We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite Get-Away Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Thought it was about time we wrote another review of our favourite Hotel, as its been a couple of years since doing so. We just love staying at The Langham Auckland and do so 4-5 times a year. From the time we pull up till we pull out it is fantastic. The Concierge staff are wonderful and come to your aid straight away helping with your luggage and parking your car. The front desk staff are also wonderful and go out of their way to help you and get to know you. The rooms are so clean and fresh with wonderful furnishing. The bed is soooooooooo comfortable you don't want to get up and the windows are double glazed so you don't hear any street noise. The Eight Restaurant is to die for. A must to visit. The food there is out of this world. If you get the chance book a Club Room, do so, as you get to go to the Club Room Lounge. You can have breakfast there as well as a lovely afternoon tea and at night Pre-dinner drinks and canapés. Also go to the pool and spa. Lovely to relax in after a long day of walking around. They have a Courtesy Shuttle for those who don't want to walk into town. All the staff are very helpful and friendly, so you can see why we love this Hotel so much. All in all a great place to stay. Being 1865 members is a bonus. Ask about it next time you stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBRSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,347)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,496 - 2,502 of 4,347 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I just love staying at the Langham. It is worth every cent and they often have fabulous packages and deals you can buy. It is a fantastic option to go for the Langham Club offer as this access to the lounge is so nice. Great to have a drink in the lounge before heading out. The Langham is basically situated a the top end of the city so its a quick trip down hill to the central cinemas, sky casino, restaurants, waterfront, and shops. A bit of a climb back up the hill so if you don't like hills take a taxi or pop some flat shoes in your handbag. Dining in the hotel is amazing you will not be disappointed. Make sure you take togs/swimwear for a fantastic swim and sauna, steam room experience in the day spa. This hotel is well worth staying here for a special treat or occasion.

Room Tip: Go for executive club
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamiltonButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Langham is the best hotel in Auckland by far.
Their high tea is a must to try if you are into fine food and good service. The Chuan Spa offers a variety of massages and facials and their herbal steam room is really nice too.
Make sure you try their Eight restaurant which is a buffer style restaurant with 8 different culinary choices to choose from - make sure you go hungry!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purebliss_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I received a Chuan Spa voucher for a wedding gift so we decided to book a room, along with a our spa visit, and make a weekend of it. The hotel staff were very welcoming and professional from the moment we arrived. The rooms were very nice, fairly decent sized but a bit dated for our taste. The décor is very "classic" and not as modern as some of the other Auckland hotels that we've been to. The pool and spa area were very nice and we definitely loved our spa experience. Another highlight was the amazing breakfast buffet, definitely the best we've ever been to! The hotel location is fantastic. Easy waling distance to most central attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JShoeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our first hotel on landing in New Zealand after a very long journey (27 hrs) and although we only stayed for 1 night before moving down to Queenstown, I wanted to ensure we had somewhere comfortable and that it was. I'll keep it brief as I have 10 hotels to review:
The service was friendly and helpful on arrival, they upgraded us to a nicer room and they have everything you need there to relax - the bathroom was very nice with lots of sundries that you may have forgotten. We needed to stay awake as long as possible, so just went out around town for the day, which is not far: 10-15 mins away if you want to walk to the central area (shops, Sky tower, harbour etc), but they also provide a shuttle if you prefer.
We struggled to find somewhere nearby to eat, but that had more to do with it being Sunday evening and us not wanting anything more than an early snack - there are a few restaurants within 5 mins walk that we would otherwise have used.
Due to tiredness we didn't get to use any fitness facilities, which is a shame, but we did have breakfast there the next morning and the selection was vast and not too overpriced (it's the kind of hotel that you know you are paying a premium for such things, but I never mind on the first day).
I also contacted them after our stay as I'd lost something and they came back to me within 12 hrs which is as much as I could expect (although they didn't have my lost item).
All in all, I would recommend this hotel, the price is good and definitely on par with what other hotels offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRD_Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here with some friends after a concert and it was great. Awesome pool and staff, rooms were clean and drinks were affordable. Met some high class people too which was good. Smoking area is a good addition along with the minibar and everything in there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Altomatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed at the Langham in Auckland for a weekend and found it to be awesome, great service and luxurious , would love to stay there again, the best place I have stayed in new Zealand ever. Totally recommend it for anyone. Central and the best .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloribella2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £101 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing