We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Langham, Auckland for one night and had the best time, great service and the bed was awesome so comfortable! We wandered down to the Viaduct, in the fabulous Auckland sunshine! It was a weekend to rememer and we will certainly go back for a weekend stay again soon - great value for money!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz_mcilvenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,502
    1,090
    382
    101
    63
See reviews for
472
2,049
244
926
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Not coming back here again i stayed for a couple of times 1st experience was okay reception looked very busy and not organised finally after having to wait 20mins I finally got checked in . Returned because we had a conference at the langham and other hotels were fully booked already within the area , hoping this wouldn't happen again shocking it took almost a hour !! Very very poor service . Room was immaculate nice and clean waiting for breakfast was even worse , received the wrong coffee after having to wait 45mins . Definitely not returning !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautee_ozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and our sincere apologies for the delays you experienced at check-in. The hotel can be very busy at times but it is still our aim to provide timely and efficient service for all our guests, and we do apologise that we did not live up to our usual high standards of service. We have referred your feedback to our front office and restaurant team members.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Normally when I see the Langham hotel brand I am excited as it represents a boutique five star standard unfortunately I did not have this experience when travelling for a conference.
The check-in was extremely unorganised and took over an hour, once in our room it was a small uninspiring standard hotel room, it was immaculate and the beds were extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was very good the main complaint is that it took between 30-40 mins to get a coffee and often the orders were mixed up.
The location is up from the waterfront so it felt we were not in the right location.

Room Tip: If you choose a twin room expect to sleep next to your travelling companion with about 30cms between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchatter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The LANGHAM certainly knows how to treat people. The old saying about going the extra mile does not apply as all the staff seem to have been trained to go an EXTRA 10 MILES AND MORE. We have over the years tried nearly all of the so called "FIVE STARS " in Auckland and I would never ever return to some of them ITS A NO BRAINER The LANGHAM WINS HANDS DOWN IN EVERY RESPECT. We've just come back home & we're off back up again on the 2nd of May. THATS HOW GOOD IT IS !!!!! THANKS LANGHAM FOR EVERYTHING. RUSSELL & MORAIG BRIERLEY, TAUPO.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you Russell and Moraig for your warm words. It’s always a pleasure to welcome back our regular guests and we are delighted that we are able to make your visits to Auckland so special. We shall look forward to welcoming you again in May.
All the best
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Location is decent, so is the lobby, but the rooms and bathroom have an old dated field.
Breakfast had a good selection and staff were pleasant.
Not a bad choice in the CBD, but needs some upgrades to the decor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The only downside to this hotel was the location, which was a bit away from the waterfront and up some hills. This was compensated in part by a shuttle, but not ideal.

The hotel itself was fine though, good size rooms and excellent staff. Pool and spa were very good (if surprisingly far from the lifts).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'm here at The Langham for a second time in the same week, so it clearly did something right. Helpful and friendly staff, good service and good facilities. Rooms are nice too, a little dated for the price of the hotel but comfortable, clean and with good beds for a good nights sleep. What stops this hotel getting five starts for a 'brilliant' review is my dining experiences here. A meal was arranged throughout my first stay last week by the concierge, but he booked us straight into the fine dining restaurant without mentioning the other dining option (Eight) and the sort of food on offer there. Whilst the fine dining experience was nice, it was also incredibly expensive, the a la carte portions were unusually tiny (I've dined in many a similar restaurant) and the food took up to an hour to arrive, two hours for the entire meal to be served. Pretty yes, pretty sparse? Definitely. Almost $30 for a bite sized neck of lamb and an unnecessarily artistic smear of mashed potato. My parents had flown all the way from the UK, I was surprising them with dinner at The Langham, it was supposed to be such a special evening but was ruined by a very disappointing overly priced dinner. This is a chef trying too hard for a Michelin Star, producing pretty food that would need to go a lot further to satisfy any appetite. The bill with drinks was almost $300NZ, but we left the hotel SO disappointed, my surprise sort of ruined and went for some more food elsewhere. On the first morning of my second visit today, breakfast was equally disappointing in Eight; it was over-facing, greasy, the dregs of the buffet with a hefty $40 price tag. The Langham is letting itself down with food nowhere near the quality required to justify all other aspects of the hotel and the inflated prices. With a blown surprise and a few dollars lighter having spent plenty and tipped the concierge, tonight I will be eating out. Such a shame, this hotel has so many things right, but 'fine' dining here blew a big event and disappointed me at breakfast, surely there are no two greater things to get right than that.

Room Tip: As not to be road facing if possible, secondary glazing is pretty good but there are quieter rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTraveller1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and service and for your feedback about our restaurants. We do apologise that you were not made aware of the option to dine at Eight as an alternative to our finer dining at Palm Court. We shall continue to encourage our staff to make guests aware of all their dining options, to assist them in making their decision.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing