We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXQUISITE WONDERLAND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“EXQUISITE WONDERLAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Fantastic welcome from Honey reception staff even though they were busy.Efficient valet parking.Rooms upgraded.A fantastic feeling of relaxation sets upon you from the moment you step in the Langham until the moment you leave.
The Chuan Spa is amazing.Loved the pool jacuzzi ,sauna and steam room.
All the staff were friendly and helpful in particular house keeping and reception.
Loved EIGHT RESTAURANT tried Dinner and Breakfast both were great.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 333david888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your warm words and we are pleased that you were given such helpful service from our housekeeping and reception teams. We enjoy providing a relaxing environment for our guests, as we feel it’s important that The Langham is your home away from home. Good to hear that you enjoyed dining at Eight. We have a very talented team of chefs who enjoy creating a special dining experience for guests.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,389
    1,051
    365
    96
    62
See reviews for
448
1,968
232
885
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Langham in Auckland is a top place to stay. Situated close enough to all that happens in the city of sails. Close to the motorway yet still very quiet. It is at the top end of your cost bracket but you pay for service. The best part about staying here is the staff. They are all friendly and go the extra mile to ensure your comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 days and everyday was a pure delight. From the luxury of the suite to the personalised service of being driven to and from the airport by chauffeur The Langham is class all the way. The restaurant is exquisite and the food second to none.
I will always stay at The Langham when in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamlife7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Langham is amazing and would recommend to everyone. Every little thing about it is wonderful, it was a special occasion for my partners birthday, and they upgraded us to a gorgeous room and it was such a surprise, they really go out of there way for you, and make you feel welcome! There breakfast and dinner buffet it incredible! Its just all round a fantastic place and we cant wait to go back again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A beautiful hotel with a marvelous breakfast buffet. However, my stay was thoroughly spoiled by having hardly any or bad sleep. The mattress was way too soft and I woke in the early hours after the first night with horrible backache and a stiff arm and shoulder. Housekeeping could not provide me with another mattress ( which I feel a hotel like The Langham should be able to ) and I ended up with a plywood board being put under the mattress. Which was better but too hard obviously and I ended up sleeping 10cm higher than my husband, which would have been disastrous had we been on our honeymoon! Had the stay not been paid for by the company we would have moved immediately. I have stayed in 8 hotels in 4 different countries during the last two years as well as two hotel ( in Sydney and Kuala Lumpur) since my stay at The Langham ,as I travel frequently and have always slept soundly. The staff from housekeeping was very friendly and was trying their best to help however !! So unless one likes a soft mattress I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0ni5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

From the moment I entered the grand lobby right up until the valet closed my car door staff were attentive, professional, extremely well presented and helpful. Top class service and an all round beautiful hotel experience! I would say the best in Auckland! The gym was well appointed and the day spa looked just lovely! I will be trying that next time we stay.

Breakfast was AMAZING, so much selection and a seamless experience from start to finish. In fact all of the food was incredible. It was a nice touch having a turn down service in the evening. The Langham does think of everything from a book of the famous "Alice in wonderland" to the much more than adequate bathroom amenities.

Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarah0295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted to hear that our staff were able to provide you with such outstanding service during your stay. We take pride in taking care of every little detail so that our guests can sit back and relax! Please do ask about our gym the next time you stay with us. It’s open 24/7 for guests and we’ve just introduced the latest Techno Gym equipment including new Vario Cross-trainers – great for keeping up your fitness.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have been in this hotel for two nights in a business trip. The location is walking distance from downtown and very close to the business center of the the city. The check in was very fast and very nice. the room was extremely clean and the bathroom quite large. Wifi connectionn was very fast and provided FOC. The restaurant provides an excellent breakfast with a large menu. I dind't have the time to try the gym and the spa. In general an very nice hotel, with cordial staff and regular prices for high quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobyRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing