We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing 5 star change!! Timeless luxury.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A refreshing 5 star change!! Timeless luxury.....”
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I've read many reviews about this hotel and after checking it out for myself I couldn't agree more with all the great things said about The Langham.

From the valet to check in; it was the simplest process I've ever gone through and the staff was friendly and welcoming. The lobby was very 'grand' with a fabulous ornate chandelier and a huge display of white lilies which made a great back drop for a few snappers making the most of the beauty.

On arrival the hotel was very busy with high tea being served yet there were staff everywhere happy to assist with our questions.

Walking into the room felt like walking onto the set of ‘Death on the Nile' with the yesteryear timeless decor which was luxurious and a grand point of difference to other 5 star hotels in Auckland.

The room including the bathroom was very clean. Only gripe there was the dust on the glasses but that was an easy fix. The bed was very comfortable but oddly my feet were hanging off the bed during the night which was the first topic of discussion in the morning.... 'is this bed short?' I'm only 5'4 so it was amusing.

The buffet breakfast in SBF was lovely - all the usual dishes. Only point of difference besides the decor was the chef on hand to prepare fresh eggs and omelets.

Check out was faster than check in and overall our stay was very enjoyable and it was definitely value for money as we had the 5 star fling deal.

However, when the valet bought our car around it was covered in a lot of bird droppings and it was stifling hot from no doubt being parked outdoors uncovered in the sun. This was the only downer on our otherwise fabulous stay.

Will we return? Definitely!! We've been checking out the local Auckland 5 star hotels to pick the one we'll spend our 1st night as a married couple in and out of The Sky Grand, Westin and Hilton, this is our pick. We'll get to experience what these other types of hotels offer when we carry on with our honeymoon around the South Island in Jan 2010.

Tip: Go for an all inclusive package deal that suits. There are several.

Happy & safe travels.

Isabel & Ed

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,601
    1,133
    395
    109
    66
See reviews for
494
2,109
257
985
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwood
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

From the doorman who greet you as you pull up to the high ceilings with huge chandeliers to the plate of chocolates delivered to the room, the Langham is luxury all the way. The swimming pool/spa was great, although a little difficult to find at first and the standard of food in the restaurant was excellent. A little out of the centre but an easy walk to the Sky Tower and other attractions - the walk back not quite so easy up a steep hill so take the shuttle bus! Also, by no means the most expensive stop on our trip around NZ.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

As others have noted, The Langham is a classic old-fashioned hotel with all of the trimmings. Located on a hill opposite the Domain (and museum), it is not right in the centre of the CBD but it is a stroll around the corner to the popular K Road cafes and a half hour walk across the Domain to Parnell shopping and cafe strip (recommended). So if mobility is an issue, perhaps stay in one of the hotels right in the CBD (we also stayed one night at the Hilton on the Quay and it was excellent). The rooms are comfortable, clean and the turn-down service is a delight. The bar in the foyer is a real highlight with attentive staff and complimentary snacks served with drinks. 'Number 5' restaurant directly across the road is a fabulous dining experience with wonderful staff (thank you, Carol). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possiblyaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed three nights from 12 November 2009. The lobby was small but welcoming and comfortable. Check in was easy, although we'd booked a club room and they had us as on the executive floor. This was easily rectified and we were able to get to the room despite arriving early. The room was large and very comfortable. The beds were soft and gave us a good nights sleep. There was a pillow menu, but we never used it. The bath room was well appointed and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. The shower worked well. The club room was nice, with lots of comfortable easy chairs and tea and coffee on the go. The breakfatst there was nice, but the bacon was very fatty and not the back bacon I would have preferred. The evening drinks and canapes were nice and the drinks were premium, Bombay Sapphire for the gin for instance. The free internet was nice too. The club staff were all extremely friendly. All in all I would recommend this as a place to stay. A short hike into town, but none the worse for that.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,117 reviews
418 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We were on a tour so I don't know if the value was good or not. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in in New Zeland.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We spent 3 nights here, beautiful lobby area, very warm welcoming staff, we were taken up to our room where our luggage had already been deposited. All staff were courteous and friendly and keen to make our stay enjoyable, they confirmed our return flights for us and went about their duties with a welcoming smile and gave one the feeling that they really enjoyed dealing with their guests. Food was of a very high standard and again the waiting staff were very professional and not distant and keen to set a warm friendly tone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phlomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed in the Langham for 2 nights. It's an extremely impressive hotel. The staff were excellent at all times and very efficient. The hotel is quite luxurious. The rooms are spacious and well fitted out, notably the bathrooms. The hotel also offered free internet and its spa is excellent. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel as there are so many options in Auckland for dining and bars. The hotel also offers a complementary shuttle service into the city centre as it is located just outside. The staff were also very helpful in organising our transportation to the airport and got us a very cheap deal. A great hotel and I'd happily stay there again. Sometimes these plush hotels can be quite "stuffy" but the Langham was the opposite, which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing