We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here in November 2013.
We received a warm welcome from the receptionist , who took the time to provide us with local information and also recommended other areas on the North Island we should visit. He really went out of his way to ensure our time in not only Auckland but New Zealand would be an enjoyable one.
Each member of staff we encountered provided a high standard of service. Housekeeping should receive a special mention as the room was spotless and extremely comfortable.
Will remember our time at The Langham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundtheworld3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,627 - 2,633 of 4,458 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our experience of the Langham after an initial hiccup. Our room was not ready on arrival, and after 4 flights and 30 hours we were exhausted and just wanted our room and some sleep. eventually we were given our room only to find someone else's luggage in it. Duty manager sorted this with an upgraded room which was excellant. The hotel is both elegant and sophisticated. The buffet was excellant (if somewhat expensive) overall the Langham is superb.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARBARAHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at The Langham for two week-days in March. On arrival we received a very warm welcome at reception and were upgraded to an Executive Room. From the outset this set the high standard of service we were to enjoy for our entire stay - the receptionists and concierge deserve a special mention for their friendliness, efficiency and enthusiasm. For the sake of convenience we opted for valet parking although there are a couple of car parks in the area close to the hotel if you prefer.

The room was a good size with a large and very comfortable bed (always the litmus test with a 6ft 5in husband). The complimentary toiletries from the Chuan Spa were lovely and we felt very pampered. I have to agree with other reviewers who have said that the rooms are a little dated - the words 'faded grandeur' spring to mind - but this doesn't detract from the comfort level or the cleanliness. The breakfast buffet catered for all tastes and really set us up for the day - there was even a chocolate fountain!

As for the location, it is in a fairly quiet part of the city (opposite the cemetery in fact) and therefore you don't get the noise you would perhaps have to endure nearer the Harbour. It is well-placed for the University so great for visiting children who are studying there. We walked downhill to the harbour on both days which, as it was sunny, was very pleasant. We couldn't face the return journey back up a steep hill at night though and took a taxi from the Harbour back to The Langham (for $45) on the first night and the free shuttle bus from 6 Customs Street on the second. The free shuttle bus travels to and from the hotel throughout the day (starts at 0800/finishes at 2130 from the hotel - returns at 0815/finishes at 2145 from Customs Street at half hourly intervals), however I would advise to book it in advance as there are only about 8 seats available. The friendly driver of the shuttle bus gave us some great tips for the rest of our holiday - thank you very much.

As we were only in Auckland for two days we found that, in hindsight, it would probably have been better to stay in another hotel closer to the harbour, around which most of the action is centred, although The Langham is perfect for a longer stay or for business purposes. If, on a future occasion, we were to stay in Auckland for a week or more we would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmaiden65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Attended a business meeting. The staff and hotel amenities were fantastic. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up in the morning. The meals including breakfast were really tasty and top standard. Would love to stay there again and thoroughly recommend it to those wanting an upmarket hotel and services.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked this as had stayed @ Hilton Auckland last time visited NZ. Room was good size if not a little dated. Club lounge was pleasant enough with good wine selection and evening canapes. Breakfast was of a good standard. In terms of location, it's a 15 minute walk (downhill) to the CBD and Harbour, and I walked back most of the time, although did manage to catch a shuttle back on one occasion. I feel the location of the Hilton was better, but you get more for your $ at the Langham.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having booked elsewhere and had the worse possible service I called the Langham and spoke to the lovest Euginia and Isobel who saved the day. We promptly checked out of Skycity and checked into the Langham who provided us with exceptional service and even upgraded us. Our whole stay was stress free and all the staff polite,professional and wonderful. We would like to thank Isobel, Isabelle and eugina for their professionalism,outstanding service and kindness throughout our stay. It made a huge difference to our holiday . you are all a credit to the Latham.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank grace_villani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your warm words and we are delighted to hear that our reservations team were able to provide you with such caring and professional service. We have passed on your feedback to the team, and we are proud to see our staff living out our mission to build great memories for our guests. We hope to welcome you again one day soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The bus from the airport stops right outside this hotel, which is handy. Inside it's decorated to a high standard, with a quality, but pricey bar, and everything you'd expect in the rooms. Didn't try the restaurant, however, you're only a short walk from a wide choice of places to eat and the city centre.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JONATHAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,937 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
500 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £89 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing