We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night post cruise, before flying back to the States. A fellow cruise passenger mentioned they were staying here before flying out, so we looked them up. I must say we were very pleased with our stay. The service here is really fantastic. It's only too bad that this type of service isn't the 'norm' at all hotels. Ahhh well, farewell to the days of 'Service' but we sure had it here. We happened to look on their website under 'Specials' and actually wound up booking a Club Room for only $50 more than the regular room rate. This afforded us the ability to eat in the club lounge - and believe me, we made use of the food there instead of going out for a full meal at a restaurant. That alone covered the $50 savings. Plus, the free alcohol/soda/water, was also a money saver for us. Having just come off a cruise ship, we didn't think the pastries could compare to the ship. We were wrong - they blew away the pastries from the ship. It would be awesome if the ship hired whoever is the pastry chef at the Langham! Very, very good!

Overall a very nice stay at the hotel. We only wished we were able to stay more than just one night. I would definitely return to this hotel and also recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you can book a club room, it may be worth the extra $$ for the food/beverages, etc. Do a price c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBCruznSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in your Club Room and especially, the delicious pastries created by our talented chefs! We shall pass on your feedback to them. Good to know you were able to take advantage of one of our great online specials. We have regular special offers on our website (under rooms), many of which include benefits exclusive to our website, so it’s always worth checking. We shall hope to welcome you again next time you are in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,499
    1,088
    382
    101
    63
See reviews for
472
2,047
244
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Outstanding customer service on arrival that made my husband and I feel welcome and special.
Special mention to. Holly who met us at the reception desk, she is a credit to the staff ( great smile). Very professional check in!!!!!
Lovely room with gorgeous extras for the spa that are contained in a beautiful leather box.
Quiet room with blackout curtains!!
Only downside I feel and I have mentioned this is their survey is eight restaurant for breakfast. Looks great because of its size but is fairly basic. Asked for coffee at the counter at the front which was incorrectly made ( asked for hot milk on the side but got water) couldn't be bothered sorting it out. Cutlery wasn't replaced when taken away, so had to request more. Few other things.
Have been fortunate to have has a few breakfasts around the world And don't think this is right up there. But obviously it is popular as you wait in line for a while to be seated.
Location didn't matter to us as. We had our car but for tourists may be out of the way but they do provide a free shuttle to town and back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed Club room again, room is well appointed, beds are simply the very best you will ever find in a hotel and I've tried HEAPS! Room is comfortable, nice amenities, fruit and bottled water left in the room as a welcome. A personalized letter from Club 1865 and the hotel which you get staying Club. The Club lounge is always a huge benefit, enjoyed afternoon tea and evening cocktails and canapes and breakfast the following day. The club was busy but the staff (Borman et al.) provide excellent and very attentive service. Nice canapes and nice wines to enjoy watching the sun set. What a lovely way to spend the evening.

I am really surprised by any negative reviews as we stay at the Langham often and have never been disappointed.

The hotel has 3 dining options and with a free shuttle downtown a huge number of restaurants available. A taxi back up to the Langham after the shuttle finished costs about $15. (If you hit every red light!!)

I highly recommend staying at Langham, still the best hotel we've found in Auckland.

My ONLY complaint is the lack of ventilation from the bathroom, it is like a sauna after a shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was really disappointed with this hotel. It doesn't live up to it's reputation at all and is in a terrible, dodgy location near K St. If you like to have good restaurants and shopping within walking distance, this is not a good choice.

The rooms are in desperate need of remodeling or at least a serious deep cleaning. I had to call housekeeping to re-clean my bathroom after checking in because the shower had hair and soap residue from the previous guest. The ceiling was covered in lint from the A/C vent and the curtain sheers were torn & dingy. The spa & pool are are attractive but also needed cleaning as there was hair all over the ground in the steam room.

Food tends to be pricier in NZ, but I expect a hotel to offer at least some variety of choices at different price points. The food here was outrageously expensive with no options for more affordable plates and since there are no good food options within waking distance (even the concierge struggled to suggest any healthy restaurant choices nearby) you're stuck with the hotel menu. The breakfast buffet isn't cheap but it was very good.

The lobby is nice but sadly that is where it ends. If they remodeled their rooms, cleaned more carefully and offered better food choices I might consider staying here again. However, because of the poor location, I definitely won't be returning to the Langham.

Room Tip: Judging by others' reviews there may be some remodeled rooms in which case I recommend only book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do apologise for the housekeeping issues you experienced. It is our endeavour to maintain the highest levels of cleanliness and service, and our Executive Housekeeper will be personally looking into your comments to ensure corrective action is initiated. In relation to Restaurants, aside of our ‘Eight’ restaurant that offers guests an opportunity to sample eight cuisines through interactive kitchens, we have recently launched Pam Court that offers a range of a la carte fare. We also offer a complimentary shuttle service to provide our guests with the freedom to explore the waterfront area, inner city and the restaurants there, which runs regularly throughout the day. Finally, we would also like to reassure you that we have an on-going refurbishment programme in place for the hotel. Renovations have just been completed on our Park Suites and Palm Court, and we will be working towards progressively updating our Classic Rooms. Thank you again for your feedback which is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barossa Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Langham is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff are enthusiastic, friendly, efficient and always available. The elegance of the entrance, lobby and bar area enhances the relaxed atmosphere. Here is a place to meet, greet and enjoy the company of fellow travelers, business associates or loved ones. Eight8 is a taste sensation. The rooms are old luxury with modern amenities. Sleep comes easy at the Langham. No noise problems, no bed problems...in fact no problems. I am sitting in the lounge drinking New Zealand Pinoit Gris and wishing it was not my last evening here. Loved every moment and will return without a worry in the world. Thank you all at The Langham.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyAngaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is truly a 5 star hotel. The decor is "old fashioned grandeur", just splendid. The staff are friendly, professional and provide first class "old fashioned" service. Our room was spacious and impeccably clean. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. You could actually open the windows to get some fresh air (something you can't do in a lot of hotels). We dined at the Palm Court restaurant in the hotel and had a superb meal. We will always stay here on future trips to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

MY partner and I treat ourselves to a week at the Langham once a year usually we try to catch a concert or show while in Auckland too. I love staying here. The customer service is excellent and staff are always helpful. We often order room service which is always delivered on time and piping hot. The menu changes often and it is always a goal of ours to try everything because it is so good. Bar staff are well educated in wine and other beverages.
We always use the pool ( which is always clean as is the sauna) Service is always with a smile. The free shuttle is great for a spot of retail therapy too.They drop off and pick up. I always feel pampered and rejuvinated after a week here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzstar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing