We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile


Stayed at this hotel in our first and last night in Auckland, on arrival concierge was everywhere, opening doors and getting luggage organised, desk staff were efficient and very friendly and informative. We had a king classic room, beautifully furnished, loverly Marple bathroom with good quality toiletries. On our return we were given a complimentary up grade to a bigger room. Awesome stay would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your warm words and we are delighted to hear that you received such excellent service from our concierge and front office staff. We firmly believe that a warm welcome for our guests sets the right tone for a truly relaxing stay. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade too - it’s always our pleasure to accommodate guests in this way whenever our occupancy rates allow. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,452
    1,066
    377
    98
    63
See reviews for
460
2,015
238
905
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

A few months ago a friend and myself wanted to spend one night in ALK and so needed a room with two beds for a good price. We got a great rate at The Langham but the room was very outdated and tired. Service was good although all we did was check in and out. We did have a good night sleep and the room was quiet. Breakfast buffet was ok but quality was a little pedestrian. Coffee meh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at The Langham for one night during our stay at Auckland. The staff members were very polite and exceptionally helpful with information. The process from check-in to check-out was very smooth. Though our room was initially not ready when we had arrived, we were given drinks voucher while waiting at the restaurant which was very much appreciated. The breakfast buffet was very delicious too, especially the waffles. The staff at the restaurant also gave exceptional service.

One of the major pluses (there are many, of course) of this hotel is its location. It is within walking distance to the city center and there is also a complimentary shuttle bus that runs from and to the hotel from the city center. The room was very clean, and we absolutely love the bed. It was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! Overall, our experience at The Langham, Auckland gave us a great start to our vacation in New Zealand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted we were able to get your vacation off to such a great start. We do apologise that your room was not ready – occasionally we have groups checking out late and this can create a delay in turning around the rooms. We are always mindful that people may be tired and in need of a comfortable place to wait, so opening the Club Lounge means our guests can enjoy a drink or snack as they wait. Good to hear you appreciated our Blissful Beds. They are made especially for us by Sealy and very comfortable! We shall hope to see you next time you visit New Zealand.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Langham in Auckland was an awesome place to stay we only stayed for 1 night would of liked to stay longer. Staff and facilities were excellent all the staff were very helpful, overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Overall a very pleasant stay. The rooms were well appointed and the bed was lovely and comfortable. The facilities were great; enjoyed the gym, pool and steam room. I won't write a separate review about the restaurant Eight where we had dinner at, but after all the hype, we were disappointed with the quality of the buffet. No promised crayfish, the meat portions were tiny and again not the variety others had raved about, and I couldn't find much in the way of a salad bar.....we actually enjoyed breakfast better. Mostly the staff were very friendly and helpful. You will enjoy your stay here, I sound like I'm contradicting myself because I can't really fault it, but it is lacking that special something, and I'm not sure what it is.

Room Tip: Try not to get the 2nd floor, that's were the pool/spa is so lots of foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scirocco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel was beautiful! The lobby and bar area are gorgeous. Our room was on the smaller side, but everything about it was perfect and clean. The staff was so accommodating and professional, I couldn't have asked for better service. My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon because of the spa, and we were not disappointed. The spa is fabulous! We loved our time there and highly recommend it even if you don't stay at the hotel. The only problem with the hotel was that it was a bit further from the downtown area then I wanted to be. It was about a 20 minute walk to get to the central area of activity. Other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for positive comments and we are delighted that we helped to make your honeymoon a special occasion. We agree – Chuan Spa is a wonderful place to relax and refresh yourself, and always a favourite with our guests. Should we welcome you back, please do enquire at Concierge about our complimentary shuttle bus service. It runs to the downtown area regularly throughout the day and helps save you the walk. We hope to see you back again one day soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I love this Hotel. From the moment you pull up and a concierge opens your car door, to the doorman welcoming you in, a super plush foyer and old world charm. We got a "deal" off the Internet so it wasn't even that expensive. Best thing though was the bed. 1000 thread Egyptian cotton sheets, a super soft mattress, great pillow selection, blackout blinds and double glazing means you are cocooned in darkness and tranquility. So much so that we overslept.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing