We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked a room at the Langham in Auckland following a cruise. We did request early check in and as I am a Langham member thought we have a room by lunchtime. Not so.
The girl on reception said there were other passengers also wanting early check in and we could wait in the lobby and she would let us know when the room was ready but no indication of an approximate time.
We did sit in the bar and had coffee and lingered around until around 11.30 when I checked again if the room might be ready. It was not so she said she would ring my mobile when the room was ready. So we left our luggage and caught the hotels free shuttle bus into the city. We walked to the waterfront where the ship was docked, then decided to take the ferry across to Devonport.
It was a short ride and gave lovely views back across the harbour to Auckland. Devonport itself was a quaint little town full of cafes. We had lunch here then caught the 3.30pm ferry back to Auckland and the shuttle back to the hotel. Arriving around 4.30pm we expected our room to be ready which it was (she said it was ready at 1pm) but they never rang us.
Very disappointed with the service at reception. We have stayed at this hotel before 2 or 3 times and even when it was the Sheraton hotel many years ago but find it a nice hotel although quite a long way from downtown (but they do provide a free shuttle bus) The restaurant is pleasant and the lobby bar is a nice place to sit and have morning or afternoon tea or a relaxing drink.
Overall The Auckland Langham doesn't meet the standards of other Langham's we have stayed at with Melbourne being our favourite. Hong Kong and Boston are also better standards than Auckland.

Room Tip: Located in a quiet area of the city so all rooms are pleasant however higher rooms have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,577
    1,124
    392
    108
    64
See reviews for
490
2,095
253
971
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay at Langham at start of tour of NZ. Very quick check in and luggage delivery. Food was of a good standard and variety and staff very helpful. The room was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The free hotel transport to and from the waterfront area was very good. We used the pool and spa area and this was very welcome and relaxing after a hot day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank macvonsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I spent one night at the Langham in a standard room. The hotel is very nice and the service is great. The room was ok (we did experience better room in other Langham) and the hotel is a bit far from downtown, but a shuttle is providing a very good service to get downtown. Overall, we were pleased with Langham.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I had read all the reviews before booking two separate stays at this wonderful hotel, book ending our week-long stay in NZ. The service was excellent and the staff were so helpful and seemed to be really focused on ensuring you got the most out of your stay. The service was genuine, not fake or formulaic, the staff seemed to enjoy what they were doing. A special note to Stephanie and Honey who were so lovely and helpful on our respective check-ins.

The rooms are traditional five star rooms, all the facilities are there and rooms are spotlessly clean. The turndown service with water and chocolate is a fantastic touch. The hotel has a free shuttle service into the city which is such a great idea - we used it on both nights - thanks tomStephen for his cheery and safe driving.

We had the breakfast buffet and I really enjoyed that they had cook-to-order waffles and crepes! The coffee was also really good, I had a cappuccino and it was one of the best I had in NZ.

The service at this hotel is what you find at the best hotels in Asia, it's great to see a NZ hotel getting the service to these levels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed staying with us and were made so welcome by our staff. We do encourage our team to go the extra mile, as we firmly believe that outstanding service makes a good experience even better. Thank you also for your kind comments about Stephanie and Honey, and we have passed those on to the team. We shall hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here on a romantic getaway with my partner! It was a dream! The staff were so friendly and the hotel was absolutely beautiful! I couldn't imagine a better place to stay...great location within easy walking distance of the town centre and wharf.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Langham Park Suite for two nights for a much needed break. The service from Reception, House keeping and Langham Club was excellent. The Suite was very well decorated and very roomy with a spacious bedroom excellent bed and well appointed bathroom. Location good especially if you have a car - a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. This was a repeat visit and we will stay at the Langham again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Park Suite – our suites really do offer the next level in luxury and we find they are great for travellers who enjoy a little more space. We shall look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I loved this hotel. The rooms are absolutely beautiful. And compared to the hotel I had stayed at in Melbourne a week earlier it offered amazing value. Everywhere the hotel decor is warm and welcoming as if you are on a movie set for a grand musical. I wished I did not have to leave my room but I did in order to go to the club lounge on the top floor where the most delicious snacks and light meals were on offer all day. The Christmas decorations in the lobby were memorable.

Room Tip: I had a club room and I would really recommend these rooms with access to the Club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing