We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My first time here but I have stayed in many of the other top-end hotels in Ausckland.
I have to say I was impressed.
very friendly and accommodating staff and the Manager was very good at helping us with a minor issue with access to the cocktail bar in the late evening.
I have to say that I have travelled a lot and the Buffet lunch is up there with the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. There are 7 area's which each highlight a cuisine from a different country. Simply stunning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,535
    1,111
    386
    103
    63
See reviews for
475
2,068
250
956
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel enjoys a wonderful reputation, and deservedly so. It was my great pleasure to have 2 separate 1 x night stays in May, and on both occasions I was thoroughly impressed by the professional service levels in all departments.

Staff manage to actually engage with guests rather than simply read from the script or offer the all-too-common manufactured smiles and irritatingly patronising pat responses.

Nevertheless, in the five star category it takes real effort to stand out from the crowd with so much competition, and so many departments effecting the final customer experience, and ultimately the devil is in the details.

Details like:
1.The "welcome back" greeting on just my second ever visit and excellent front office service to speed thru' check in

2.The F&B quality for in-room dining (often a neglected area of service where choice is limited and so is quality). The Langham was right up there with presentation and quality. This was particularly appreciated when I arrived feeling very unwell on first visit, and had a chicken broth and sandwich which was just what the doctor ordered. Suddenly all was right with the world.

3.The eclectic but intriguing mix of dishes offered at the dinner buffet service in the restaurant. I enjoyed probably the best sashimi outside Tokyo, and was able to graze a number of small but perfect plates from each station. And service levels were maintained in both the a la Carte and buffet guest tables with seamless efficiency.

4.Breakfast again provided a lovely selection, and the small but special touch showing through once more with the fresh marshmallow on the saucer with the hot chocolate. Yummy!

5.An unsolicited room upgrade on my second stay which was a delightful surprise and very much appreciated.

6.Room service trays for light meals are bed trays...so good for a real breakfast in bed!

This Langham offers old hospitality for those of us how appreciate the difference between flash and quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your warm words and we are delighted that our staff made you so welcome and that you experienced such genuine hospitality. Good to hear that enjoyed the Inroom Dining experience. We have a focus on providing fresh quality options, so that our guests can enjoy a delicious meal at any time of the day. We shall hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Love the Langham! Everything from the service, the room, food and the spa was 5 star worthy! Location is great and the shuttle running every half hour down town was a bonus. Definately our first choice of stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Normally, I have a cardinal sin when it comes to a Hotel, missing a wake-up call. I arrived super late, filled out the preference card, had a 08:00 wake up call, as I was being picked up at 09:00. I awake to see that it's 08:40. So, instead of a breakfast and coffee, I had a mad dash to get ready. Not a great start, however, upon directing it to their attention, they made amends, sincere apologies and a free breakfast soothed my ruffled feathers. The bed, is super comfy, while I'm not a huge fan of duvets, even that couldn't distract from the bed. The bar staff is excellent, Laphroaig is on stock, a nice way to end an evening, and the buffet, well I did a separate review of it, as buffet doesn't seem like the right word for such a feast. Overall, staff was great, room was spotless, and it was a great stay.

Room Tip: They had Justin Beiber stay there, the throngs of screaming teens must have been a nightmare. May wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikuku Beach, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great place to stay right in the centre of town. The rooms were really spacious and super comfy bed. Loved the spa and swimming pool. The courtesy shuttle was a great, running every hour to down town. We had a deal through Air New Zealand, we paid for 2 nights and got one free which was great value for such a 'flash' place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Six nights in early May in the University graduation season means the hotel is busy and almost always full. But wonderful staff do their best to accommodate every need. As a large family group our needs were always complicated but this never fazed the staff who could always find a solution for that extra room or a table in an already full restaurant. And always with a smile. Beginning with the doorman and ending with the housemaid and everyone in between, all staff are gracious and helpful at every step.
The rooms are not exceptional, a little dated perhaps, but they are scrupulously clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate for the task. Everything is just right with very comfortable beds and pillows and a full range of amenities in the bathrooms. A nice touch is the mist-free zone in the bathroom mirror, how do they do that ? Wi-fi too, free throughout the hotel, is fast and with a good signal everywhere.
The "8" restaurant is excellent and doesn't appear crowded even when full. Kudos to the restaurant staff who know their guests, addressing me by name after my first visit. Food, especially on the buffet, is good and wholesome although I would hesitate to call it exceptional. My only complaint with catering at The Langham is the amazing cost of $20 for a simple Dry Martini in the Palm Court lounge.
Location is great for the centre of the city although City Road behind the hotel is a challenge for anyone keen on walking to and from the hotel. A free shuttle service is available to/from downtown for the less adventurous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you and your family received such gracious service. We enjoy welcoming families and groups, and it’s always our aim to deliver the same high standard of service. Good to know you appreciated the free wifi – we introduced it a few months ago in response to our guest feedback. We shall hope to see you again next time you visit Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After a sudden death in the family we found ourselves in Auckland with no booked accommodation on a Thursday evening. We jumped on trip advisor and booked and paid for a room at the Langham from the airport using one of the sites that pop up. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that the booking was not in the system and that the booking agent we used off the site ohotel) was fraudulent. We were also told the hotel was fully booked with a conference and there were no rooms available.
As it was 7pm and we were both tired and not pleased with this news, we were delighted when the manager not only gave us a room (we later were told that he was hoping for a no show) and honored our pre-paid booking. We were incredibly grateful and settled quickly into our room. From there the typical Langham service just continued. Despite being fully booked and hosting a conference of more than 1100 delegates, the hotel staff were attentive and professional for the two nights we were there.
The hotel may not be down on the waterfront like the Sofitel and Hilton but the traditional service, excellent food, comfortable bedding, and ambience make it great value for money. We walked each day down to the centre of the city and to some fabulous small coffee shops close to the hotel. The university is also close by and the grounds are gorgeous to walk through.
We will most definitely stay here again next time we are in Auckland. Thanks to all of the staff that made a potentially negative experience a positive one!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing