We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned decor and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed a weekend at the Langham to attend a conference. The hotel is very much decorated in an ornate European style - no sleek modern sophistication here. The buffet breakfast is incredible, with everything you can imagine on offer. The service from all staff was very attentive without being obtrusive.
The lobby restaurant offers high tea, and although I did not partake, the tea and scones I did have were divine.
Our only complaint would be that our room had a distinct damp or musty odour. We didn't complain, but did leave the window open which assisted greatly. I suspect it is a plumbing issue, and the bathroom could do with a revamp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,353)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,419 - 2,425 of 4,353 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is truly lovely. However the highlight for us was the restaurant. It is a buffet but you can pick out your items and they prepare it immediately for you. For instance, if you want a steak, or fish, you choose from the uncooked display and they will cook it to your satisfaction. They offered many unusual items as well. We loved it! The public areas on the main floor were very busy, perhaps too much so. They were often filled with people waiting to depart to the airport after checking out---so a bit noisy etc. We were concerned about the location at first but they have a free shuttle service that takes you to the main shopping area and from there it is quite walkable to the pier or other close spots. We enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I booked to stay at the Langham through the Wotif website for a special weekend away with my daughter . Having stayed at the Langham on a previous occasion I was really looking forward to sharing the luxurious surroundings with her.
On arrival we were greeted with very professional 5 star service. Our bags which we had left at the hotel earlier in the day had been transferred to our room to await us. Unfortunately things started to go downhill from here. Upon entry to our room on the 3rd floor we both noticed a definite smell which to us seemed like stale smoke.
I decided to ring reception to see if there was another room we could be transferred to. The reception staff were very polite and apologetic and said that the hotel was fully booked but we could possibly be moved to another room later in the evening after other guests had checked out. We decided that this was a good option. Shortly after the phone call we received a visit from a supervisor of the household staff who proceeded to speak very rudely to us stating that it wasn't a smoke smell and it was just old hotel smell! After quite a bit of debate she eventually offered to get a machine to put airfreshner into the room which we accepted, but both felt that it actually didn't make a lot of difference.
We spent the next hour using the spa and swimming pool which was very pleasant, but as we were going out for the evening we ran out of time to pack up all our belongings to move to another room so ended up telling reception we would just stay in our room as it would be too late to change when we returned.
We had a room with 2 single beds which were comfortable but I felt quite disgusted to notice the following morning that both beds were made up with just a sheet covering the mattress!! And there was black fluff in some of the creases on the mattress. I feel it is most unhygienic not to have mattress protectors on the beds and only wish I had noticed before sleeping on it.
I informed reception of my concerns on checkout and was informed the beds usually do have mattress protectors. Surely in a 5 star hotel these sort of mistakes shouldn't happen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittycatChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we would like to apologise that the service you received was not up to our usual high standard. It is always our aim to treat every guest with respect and politeness. We would like to reassure you that it is our policy to have mattress protectors on the beds, and we are sorry this was overlooked. We do hope we will be able to welcome you and your daughter again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Love this hotel in Auckland. Never stay in hotel which can provided the same feelings and comfort as this hotel.
My first feeings since I step in my room - wow, very cozy and so cool.
Awesome bedding - slept like a baby, very helpful staff, good location in city.

Room Tip: any rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank August W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Its starts with good old fashion service with the porter opening your car door. My room wasnt ready so they took me to the 10 floor where there were complimentary light snacks and drinks. The decor is old fashion and this flows through to the rooms. They turn your bed while you are at dinner and leave a mint for your return. It has an air of swanky old fashion business types but if you dont mind that I wouls recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel will always get top marks from me. The staff are friendly. The decor is quirky. Their main restaurant 'eight' always has a great dinner and an even better breakfast. Room service is quick and great for little get aways. I have stayed in this hotel 30 times give or take.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Benjamyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We took advantage of a special deal to stay a couple of nights the star are pleasant and professional. We thought our room was a bit tired and could do with a refresh - of note was the extremely low ceiling over the bath (shower over bath) if you are a very tall person this could be an issue. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in. Breakfast was included and has a good selection, the barista made coffee was excellent and sets it part from similar rated hotels. The bar in the lobby area also serves food although we didn't eat here it did look good and worth visit one evening for a casual drink/ meal after work.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiwimadeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed a good night’s sleep in our Blissful Beds (always a favourite with our guests). We have regular special packages so it does pay to check and see what’s on offer. Our lobby bar Palm Court is a wonderful place to relax and the standard of service makes it a very special experience. We hope you are able to visit us for an evening meal one day – we have some delicious dishes to sample on our new evening menu.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing