We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Langham Auckland let the brand down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Langham Auckland let the brand down”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at the Langham Auckland recently on a visit to NZ. We are regulars at Langham's around the world and are 1865 members. Found this hotel not up to the standard of the Langham brand. It was the little things that were below par. Like no porters to assist with luggage upon arrival, breakfast selection was poor, room was tired. The location was also poor with a 15min walk into town when the hotel advertises a central CBD location. Not good. Could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay. You should indeed have been offered porter assistance, so our apologies that this was overlooked on your arrival and we have passed on your feedback to the team. We do have a complimentary shuttle service running to and from the Auckland waterfront for guests who prefer not to walk and this runs regularly every half hour.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,601
    1,133
    395
    109
    66
See reviews for
494
2,109
257
985
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night before leaving on our cruise. We had booked the chauffered sedan for our transportation from the airport.mmwhat a lovely way to begin our travels! We were greated by name at the front door and personally escorted to our room. The room itself was small with dated furniture. The bed was very comfy and the bath well appointed. We had been comped a free cocktaileach which was lovely as deinks started at NZD $10. The pool and locker room was lovely. Nice place

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuAnne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staff was very friendly, rooms nice and quiet, great wifi. We just need a one night stay after our cruise. Good central location. Evening turn down service with chocolate on the pillow is a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairbykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I am an 1865 Voyager member, so that may have had something to do with the great service. Nevertheless, my experience was flawless. The staff was wonderful, my room was very nice with a fantastic view, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The rooms were very quiet, air conditioning worked well, and the Internet was very speedy- I had to teach a class via videoconference and it worked well. I got a very good rate on the room as well, by booking well in advance.

The location is not amazing- the places that I wanted to eat, drink coffee, etc were a fairly hefty walk away. But I don't mind walking, so it wasn't a problem. But other than the location (which certainly wasn't terrible- just not particularly central) I have no complaints! Great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback about our staff and business facilities. As you suggest, it’s always a good idea to book in advance as it can often provide a saving. We also guarantee the best available rate when guests book directly with us. Should you stay with us again, please do ask about the complimentary shuttle service that runs regularly between the hotel and the waterfront. Just see the staff at the front office and they will be happy to make a booking.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed two days at The Langham in early February. It was an extremely pleasant stay, as always. If anything it keeps improving - especially the service which we found to be outstanding. The room was very large, the bed was very good and we particularly appreciated the evening turn-down service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BoobieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at the Langham in Auckland for 3 nights in Jan 2014 - everything was just lovely - the room was large, bed luxurious, bathroom and amenities beautiful, facilities fabulous (pool, gym, shuttle to main part of town), restaurants very nice, staff very pleasant and helpful, wifi worked well - not one complaint. Location is a little far from the harbour but the regular shuttle service solves that problem. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VkMb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very helpful concierge and cheerful staff. I highly recommend this hotel. The bed was super cozy and the room very nice. I look forward to staying here again! Probably my favorite hotel of all I've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing