We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel stay”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

What a fabulous Hotel. Everything from the staff to the restaurants, service and amenities was all that I could have hoped for. The Hotel is situated in a great location in the CBD as well. I will definitely stay at The Langham each time I am in Auckland. In fact I am already booked in for my next trip next week!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,665 - 2,671 of 4,451 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Simply outstanding. We don't often stay at hotels of this quality, mostly because of the cost, but partly because we like the quirkiness and individuality of more modest establishments. However, we decided we needed a bit of luxury after a 24 hour plus journey from London, and also on our return to Auckland before the journey home. We certainly got that.
The thing that sets The Langham apart from other hotels is the enthusiasm and warmth that all the staff - porters, concierges, reception staff, restaurant staff, cleaners and drivers, and anyone else I have forgotten to mention - display towards their guests. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome.
The Langham can obviously attract the best staff in the business, and they carry out their work with such pride and enjoyment you cannot help but feel privileged to be a guest. We hope they are well-treated and well-paid by the management because they certainly deserve it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your warm words and we are delighted to hear that you were treated with such warmth and professionalism by our team. We encourage all our staff to go the extra mile, as we truly believe that outstanding service should be part of every guest’s experience. We also value our team very much and we’re proud to hear they have been fulfilling our vision of building great memories for our guests. We shall hope to see you again next time you are in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed on 2 and 3 March for the Bruce Springsteen concert. Fabulous - friendly and helpful staff. Quiet room. Rooms were very clean and the towels were huge. Everything was fantastic. Loved the chocolate and bottle of water when they came in to turn down the beds. The shuttle bus to town had a lovely driver who was so helpful; great service which runs into town every 15 minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed in 376. It was quiet - no view, but would rather have quiet. Besides a view is just look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0uthernSeni0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here pre-cruise and liked the hotel very much. A elegant, grand dame of a hotel with very friendly staff. Nice rooms of decent size, well appointed and updated bathrooms (gotta have a great shower head and granite counters!), excellent amenities, comfortable beds which were a godsend for jetlagged travelers, free wifi in rooms and public areas and excellent (and invisible) housekeeping. They even supply converters in the room so you could plug in your devices no matter what country you're from. It was located downtown, so it wasn't by all the restaurants and hustle and bustle of the wharf area: to me this was good news, as we weren't kept awake by street noise and when we did want to go to the wharf area, they had a free shuttle which regularly runs there.

We did not eat there as we liked getting breakfast and dinner near the wharf area and watching the ships come and go, so can't comment there but their restaurants looked interesting. Their concierge was fabulous and helped us get a reservation at a very small, hard-to-get-into Thai restaurant. All in all, great staff and a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time2travel_4_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at the Langham to attend a conference. The Hotel has a meet& greet gent and once whisked inside the service level is very high and nothing is too much effort. The room I had on the 4th Floor was spacious and well appointed. The breakfast was buffet style with a chef to produce something different. The bar is expensive and they do have a sister bar just around the corner , where you can still charge back to your room!
The Pool etc was loveley

Room Tip: 2nd floor as you dont need pass key for rooms/lift and next to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parry005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Langham is luxurious. After 13 hours in a plane, a bit of pampering is what everyone needs and this is the place. Our room (8th floor) was superb. Even the bathroom toiletries were luxurious. The staff in every department used our names, anticipated needs and delivered first class service. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We booked a value priced room at the Langham because we wanted a comfortable room but we didn't need a view. We were not disappointed. We were in room 144 on the main floor. The hotel is not new but has been very well maintained and house keeping do a great job. The bed was very comfortable and they provided feather pillows in the room . Auckland is a city of hills and the Langham is a bit away from city Center , it is about a 20 to 25 minute walk to the harbor, which is an easy walk; however, the walk back can be challenging because of the steep incline. After walking down to the harbour we realized we then had to walk back up that rather steep hill. We choose to take a city bus for 50 cents that dropped us off very close to the hotel. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, well managed hotel in Auckland, we recommend The Langham.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback and good to hear that you appreciated our very comfortable Blissful Beds. Next time you have the opportunity to stay, do enquire about our shuttle bus at Concierge. It is free of charge and makes a regular trip between the hotel and the waterfront area. It’s a great timesaver if you don’t feel like walking. We shall hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
496 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £94 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing