We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurb, Not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb, Not a 5 star”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

ThIs hotel is not in the best of Locations, it is at the very top of Queens Street up near the Motorway, about 15/20 minutes walk to the CBD but the hotel does provide a free shuttle bus to and from the city so this did not really bother me.
The hotel is approx 30 years old and it desperately need a refurbishment. It only has 1 bar , which is in the hotel Lobby , this seems to cater more for afternoon teas so does not have the right feel as a evening bar. A lovely out door bar / coffee terrace is definatley needed.There are 3 tables that i think they call a terrace next to the main entrance and the carpark,(not really relaxing for an afternoon drink in the sun!)
There are 2 restaurants , 1 called Eight which has just opened , 8 culinary kitchens in one restaurant but when we found out this restaurant double up for Breakfast in the mornings we decided to give it a miss. The Breakfast was an additional $37 each and the hotel was full on New years eve so they wanted us to queue the next morning for breakfast for half an hour before we got a table .
The hotel rooms are very average, desperately need a refurbishment. We got a good deal on agoda website so i think we got the cheap room on floor 4, as my mum was on floor 5 and the furniture in her room was alot better.
The bathrooms are tiny and smelt of damp, the shower was so small over the bath, that my husband head could touch the ceiling.
The pool area is tiny , 20 sunbeds , 3 tables and a hot tub! Guest are fighting to get a sunbed. It needs planting out nicely to make this area look better , Maybe even a sun terrace were you can have a relaxing drink!
Overall the experience in this hotel was not great , It is more like a 3 star ! we would not return to this hotel again or recommend friends but in all fairness i dont think Auckland has a true 5 star hotel so were would you go .I have been recommended a boutique hotel called "mollies" but that is approx $500 per night so alot more expensive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,532
    1,111
    386
    103
    63
See reviews for
475
2,066
250
955
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The reason it appears on all listing as number ONE is because it is exactly that.
We arrived after 25 hour flight from the England at 01h30, totally exhaused. Reception no fuss efficiently processed and settled in the room within 15 minutes.
Wonderful rooms so well appointed and quiet.
Breakfast choice to suit everyones taste.
Best possible entry into NZ and a haven to recover before embarking on our exploration of this wonderful country. Stay on our next visit - it's a no brainer.
Only downside is the location which is someway out from the CBD. The hotel runs an hourly shuttle on a 'first come' basis otherwise it is a taxi journey to the harbour.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

After reading the most recent reviews on The Langham our experience could not have been more different. Our stay was a complegte joy starting with being picked up at the airport aftrer a long flight from UK by a lovely lady driver who transported us to the hotel in a beautiful limo, upon arrival we were met in person by two concierges and Nikki who seamlessly took us through check in and then escorted us to our room explaining everything we needed to know about the hotel. We had a beautiful room on the 10th club rooms floor which was spacious,comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed having the use of the club lounge and found the staff there, particularly Paul very welcoming and we felt very well looked after. Breakfast in the club lounge was good and plentiful as were the delicious canapes served in the early evening, there was also tea,coffee, pastries, savoury snacks, ice cream etc available all day if you wanted. A shuttle service downtown is offered all day which is great as the hotel is slightly away from the centre of the city. We have stayed at Langham's in Melbourne and London and really could not fault any aspect of our stay at the Auckland Langham. Our thanks to all the staff for making our stay a great one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberosehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Background to review: I arrived exhausted after a delayed 50 hour trip from the UK due to severe winter weather. Given that I spend my professional life cleaned shaven and suited, I like to spend my holidays unshaven in pair of shorts, a t shirt and flip flops. I also spend my life travelling and am lucky enough to stay in some top hotels.

Why did the Langham let me down so much?:

- Having stayed in Langhams before, I always use their hotel cars. I therefore booked one in Auckland. The hotel sub contracted the hire to a 3rd party. The car was poor. The driver unable to communicate. Worst of all, after a horrendous journey, the driver wasn't there on arrival.

- On arrival the receptionist couldn't manage a smile. The concierge looked at me like I was dirt on their shoe. The check in was tedious. Unlike most 5 star hotels, there were no refreshments offered on arrival after a long trip.

- We had booked a special rate on a suite that was non refundable. During our delayed trip I had continually updated our hotel of our ETA. This was with a view to ensuring we were only charged for one night. On check out they insisted on charging the full rate and applying a 10% service fee. They also were nondoubt able to resell the room.

- After our exhausting journey, we collapsed in to bed and went for room service. It was prompt but everything was very greasy and lacked any flavour.

- Our 'suite' was on a low floor. It wasnt actually a suite - just 2 former rooms knocked in to one! You could still see the outline of the numbers removed from one of our exterior doors! The room's view was of a car park and the back of another building. The decor was very tired and the room itself smelt of damp. How much did this privilege cost? £375. Lucky us.

- We decided to drown our sorrows in the club room on the 10th floor. This was the usual deal - nibbles and drinks. Unfortunately, we only made it in to the club room (which had all the charm of an airport lounge from the 90s) when a spotty teenager with a big smile on his favmce proclaimed out loud in front of the other guests that I had to leave because I was wearing flip flops. Now dresscodes I get but this place was not the place for formality, it simply did not merit it.

- The location is a shocker. Miles away from anything. Good for getting on the motorway south but not much else.

I asked to speak to the manager on check out. After an initial refusal, I got a junior assistant manager who was robotic in his engagement and could not have been less sincere.

We will come back to Auckland but not this hotel so we decided to look at some others for next time. The stand out was the Hilton. Please fo yourself a favour and stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Great location to go out at nighttime (K Street around the corner). Breakfast buffet huge, but quality more looks than taste. Gym good, but not too big. Nice steam room and sauna. Friendly service, excellent concierge. Rooms are a bit stuffy and we didn't get any view but a flat garage roof. Bathrooms small, single wash basin only and no seperate shower.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Our stay was a truly memorable experience. A limousine was waiting at the airport and after a pleasant trip we arrived and were met by a charming hostess who showed us around the facilities. I had mentioned that the stay was to celebrate my wife's birthday and when we entered our room a glass dish with bonbons with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the side of the dish. The staff were very friendly and gave advice when asked for. Having stayed in 5-star hotels in Australia, Singapore and Hong Kong I can truly say that this was the first Hotel that lived up to its reputation and earned to be called a 5-star hotel. Hope to stay there again in the near future. J C Bensink

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbensink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Auckland is quite spread out and the downtown area is not terribly elegant. The Viaduct area and the Hyatt have the most happening area and are walking distance to many things including transportation. Other hotels seemed to be located in "iffy" areas. The Hyatt ad Langham are located a bit out of the heart of the city, so if you want to be in the middle of things, you may not be happy. However, we were very pleased with the Langham in all other respects. They offer a free shuttle running on the half hour to the heart of the city. This is convenient and welcome. We just wished it had run during dinner time, but the poor driver has to have some time off. Included breakfast in the dining room was excellent and the club facilities are lovely. The room was not large, but was elegantly furnished. Fresh fruit and water were furnished. The concierge desk was extremely helpful and courteous. Free internet was available in the business center. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing