We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

This is a splendid hotel. What makes it so special is the attitude of the staff. From the moment you arrive at the door, to the moment you leave again, you are treated as a special guest. Everyone has a smile, and seems genuinely happy to work there. Once the spa is finished it really will be hard to beat. Currently the gym is in one of the meeting rooms, which while adequate, is clearly temporary. The plans for the spa look wonderful.
The breakfast is one of the best I have ever seen- and seems to draw the crowds in at weekends.
The rooms are comfortable and perfectly good enough. The furnishings in the other areas of the hotel are luxurious and tasteful.
For the amount I paid for a recent 6 day stay, I have nothing but praise for this hotel and was sorry to leave- even though it was a work trip!

  • Liked — Service with a smile
  • Disliked — Spa was not quite built yet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loftysurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,389
    1,051
    365
    96
    62
See reviews for
448
1,968
232
885
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

I rang the hotel to enquire about prices for a room and the fantastic experience started from there. The lady on the phone was very helpful, enquiring if i was coming to celebrate a special occasion. She also gave all the information about the different rooms and location of the hotel and parking so I had no problems finding the hotel. I chose to stay in the club rooms and i am very glad i did! We were treated to drinks and nibbles in the very posh lounge on the 10th floor which meant that we didn't have to go out of the hotel for dinner and there was even a delicious dessert selection as well! The rooms are really comfortable and plush - my partner loved the huge plasma TV in the room as well. We had a personal letter in the room from the manager explaining about the hotel and the special services which was nice - made us feel very special. All the staff we spoke to were lovely especially the staff in the lounge. I wish we were able to stay more than one night!

  • Liked — All the freebies - drinks, nibbles, dessert etc
  • Disliked — We only got to stay one night!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kazza020782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

Very nice hotel with great friendly staff, even the unrefurbished room was comfortable. Just a couple of minor points - the shuttle service would be more convenient if it also stopped midway up Albert Street. At the moment you can only get on or off right at the bottom on Custom Street. The other moan I have which goes for most hotels we stay at is exorbitant charges for internet access. We had our own laptop and to hook into their WIFI cost around $10.00 for an hour. Just down the road 2 minutes the internet cafe charged $1.00 an hour. It is a shame hotels gouge their guests for this service, it is not just the Langham, they all do it. It spoils the otherwise good guest service.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — Internet charges
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hirondelle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

I stayed at the Langham in May 2008 for 5 nights for a business trip from Australia. The staff were friendly and approachable. My room for the first 4 nights was on one of the 'executive' floors (level 8). The exec rooms are fairly plush and stylish and fairly flamboyant. You get a decent LCD TV and a good mix of basic cable channels with Sky Movies. There are internet cubicles on the exec floors where you can have free use of the wired desktop or you can plug your laptop into the other 4 network ports they provide (although you'll need your own network cable).

The hotel is fairly close to some basic restaurants but not too far from the main CBD (via a walk downhill, down Queen St).

I didn't have breakfast here so can't comment - it read like the std expensive breakfast fare. The a la carte room service breakfast is overpriced in my opinion (example - $15 for a bowl of porridge !)

Mini-bar items were however fairly reasonably priced (by large chain hotel stds) - example - 500ml water for $5NZD.

I ate at the restaurant downstairs once (not the tres expensive one) and the food was good but the service was perhaps a little slow.

I also ate in the room once (apparently sourced from the same restaurant kitchen) and the room service food was quickly brought up and was excellent. They have a selection of what they call 'home comforts' on the room service menu and I had the sausage and mash with mustard gravy and the bread and butter pudding. Both were superb to be honest (and it cost me half the price of the meal I had in the restaurant there). The meal arrived on a heated table trolley with a flower and a card underneath the butter dish to stop it melting - little things, but it's nice to see the staff obviously thinking about how to make the experience a very positive one for their guests.

I also stayed in a 'superior' room (read, std room) for one night and this was the same size as the room I stayed in on the exec level but less 'sumptuous' but more modern and a bit more laid back (a very pleasant room). You get a std CRT TV in these rooms and you don't get the coffee plunger with Vittoria coffee they supply in the exec rooms.

I'd be very happy to stay here again if I have to come to Auckland on business again. I'd also be happy to take my wife here as it has an elegant feel and I think it would make a great weekend stay.

Thank you Langham staff.

  • Liked — timelessly elegant feel, good quality in room dining
  • Disliked — little bit further south than the main part of the CBD
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

This is a lovely hotel, lovely decor, sumptuous, an a la carte restaurant in house, very large reception area which is well staffed, valet service etc. The food here is second to none and not overly expensive. Quite well situated out of town away from the hussle and bussle.

  • Liked — It is like walking into a 5 star hotel
  • Disliked — Dry cleaning and inhouse laundry was very, very expensive
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skg0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

our room and the public areas were very well appointed, and although the hotel was not exactly central the free transfers to the harbour were a big bonus.

  • Liked — the excellent all round quality of the hotel
  • Disliked — the situation
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

I booked an executive room for late Feb/early March - they are correct when they say their web prices are the best! In any case, I arrived REALLY early (at 6am) and the reception staff were absolutely wonderful in finding me a room to freshen up in before I was due to attend a conference. This was despite the fact that the hotel had been fully booked the night before - I think a guest had checked out earlier that morning and they had cleaned the room. I understand that they were under no obligation to provide me a room at all - and was so grateful that they went the extra mile!

In any case, the first room I was in was a standard - decent sized, lovely clean bathrooms. I was subsequently moved to a club room (upgraded from executive, thanks once again to the hotel) which was even better - flat screen TV, large bed, plush pillows, and even more amenities in the bathroom. This also came with access to the club lounge, which had complimentary drinks and canapes in the evenings.

Staff at reception and concierge were excellent - friendly, helpful and courteous.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Auckland - I will be staying there next time I go!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NoCampingforMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing