We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and quality as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service and quality as always”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had a Park suite and few things were very slightly ragged hence only 4 for room, but otherwise fantastic stay as always. Chuan spa and food in the Club was excellent. Very busy weekend for Auckland so full hotel, however kept consistant Langham standard of quality

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulieinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,535
    1,111
    386
    103
    63
See reviews for
475
2,068
250
956
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

These are the things that stop me giving a 5-star rating. Something I rarely do anyway. Furnishings are quite dated, climbing into the shower/bathtub - dangerous, fabric covers are a wee bit grubby, newspapers as promised not delivered, lifts very slow, red wine bottle not replaced the next day as part of bar refurbish, noisy City Rd aspect, and inaccurate courtesy bus map which left 5 of us stranded in the city. Fix your map! But to be fair, what I would give a full-star rating is the fabulous Concierge staff and the Tiffin afternoon tea (though you have to pay for this).

Room Tip: Avoid City Rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The Langham Auckland blew my mind. As soon as you walk into the foyer, the smell of fresh roses invades your sense of smell. The rich wood panelling seduces the eyes and then you are warmly welcomed by the attentive staff.

We were staying in this glorious hotel for a work conference and we were truly spoilt. The meals that were served to us were impeccable. I can not fault this hotel.

The spa and it's staff and facilities are amazing, a true resort feel within a concrete jungle.

I will most definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel in the future....

I can only say, if the Auckland hotel is by any way a true reflection of the standards that the rest of the Langham chain offers.... I will endeavour to stay in each and everyone world wide!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your warm words and we are glad you enjoyed smelling the roses. This is one of our ‘signatures’ and Langhams all over the world have roses in the lobby to welcome our guests (as well as the signature ginger flower fragrance throughout the lobby). We are pleased that you were able to make use of our wonderful Chuan Spa - it’s always a firm favourite with our guests and has a great range of treatments available. We shall look forward to receiving you next time you return.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived at a busy time due to Bruce Springsteen concerts and the hotel was full and busy.
Our luggage was taken care of on arrival and check in was easy and efficient.
Our second floor room was a twin with the beds pushed together but as we were there for 3 nights it was not an issue apart from only one nightstand on my wife's side.
The room was clan and in good repair and the AC was quiet and efficient for the temperature at this time of year but we could open the windows so again no problems.
Plenty of very good quality towels and a big TV and so we were happy enough.
The breakfast buffet has a broad choice of both full or continental options as has the evening choices buffet restaurant covering all tastes and my Indian option was as good as I have had anywhere,my wife ate seafood which was freshly cooked to order and very good.
All the hotel staff we dealt with were very good and I would make special mention of Martin on the concierge desk who was very helpful.
I would reccomend this hotel for Auckland stays.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silverthorn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here last night, and had a very disappointing experience. My husband and I left the children at home to go to the Bruce Springsteen concert. We arrived at the hotel at 3pm to check in, and we're told our room was not going to be available until 5.30pm. Whilst the staff were very polite,about the situation and offered for us to go to the Club Lounge and wait, it was totally unacceptable. You go to a reputable hotel for many reasons. The main one is, that you have a ROOM! So we got changed to go to the concert in the bathrooms of the Spa, or swimming pool changing room, it felt like. We left the hotel for the event very disappointed. I would stay in many other hotels in Auckland as a result. We had a classic room, which is just standards and dated. We have recently returned from living overseas, we really were dumbfounded that this situation could happen in his hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and our sincere apologies for the delay you experienced. We understand how frustrating it is to be kept waiting for your room. This was unfortunately caused by the late check out of some groups in the hotel and while housekeeping made their best efforts to turn around the rooms, we were not able to have them all ready in time. We opened up our Club Lounge for those guests affected to make the wait more comfortable, but we realise it was not ideal. Our apologies once more that you were inconvenienced.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Langham for one night (Sunday) before a cruise. On arrival the lobby looked stunning with beautiful chandeliers and a lovely circular area, full up with those enjoying afternoon tea - consequently it was difficult to find anywhere to sit before they had finished. Porter service was fine, as was check-in. Our room was small, and the bathroom quite tiny - but the selection of accessories thoughtfully provided for guests was exceptional, all in their signature pale pink colour. The bed was super-comfortable, and there was complimentary water in the room, which was appreciated. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which were both very good, and we found all hotel staff were very pleasant. The hotel is not located very centrally - we did not use the shuttle bus, and we gave up walking to the waterfront when we became lost. The next day it was an easy walk to the Sky Deck and back. I'm not sure that the Langham is worthy of being a 5 star hotel, and you won't like it if you like your hotels modern and streamlined. It's actually a bit twee, but it's a nice play to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for 5 nights on business. Check in was very efficient and the staff were very helpful and courteous. Room was clean. The breakfast buffet had a good variety and there was a gluten free selection. You could even have ice cream and indulge in the chocolate fountain (yes, for breakfast). There's a complimentary shuttle down town and from there it is a short walk to the viaduct which has lots of bars and restaurants.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing