We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Auckland”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Top Hotel this if you are wanting something more up market and a little bit extra. Really great bar to hang out, wind down and relax, couldn't get us out of there actually.

Also has a choice of in house restaurants, both very good, No need to go anywhere else really, just finish your day and its all there under the one roof.

Rooms are excellent, lovely old world charm, spacious, comfortable beds and no traffic noise. Service was all good.

Room Tip: Couldn't justify paying any extra than a deluxe room, it has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwingkingGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,650 - 2,656 of 4,454 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

nothing to complain about. wonderful hotel. clean rooms clean property. pool is nice. spa facility's great. staff is great. my wife stays here often when working. no complaints. would def stay again. every one is friendly

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed here for one night. The hotel is very nice, but very busy! My room was great! King sized bed- very comfortable, good-sized bathroom with a huge granite counter vanity and nice toiletries - good water pressure. I visited the pool (very modern) and workout facilities and those were small, but well equipped and the bowl of fresh apples was a nice touch! The staff was very friendly and had good suggestions for places to eat. The only negative, I never could get the TV to work, but I didn't try very hard to fix this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked a room at the Langham in Auckland following a cruise. We did request early check in and as I am a Langham member thought we have a room by lunchtime. Not so.
The girl on reception said there were other passengers also wanting early check in and we could wait in the lobby and she would let us know when the room was ready but no indication of an approximate time.
We did sit in the bar and had coffee and lingered around until around 11.30 when I checked again if the room might be ready. It was not so she said she would ring my mobile when the room was ready. So we left our luggage and caught the hotels free shuttle bus into the city. We walked to the waterfront where the ship was docked, then decided to take the ferry across to Devonport.
It was a short ride and gave lovely views back across the harbour to Auckland. Devonport itself was a quaint little town full of cafes. We had lunch here then caught the 3.30pm ferry back to Auckland and the shuttle back to the hotel. Arriving around 4.30pm we expected our room to be ready which it was (she said it was ready at 1pm) but they never rang us.
Very disappointed with the service at reception. We have stayed at this hotel before 2 or 3 times and even when it was the Sheraton hotel many years ago but find it a nice hotel although quite a long way from downtown (but they do provide a free shuttle bus) The restaurant is pleasant and the lobby bar is a nice place to sit and have morning or afternoon tea or a relaxing drink.
Overall The Auckland Langham doesn't meet the standards of other Langham's we have stayed at with Melbourne being our favourite. Hong Kong and Boston are also better standards than Auckland.

Room Tip: Located in a quiet area of the city so all rooms are pleasant however higher rooms have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay at Langham at start of tour of NZ. Very quick check in and luggage delivery. Food was of a good standard and variety and staff very helpful. The room was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The free hotel transport to and from the waterfront area was very good. We used the pool and spa area and this was very welcome and relaxing after a hot day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank macvonsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I spent one night at the Langham in a standard room. The hotel is very nice and the service is great. The room was ok (we did experience better room in other Langham) and the hotel is a bit far from downtown, but a shuttle is providing a very good service to get downtown. Overall, we were pleased with Langham.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fam2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I had read all the reviews before booking two separate stays at this wonderful hotel, book ending our week-long stay in NZ. The service was excellent and the staff were so helpful and seemed to be really focused on ensuring you got the most out of your stay. The service was genuine, not fake or formulaic, the staff seemed to enjoy what they were doing. A special note to Stephanie and Honey who were so lovely and helpful on our respective check-ins.

The rooms are traditional five star rooms, all the facilities are there and rooms are spotlessly clean. The turndown service with water and chocolate is a fantastic touch. The hotel has a free shuttle service into the city which is such a great idea - we used it on both nights - thanks tomStephen for his cheery and safe driving.

We had the breakfast buffet and I really enjoyed that they had cook-to-order waffles and crepes! The coffee was also really good, I had a cappuccino and it was one of the best I had in NZ.

The service at this hotel is what you find at the best hotels in Asia, it's great to see a NZ hotel getting the service to these levels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed staying with us and were made so welcome by our staff. We do encourage our team to go the extra mile, as we firmly believe that outstanding service makes a good experience even better. Thank you also for your kind comments about Stephanie and Honey, and we have passed those on to the team. We shall hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
497 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing