We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete luxury in super location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Complete luxury in super location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

I stayed at the Langham for 2 nights at the beginning of my trip and then one more night at the end of my holiday. It truly did not disappoint. I chose this hotel based on reviews on TA and was very happy with my choice. Everything was wonderful - check in; the free shuttle down to Queen St.; the pool, jacuzzi & sauna; comfy beds; large screen TV; bathrobes; computers with internet access on my floor; the polite & courteous staff; and very importantly the cleanliness of the hotel! I would recommend to anyone to stay here and will stay here again if I ever return to NZ!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,458
    1,072
    377
    98
    63
See reviews for
462
2,022
238
907
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed at the Langham hotel in Auckland for the first few nights of our Honeymoon. This hotel is fantastic in every way. They picked us up from the airport in the Hotel Lexus Limo which was very nice. The very first thing we did after our long flight from NY was to check into the spa for a massage. The Chaun Spa at this hotel is not to be missed. It's brand new with state of the art locker rooms and the staff are great. The staff are great everywhere in the hotel, for the record. Stayed in a Park Suite, 2 rooms with nice size bathroom. Great room, couldn't have been better. Tons of free bathroom stuff and all top rate brands. The best thing about this hotel in our opinion is the club level. I would recommend you stay in a club level room or a suite that gets to use the club level. They have a wonderful free breakfast buffet and great canapes and wine for happy hour every night. This saves you money and once again the staff are great on the club level. Every floor has 3 computers by the elevator to get on the internet, free, which was a nice touch. The free shuttle will take you right down to the harbor, but you can walk it in about 15 minutes if you don't mind a few hills. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, it was the perfect place to start our 17 day honeymoon.

Only real recommendation for you if you're staying in Auckland for a few days. Go to Waiheke island and go wine tasting. The ferry is easy, about 35 minutes and you can rent a car for around $50 for the day. This island is beautiful and the wineries are very good. Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diggy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed at the Langham in Auckland for 3 nights from October 10-13. We found an incredible deal for $100 (including tax a night on hotels.com) which is unheard of here in the US for a Langham and I was very much looking forward to our stay there.

This Langham did not disappoint. The lobby was beautiful and glamorous with an incredible scent of lilies as you walk in. The staff was very friendly everywhere we went (check in, turn down service, shuttle driver).

The room was spacious with a definite old world charm. Lush pillows lay on top of the king sized bed. The dresser drawers were reminiscent of Asian antiques. The bathroom was large with a separate bath and tub. My favorite thing about the room though was the bathroom amenities. They provided everything from toothbrushes to loofas all packaged in the signature Langham pink boxes.

If you are staying at the hotel you should note it's about a 25 minute walk to the City Center/Harbor area. There's a shuttle that runs every 1/2 hour that takes you to the City and we used that during our stay. The only thing to be aware of is that the shuttle stops running around 9:30pm so you will have to either walk or take a taxi back in the evenings.

We also used their outdoor pool and jacuzzi and they have separate saunas and herbal steam rooms for men and women. The herbal steam room was heavenly and you could use it as a hotel guest even if you don't book a spa service.

We decided to have afternoon tea there and it was fabulous! It was much cheaper than the Langham in Pasadena (about $30 a person vs. $45 a person in Pasadena) and the service and the food were both exceptional.

If you don't mind staying a bit out of the city center, this is a great hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Spent only two nights at The Langham, but really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable, the staff are friendly and the fitness center is one of the best I've seen in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a really nice hotel, if you are in Auckland. It is close to the center of everything. They provide a free shuttle to the tourist center. However, though the price of the room was very good through Expedia, they charge a lot for practically everything, quite a lot. Even morning coffee or tea is not included. I was charged for: internet use, parking, and morning coffee. At the end of the stay, the cheap price of the room wasn't as impressive when the rest of the charges were added.

Their pricey buffet is of good quality. So I would recommend it if you are not on a budget. However, if you go out to the city, you will find cheaper places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

My wife and I were travelling to NZ for our honeymoon and wanted something special for our first few nights. The Langham didn't disappoint. Our room was stunning, pure luxury. The hotel facilities were fantastic; a heated terrace pool and jaccuzzi and a newly refurbished spa including sauna, steam room and ice experience all complimentary. The best point of all was the staff. They couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, in particular the bus driver into town gave us so much invaluable information. The only drawback of this hotel is the location, about a 15-20 min walk to the harbour which is all uphill on the return which can be tiring. However the complimentary shuttle service runs frequently and was not an issue for us. We couldn't recommend this hotel more and would like to thank all the staff for giving us a great start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsGrever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

My fiancee and I visited The Langham Auckland for our anniversary weekend getaway. We were thrilled by how attentive and thoughtful the staff were. From the moment we arrived, we met Penaia who happily took care of the car, and informed us of the local area's best eateries. We were led to our room by Meghan who was obviously knowledgeable about the whole hotel and its every amenity. I had secretly planned a celebration cake and massage for my Fiancee and the team worked effortlessly to keep the secrecy till it broke cover! The massage was amaaazing! Our thanks to Susan and Amanda for their oh-so-relaxing work! We left The Langham Auckland wanting so much more. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing