We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other hotels should take a lesson from the service at the Langham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2009

This hotel is excellent in every way. The staff is flawless. The location is not the best but we were able to walk to The French Cafe for dinner. Also we walked down to the waterfront and took the free hotel shuttle back. Highly recommend this hotel as one of the best in New Zealand.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank loucar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,353)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,111 - 4,117 of 4,353 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Langham for a long weekend together. We stayed on the executive level; the service was 100% terrific. I cannot say a bad word about the hotel. We had a hire car and travelled around the North Island of New Zealand taking in the breathtaking scenery. The hotel room was truly magnificent, fit for a king. The food was divine as is the NZ wine selection. Do yourself a favour, if it is within your budget stay at the Langham Hotel. Another tip, if you get a chance to visit Raglan Beach, I would as it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We spent two nights mid-May at the Langham, after obtaining a good rate from the Hotel's web site about six weeks prior. We arrived via the rear driveway and opted for valet parking, $30NZ per night. Check -in was quick and easy, we were offered an upgrade if we took the $110NZ Langham Club option, involving access to the club room on 10th floor, buffet breakfast, morning/afternoon teas and canapes and cocktails in the evening. We understood that the cost was $110NZ per night, and that our room upgrade meant only that we would be on a higher floor. The room was clean and tastefully furnished in that overstuffed armchair way. The king bed was enormous and comfortable, and the room had a large widescreen tv (although some of the local TV stations appeared in the stretched mode).The bathroom was spacious, with a full bath and a marvelous shower over. The bathroom soaps and shampoos were from the Chuan Spa. We got total value from the Club lounge, breakfast both mornings was excellent, free coffee throughout the day, snacks and drinks provided. The evening canapes were superb, with a huge variety of fresh and tasty dishes and lots of local wines to try. It was so good that it stood in for our dinner on our first night as we were in a hurry to attend a function in town. The club room staff were most attentive and friendly. The Hotel is away from the town Centre and the water, but the hotel provides a free shuttle on the half-hour. We really enjoyed the Langham and our stay there topped off a really good two weeks in NZ.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We just stayed here last week and really enjoyed the Langham. Our flight got us in early and we arrived at the hotel at 8:30am, not only were we able to get a room but we were upgraded with no charge. The room was very nice and very clean. The hotel staff was very helpful even arranging a rental car for us for two days. The free shuttle to the harbor area was convenient and the drivers were very helpful with information. Try the Italian restaurant behind the hotel DiVinci's. Very reasonable and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We arrived at The Langham @ around 7.30am and were immediately given our room which was lovely and beautifully furnished. We found the Hotel shuttle bus very useful.

If you wish to return to the Airport by Airbus you should exit the Hotel via the lower floor and turn left. Walk downhill until you come to the main road. DO NOT cross over the road but wait outside of the shops immediately to your right. Unfortunately the Doorman didn't tell us this and we missed the bus!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at the Langham Hotel in Auckland as the last stop on our 18 day New Zealand honeymoon. After a shakey start regarding sending our bags up to our room (there was a delay then a slight mix up), the hotel came through with flying colours. My husband and I were very impressed with all the little extras the hotel provided, including a welcome platter of fruit and turkish delight, the cheap $10 a day parking right next door to the turn down service at night. The only thing we would complain about is the $30 a night WiFi fee they charge which is on the pricey side.
The hotel not really walking distance to all the shops on Queen street so they provide a free shuttle service which takes you to the heart of the CBD and this runs every half hour which we found very useful. We had the buffet breakfast on the morning we checked out and we found the food delicious, with great variety and impeccable service.
Overall it was an extremely comfortable stay and great value for money. We will definitely stay at the Langham if we are ever in Auckland again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teaspoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We chose this hotel for a one-night stay in Auckland after flying from Europe. We chose it because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor and the good rates that were available. We didn't really try out any facilities, but the room and bathroom we had were big and spacious and there were loads of cushions on the bed!
It was about a half-hour walk to the centre of town and required a certain level of fitness because of the hill. We got an airport limo bus to the hotel and a cab back there, although there appeared to also be a normal airport bus stop outside the hotel.
Tip: get the staff to book a taxi as it was much cheaper then a normal cab (and only a little bit more than the airport bus for two people).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing