We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowral, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our first visit to New Zealand and now it is our most favorite place to holiday. We stayed here at the tale end of our honeymoon and what an experience. The staff are amazing the rooms are top of the score board, the attention to detail is outstanding and the buffet OMG seventh heaven. I can not recommend this place highly enough. We are now going back for our first anniversary just to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,600
    1,133
    395
    109
    66
See reviews for
494
2,109
257
984
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed three nights at the Langham - a delight in central Auckland. Our room was excellent and the hotel was a classic 5 star urban hote. Breakfast was excellent and all facilities were first rate. The Langham provided a shuttle to the bay area which was very helpful. Great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kseconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel. Good facilities, nice room, bar staff pleasant and top notch. Service great and that is where it stopped - I had a booking mistake.

I'd misbooked the hotel by one day from a flight arriving Saturday morning at 00:30am, booking a day out (Sat -> Monday instead of Fri->Sunday)

So I turn up and they say yes we have you checking in later today. The extra night will be $240 thank you. Can't move the booking even though you only want two days. You have to contact Hooroo. So the hotel wouldn't move the booking and wouldn't write me a letter to Qantas Hotels (aka Hooroo) to say I was checking out early by one day and I couldn't get of Hooroo to acknowledge I wanted to cancel while I was still staying there - it took them a WEEK to get back to me.

SO I checked out the day early (Having paid Hooroo for two nights and the hotel for one) and only stayed two nights, but Hooroo says Hotel says records show I checked out the day later (at 4:00am in the morning, as if!!). Won't accept my receipt for paying the bill as a valid time.

Upshot is as with some of these things it's all very well when it all goes perfectly, but want to change something or something is a mistake and they all point at each other.

So $750 for two nights probably not worth it, and the time I have spent afterwards has certainly left a sour taste in my mouth. Have had no response from the Langham Auckland reception email address either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I had my TV not wirking properly. We were looking forword for a nice evening in the room. Wanted to watch a movie on demand, but were not able to get it, after calling a room service to solve that, were really dissapointed cause they told as "sorry, not available today..", i know it was probably a technical problem, but they couldnt offer us anything instead. Was sad.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saule B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have stayed at the Langham three times now with this being our most recent stay. It truly is a world class Hotel. The service and facilities are impeccable.

Having previously stayed here in an adjoining room, the noise filtered through till about 3am one morning from guests in the adjoining room. When we discovered we were in an adjoining room again, we requested a transfer and they were only too happy to oblige.

The spa facilities are top notch here. Very luxurious and the pool area is fantastic on a sunny day.

Pool side food plus the Eight restaurant is fabulous too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellybaby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your warm feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the service and were able to relax at the pool (as you say, it's always great on a sunny day!). Good to hear the staff were proactive in helping you with your request. We always make it our aim to accommodate our guests whenever we can. We shall hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night post cruise, before flying back to the States. A fellow cruise passenger mentioned they were staying here before flying out, so we looked them up. I must say we were very pleased with our stay. The service here is really fantastic. It's only too bad that this type of service isn't the 'norm' at all hotels. Ahhh well, farewell to the days of 'Service' but we sure had it here. We happened to look on their website under 'Specials' and actually wound up booking a Club Room for only $50 more than the regular room rate. This afforded us the ability to eat in the club lounge - and believe me, we made use of the food there instead of going out for a full meal at a restaurant. That alone covered the $50 savings. Plus, the free alcohol/soda/water, was also a money saver for us. Having just come off a cruise ship, we didn't think the pastries could compare to the ship. We were wrong - they blew away the pastries from the ship. It would be awesome if the ship hired whoever is the pastry chef at the Langham! Very, very good!

Overall a very nice stay at the hotel. We only wished we were able to stay more than just one night. I would definitely return to this hotel and also recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you can book a club room, it may be worth the extra $$ for the food/beverages, etc. Do a price c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBCruznSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in your Club Room and especially, the delicious pastries created by our talented chefs! We shall pass on your feedback to them. Good to know you were able to take advantage of one of our great online specials. We have regular special offers on our website (under rooms), many of which include benefits exclusive to our website, so it’s always worth checking. We shall hope to welcome you again next time you are in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Outstanding customer service on arrival that made my husband and I feel welcome and special.
Special mention to. Holly who met us at the reception desk, she is a credit to the staff ( great smile). Very professional check in!!!!!
Lovely room with gorgeous extras for the spa that are contained in a beautiful leather box.
Quiet room with blackout curtains!!
Only downside I feel and I have mentioned this is their survey is eight restaurant for breakfast. Looks great because of its size but is fairly basic. Asked for coffee at the counter at the front which was incorrectly made ( asked for hot milk on the side but got water) couldn't be bothered sorting it out. Cutlery wasn't replaced when taken away, so had to request more. Few other things.
Have been fortunate to have has a few breakfasts around the world And don't think this is right up there. But obviously it is popular as you wait in line for a while to be seated.
Location didn't matter to us as. We had our car but for tourists may be out of the way but they do provide a free shuttle to town and back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing