We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight in Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overnight in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a lovely luxury hotel and I enjoyed every moment I spent there. I had come from a few days on Waiheke Is with family and had just one night before I flew out to Australia the next day. The room was just what one expects from a 5 star hotel. Excellent linen, superb bathroom products, quiet and comfortable. I spent 2 afternoons at the rooftop pool, the second afternoon after I had checked out, but wasn't leaving for the airport until later. I was able to use their health club to shower and change before departing. A casual dinner in their coffee shop/bar was great. Excellent service. Only improvement I'd make, is to have more umbrellas around the pool. It was quite busy and everybody was vying for shade.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCMcM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,386
    1,049
    364
    96
    62
See reviews for
447
1,966
232
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We purchased a special that was emailed to us which gave us an choice of rooms with Club Lounge Privileges. We stayed in an executive room which was spacious. The Langham has all the lovely touches, fabulous comfortable beds and pillows. Turn down service. You do feel special when you stay at there hotels. Club Lounge was a little crazy around 5.30-6.30 but then they filter out :-) The staff in the Club Lounge were mostly calm when it got chaotic. We love the Langham and it would be our Hotel of choice budget allowing. One tiny gripe....I had to chase up Housekeeping for plunger coffee, sugar & milk. Spa facilities are great also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Wonderful 3 night stay at the Langham in Auckland. Friendly, polite and professional staff with great customer service skills. Loved the healthy choices for in room dining. Great location for catching up with friends and family in the city and nearby Ponsonby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MokoDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were very much looking forward to staying in another Langham hotel. Our pick up from the airport was great and when we arrived at the hotel we were whisked away to our 2 park suites to be checked in very quickly. The suites are furnished ok but are very dark with minimal lighting. The bathroom is terrible - tiny and full of scratches and dents. The shower is over the bath and is absolutely tiny! Worst of all, the shower has a shower curtain and there is significant mould between the bath and the tiles above it – doesn’t exactly scream 5 star suite.

The Club room provides a good food and beverage service (although the hot food was frequently cold). There are some wonderful club staff although over the Easter weekend it became rather busy and the (minimal) staff seemed flustered and unable to keep up.

The free shuttle service the hotel provides is good but get in quick as it fills up fast. The driver over the Easter weekend (Geoff) was absolutely wonderful, he went above and beyond to help us get where we wanted to go.

We were horrified to come back to our room one day to find all the windows left wide open by housekeeping. This was a problem as our windows opened out onto the flat roof of one of the function rooms on the ground floor and could have been accessed by someone. We complained to both housekeeping and club management and we got a few apologies but no real explanation as to why housekeeping did that other that someone else serviced our room that day. We were told that the hotel has security and it wasn't a problem but frankly there were a number of cigarette butts on the roof which tells me people do access the roof and our concerns are justified (or people are flicking butts out their windows in a non-smoking hotel!). Housekeeping was also extremely flaky. The rooms were always cleaned well but things were only replaced sometimes. We had to call housekeeping up most days to ask for things to be replaced and as for the mouthwash that comes with the suites, most housekeeping staff didn’t even know it existed.

We were also left highly unimpressed on the last day of our stay when we left our rooms to check out. The stench of cigarette smoke in the hallway on level 3 was absolutely disgusting. When we checked out, we told the staff member at reception of our concerns and she couldn’t have cared less. Obviously smoking is acceptable at this non-smoking hotel.
The service at this hotel is patchy at best and far from 5 star. This hotel does not represent the wonderful Langham brand we have experienced at other hotels. It is unlikely we will ever return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7K_C_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Our apologies that you were disappointed in your stay, but we are pleased to hear that Geoff was able to such deliver outstanding service to you. We have passed on your feedback to housekeeping and we can assure you our Executive Housekeeper takes an active role in monitoring all feedback. Your concerns on checkout should also have been addressed by our staff member, and we apologise for this. We are indeed a non-smoking hotel and we make every effort to uphold this policy to the best of our ability.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel was nice, and has very traditional, dark decor. Great breakfast, great in room amenities.

Location is on outskirts of Auckland CBD, and it takes approx 15 mins to walk into the centre of town. The hotel is close to the K Road, so lots of restaurant options near by.

If you prefer a contemporary hotel then the Langham isn't for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napier
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We booked into a club room. We arrived about 3:30 and although advised we would be there at 2pm room was not ready. We were given access to the club room area but it was obvious that many rooms were not ready as there were a lot of people waiting there. The person running the club room was obviously flustered with the extra people. We did not get to our room until 5 pm which was a bit annoying. We then showered and went back to the club rooms for happy hour to find it so full there were no tables or seats. On asking we were told it was full but we could go down to the main bar in the foyer and get similar. We grabbed a couple of free nibbles and went back to our room without getting the benefits of paying extra for the privilege of the club rooms.
After going out we tried to watch a pay per view movie which stopped 3/4 of the way thru. We rang and they tried to fix it but the last call was after midnight so we gave up and went to sleep. The rest of our stay was better, we are at the restaurant which was great, the rooms were nice although showing a couple of signs of needing a refit.
A very nice place but a little disappointing this time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reuben1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent 2 nights here with family over Easter - wish we hadn't! Check was a painful process - the staff member (without a badge!) looked miserable and barely cracked a smile. We were upgraded to an executive room - which was dark and musty! The bathroom door took a good slam to close and the room itself was out dated. The only saving grace was a lovely young guy in Valet - he went out of his way to help my brother work out how he could watch his favourite football team's match and even offered to have it streamed in the sports bar. Spent a short time in the spa and pool which was relaxing however when we walked through to the spa, the staff of the day spa didn't even bother to look up or smile. Overall, the hotel needs updating and the customer service could take some serious lessons from the lovely guy in Valet. Disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nata8ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, and our apologies that the room and service you received were disappointing. It’s our aim to ensure that every guest receives warm and professional service, and we have passed on your feedback to our team to assist in this goal. We are pleased to hear that our Valet member was able to deliver exceptional service to you. We would also like to reassure you that we have an ongoing renovation programme in place and are working towards refurbishing our Classic and Executive Rooms.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing