We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Languish at the Langham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Languish at the Langham”
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Had two absolutely fantastic stays at the Langham in Jan the night before and the night after an overseas trip.
Could have quite easily languished here for longer and been pampered and looked after by the staff in the clubroom, most of whom were friendly and chatty, especially on our initial stay....my only gripe was on the 2nd stay and was with the attitude of the staff at breakfast when they cleared everything away at 10am on the dot and were a bit frosty.
The service throughout the hotel was very good and the reception staff were always helpful and courteous.
The rooms were very comfortable and kept very clean and fresh.
The newly refurbished gym was great and should be even better now as I was informed that a second air conditioning unit was being installed the day after our departure.
Unfortunately we weren't able to eat in the siganture restaurant as it was still closed for the Christmas period on our first stay and was not open on a Sunday night which coincided with our second stay.....a slight disappointment but will definitely stay at the Langham when we are next up in Auckland and will try and make sure it is on a night when the restaurant is open!

  • Liked — Standard of service and courtesy bus to town
  • Disliked — No free wireless connection in clubrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,578
    1,124
    392
    108
    64
See reviews for
490
2,096
253
971
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east lothian
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in late Jan, having booked directly about 4 weeks in advance. We paid $179NZD a night for room only which I think was a great rate for the quality of the hotel. We arrived at 4.00am off of a long flight and were given our room straight away, despite check-in time offically not being until 12 noon. Our room was on the 6th floor where free internet access was available in the lobby ( beware in room use of internet is $30NZD an hour).
The hotel looks as though it has been modernised recently and they are in the process of adding a spa. The rooftop pool is already open and provides a great place to cool down after a days siteseeing in the city. The service was great throughout our stay. We ate in the formal restaurant one night and whilst it was a bit more expensive than outside restaurants we found the food and service to be excellent.
The only thing to consider before staying here as a tourist is the location, its not in downtown Auckland but does run an efficient and free transfer bus every 30 mins. We didn't find the location a problem and even walked into town one day ( about 25mins downhill).
All in all we were really pleased with out choice and would return to stay here if we visited the city again.

  • Liked — Rooftop Pool and great Service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GGedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramore, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We started our honeymoon here. Absolutely gorgeous hotel. They couldn't do enough for us, gorgeous rooms, staff were so friendly service was second to none. Well worth a visit.
Only gripe is that is was a little out of town but the courtsey bus more than made up for that.

  • Liked — Sevice, Rooms
  • Disliked — A bit out of the way
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

What a beautiful hotel. The staff are dressed so smart the foyer and wine bar and furniture is devine. We were impressed with the service and the extra attention to detail. We had a meal at partingtons restaurant which we didnt enjoy however i am keeping that separate from the hotel itself. The new pool is lovely and the high tea on sunday was something not to miss!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — partingtons restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Our stay at the Langham Hotel was the end of a four week trip to New Zealand from England, and it couldn't have been a better finale, everything about the hotel was first rate, from arriving to leaving nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, they were so polite and helpful. The resturant for both breakfast and dinner were so good with so much choice, and there again some charming staff, maybe a little more expensive than others but well worth it.Our bedroom had every comfort and aminity we could have asked for, and because we had booked an upgrade room we got free internet access, which was handy before we set off on our journey home.We hope to go back to New Zealand again some day, we just hope we can visit the Langham hotel again. Well Done .

  • Liked — our bedroom/bathroom
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lancssuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

I stayed at the hotel and I just want to say the Housekeeping staff were fantastic. I spoke to the Head of Housekeeping regarding laundry and she was most courteous and helpful!!! After talking to her she came and picked the laundry up herself I was blown a way with the service.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chillip2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg,Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

the langham hotel in auckland is a first rate hotel.great location.the staff are most efficient and helpful.It truly offers all that you would expect from a first class hotel and then some.

LH. Winnipeg<canada




























at you would expect from a first class hotel and then some.

  • Liked — stately ambience
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank larrywinnipegcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing