We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A firm favourite”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After trying a variety of hotels in Auckland my wife and I have settled on the Langham as our first choice. Yes it is getting a bit old in places and could do with a bit of a refurbishment but ultimately the staff make up for any real deficiencies. Service is always to the highest standard, with the staff being unfailingly polite and helpful. As you would expect from a property of this standard the rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. I took the opportunity a few years ago to sign up to "1865" which offers a variety of benefits depending on your frequency of stays. I have progressed through to "Voyager" status and enjoy the welcome treats and room upgrades - my only regret is that I hadn't signed up earlier.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and service – we take genuine pleasure in welcoming our guests and providing the best service we can. We would also like to reassure you that we are in the process of finalising plans for refurbishing our Classic Rooms. Good to hear you are an 1865 member – it’s a great programme for frequent stayers and the higher you progress, the more benefits you can enjoy. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit.
All the best
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,495 - 2,501 of 4,454 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

When traveling to Auckland, we always end up staying in the Langham. We have tried other places, some more expensive, some cheaper but actually the Langham offer for us what we believe a hotel of that level should provide. It is true that the rooms bring you back to Victorian time but for us, it also make you feel home. Breakfast is nice and staff friendly.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Carmad3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Chose to stay at the langham to celebrate my birthday! Could not have wished for anything more.weather in Auckland was not the best but with all on offer in the hotel , there was little reason to leave.the amenities at the spa are better than any I have experienced.roof top heated pool also great.food was unbelievable as was service.will definitely visit again.would he fabulous for a girls weekend away.remember swimmers!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lynnemcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at the Langham and attended a conference there too.
The rooms are very dated, it really needs a renovation.
The staff in the cafe were very newly trained, they seemed to have difficulty with the simplest request.
The front of house and driveway staff were terrific.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank eduonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I love the Langham and stay here for work when I can. Staff are super attentive, rooms and beds are lovely, clean and comfy. Easy wifi access and very quiet. Food is delicious and they are very good at catering to diet requirements.

Only drawback is that it is a bit of a walk to the CBD.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZNat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was treated to a night at the Langham and a beautiful Polynesian Spa. The hotel itself was a little disappointing. The staff were friendly and very efficient but my room was not ready until nearly 4.30 pm. Whilst waiting I enjoyed the heated pool which is great, as is the spa pool. The room was a little shabby and could do with a refurb. The movie I wished to watch "wasn't available" as I was eventually told after trying three times and then phoning reception. I had dinner at the Palm Court. The food was good but cold by the time it was served and after my main course, the table setting was whipped away. I was not offered dessert nor coffee, although I was offered another glass of wine. I had breakfast in my room which was good and delivered promptly. My experience at the Chuan Spa was faultless - the treatment, the atmosphere, the staff - well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night and we had a fantastic time! From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and the staff were highly efficient. We stayed in the Executive Room which was lovely. The bed was super comfortable, the room was clean and we had easy wifi access - dreamy! We also dined at Eight which was fantastic with an amazing selection of food and used the pool and steam room facilities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay again if I had the chance! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noonie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
497 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing