We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Langham - Chaun Spa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Langham - Chaun Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I received the gift of a Chaun Spa experience and was excited to use it and have a day of pampering. However, upon arrival at The Langham hotel on 26.07.14, where I had never been before, I firstly went to 'Concierge' to find out where the spa was located. I wasn't even allowed finish my sentence before a woman pointed towards reception. Not to be put off by the unprofessionalism of one person, I then went to reception where another woman kindly offered to call someone from the spa to come down and escort me up. Appreciating this touch, she was then interrupted by a (lacking in people skills) man, who said to me "it's on the second floor" and waited for me to go, as I was clearly wasting his valuable time. Why he found the need to stop this woman from doing a good job I have no idea. So having no clue as to where the elevators were located I was left to stumble off myself,gobsmacked at the "5 star service" recieved to find my own way, which is quite a trek from reception as I discovered.
I must say though, that from the moment I arrived in the Chaun Spa itself, everything was fantastic. The women at reception couldn't have been more helpful and kind and my therapist Colly was amazing, professional and friendly -a stark contrast to The Langham concierge and reception staff. I would highly recommend the spa to anyone looking to treat themselves or someone special. I was given the Chaun Body Elements package which I would definitely recommend - a full body massage and facial catered to you. Also worth mentioning is the facilties including heated swimming pool and jacuzzi and the tri-bathing ritual to begin is a must. Everything was clean and a lovely touch was to include some complimentary refreshments following my package. I also never once felt rushed as you can sometimes in spas. I left there walking on air and completely relaxed - thankfully helping me to forget about the below standard customer service skills delivered by the Langham reception staff.My advice go to the Chaun Spa but avoid The Langham reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaDilemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and we have passed on our feedback to our front office team. It is definitely our intention that every guest should enjoy personal attention and experience the best possible customer service, so our apologies that this was not the case. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Chuan Spa experience and were able to feel relaxed and unrushed. It’s definitely a special place and we hope you can visit again.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,389
    1,051
    365
    96
    62
See reviews for
448
1,968
232
885
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Although I live in Auckland, I like to indulge in a night at the langham from time to time. The beds/bedding here give you the most perfect nights sleep and the spa with the roof top swimming pool is a great feature. The staff are very well versed in etiquette but the bar in the hotel lobby lacks atmosphere and is a bit stuffy. It's great for a night away where you can lock yourself in with your partner, order room service and feel totally indulged. They have an amazing restaurant as part of the hotel too

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichGoesRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We were shouted a night at the hotel recently and it wasnt a pleasant experience. We got a bottle of bubbles with the package but no glasses. After waiting for them for 45 minutes we gave up. The receptionist who checked us in was brilliant but the bar staff was apalling. We had to wait 10 minutes before they acknowledged us (chatting amongst themselves was more important) and then had to wait to be served. Repeat drinks wasn't happening so we walked out. The breakfast buffet was average and the staff who checked our room number was inefficient. She said our names were not on the sheet after we were told the previous day that it was included and made us wait for 10 minutes to sort it out.
It was the night before our wedding and supposed to be a treat but it turned out to be a huge disappointment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neildsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and we sincerely apologise that the service you received on your special evening was not up to our usual high standard. We take our customer feedback seriously and we would like to reassure you that we will be following this up with you directly.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Enjoyed coming back to the Langham for another visit - as usual the room was clean, very comfortable and quiet. It's nice to get the platter of fresh fruit on arrival (a benefit of belonging to the Langhams 1865 loyalty program). Dinned in the Palm Court restaurant for lunch - fabulous meal and surprisingly good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here after a spectacular night of opera and had considered driving home but decided against that, got a last minute deal and WOW is all we can say!
After an evening of opera which you'd go out of your way to see overseas and it was here! was such a treat as we were all dressed up and still in "party" mode to be able to have a drink in the Luxurious Palm Court and watch everyone coming and going. Service, music and surroundings just superb.
Our room, and again so lucky as were upgraded, the décor, bed (the most comfortable ever slept in), etc so elegant reminiscent of Raffles. Hard to believe with such peacefulness we were in the heart of Auckland.
We didn't need it but the check out time of 1.00 an extra bonus too, and as part of our deal we got to have breakfast at 8! Well that was the most amazing gastronomic experience with so many different cuisines to choose from and again such obliging staff, can see why the place was so busy BUT never affected the service and quality of food.
EVERY cuisine and allergy or whatever catered for, would highly recommend!

We really appreciated the charm of this place that started the minute you walked into the lobby, well actually as soon as your car was parked. NOTHING was an effort. The concierge and all those that we interacted with a real credit to the Langham chain!
Will definitely return!
Thanks!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the Langham in Auckland. The staff provided very good service. We booked a classic king which was a bit on the small size, especially the bathroom, but you get what you pay for. The hotel facilities are excellent; there is room for a big conference and the general ambiance inside the hotel is excellent. Had lunch (a la carte) in the main restaurant (mostly occupied by clients at the buffet). The food was the very good and the service excellent. We were a bit surprised that for a five star hotel of the Langham’s reputation that they do not do a turn down service at night. Location is a bit away from the wharf area and the main shopping and restaurants, but they do offer a complimentary shuttle. Certainly not up there with the best hotels we have stayed in all over the world, but certainly worth considering if you are staying in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you received such good service from the staff and our team at Eight restaurant. With regard to turndown, we recently changed our policy to include turndown for our Club & Suite Rooms only, but in return we introduced free Wifi for all guestrooms, as our customer feedback had indicated this would be preferable. We do hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although some of the rooms are a little tired now the reception, service and warmth of the team make up for it. It is like a home away from home and walking into the beautiful perfumed foyer takes the stress out of the day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing