus is very close. The drivers were very friendly.
This was the culmination of a 6 week trip to OZ and NZ and we had decided to treat ourselves to 5 star for our last stay. We really enjoyed the Motels and other Hotels that we stayed in , and would we come back to the Langham ? No - wrong location (looks ok on a map), but very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one with drawers for your clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lidays99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in the Langham every time I have visited Auckland. The service has always been good ... They even kept a large parcel for me when I went travelling around the North Island. Beds comfortable and rooms of a very good standard. I was travelling arond the world on my last holiday there and I can only say that it was the BEST breakfast I had in my whole trip ... Including 5 * hotels. Near the Modern Art Gallery which is well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank scotland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had an amazing stay at the Langham Hotel. The staff were so courteous and helpful and the attention to detail was brilliant. We dined in the restaurant and the food and service was great as was the high tea served in the bar area of the hotel. A great way to end our NZ trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was really looking forward to stay in the Langham. The staff at the reception were very nice and polite and the entrance is marvellous. We went to our room and I was quite surprised by the dark hallways and dark rooms. Not really inviting. We wanted to have some lunch and were directed to the Eight Restaurant. They obviously have a Sunday brunch special and when we entered we had the feeling to be in a "all you can eat" facility. It was loud and uninviting and it was the opposite of a nice lunch. We ordered from the menu and the meal took quite a while to arrive. The location and surrounding of the Langham are not really nice so we thought we have to make a booking for dinner there as well. To start with they only had a spot at 8.30pm and they told us it will be the same over-crowed situation in the evening. So we decided to have Room-service which was really nice and tasty. In the afternoon we wanted to have a cup of coffee but due to the High-Tea event it took a while till they offered us a table. Overall the staff is really friendly but the rooms are quite worn out, the restaurant is a disaster and the staff at the Spa reception is not really friendly. I wished the Langham would remember that it wants to be a 5 Star Hotel and therefore should treat their hotel guests a little bit better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juttaksch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your stay, and we are pleased to hear you found our reception staff polite and welcoming. We understand that some of our guests prefer a quieter environment for dining, and our Eight restaurant can be busy at peak times. We are shortly introducing an a la carte dining service at our newly refurbished Palm Court (beginning 17 February), which will cater for guests wanting a more relaxed and elegant setting.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing