We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel with a caring staff and great rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
fort lauderdale, fl.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel with a caring staff and great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

My first visit to Auckland, and I fould this hotel on the internet. They have an excellent hotel with a very caring and attentive staff. Windows are well insulated. I never heard traffic noise in the nine nights I was there. Their limousine service is equal to the accomodations, as is the food in their restaurants. They feature a nice pool area with food and beverage service on the roof of the second floor. Housekeeping is also top notch, with nightly turn-down service. A little out of the main warf and business district, but free shuttle service is provided twice an hour during the day until about 9 P.M. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank travelman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,389
    1,051
    365
    96
    62
See reviews for
448
1,968
232
885
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Arrived late, stunning arrival w/candles. But then some guy blew them out while we were checking in. At least wait till the guests get on the elevator if you're going to leave them lit till last guest arrives. First order, find out about chocolate bread I read rave reviews about on TA. Desk had no clue. Nobody in restaurant. Back to desk, who called restaurant to let them know guests were here and interested in restaruant. Back to restaurant. Some people came out of kitchen, had no clue about chocolate bread. Went back in kitchen, another person came out and said you mean the chocolate croissants. They'll be made in morning, and come early as they go quick. DONE. Off to bed. Next morning, down early, told bread not scheduled to be made that day. Breads rotate. Ok, enough on that. Rooms were cramed, but classy. We loved the water caraffe and glasses on bedside table. Super cute room pen, and writes great. Had a Motel 6 morning though. Housekeeping ladies were yelling up and down the halls for nealy a half hour! We were floored. It cheapened EVERYthing about the place. When we exited room they shushed. Perhaps they thought everyone had checked out. After the breakfast let down, we went back to room and did late check out. Decided to nap and revel in lying flat as we had a long flight home in coach.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StewardessFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed at The Langham and it was wonderful. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms and toiletries were excellent. The staff were always smiling and interested in our day. Our requests (extra pillows and towels) were filled quickly and with a smile. We felt relaxed and happy with our stay.
The breakfasts were incredible especially the eggs,crepes,coffee .....just everything was great. The Restaurant named Eight was set up as a journey through the different areas of food. The choices available were excellent....including seafood,Japanese,Indian and the fantastic desserts.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed for two days (24 - 26 Dec) and "participated" actively in Xmas Dinners & breakfasts :)
Never encountered such diversity in food offering! We couldnt keep our eyes... straight :)
Decoration was astonishing. I loved the way we were welcomed, treated during our stay... I liked almost everything (though "personal touch" wasnt there all the time - some things were forgotten by the staff). Nice room, very professional SPA service, ready to help staff, always smiling and in the same time not annoying... All is well balanced.
As I said it couldnt be better! :)

Regards, Marina Ivashina

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Langham Hotel Auckland on our way to and from LA.

From the moment we were picked up by Bruce at the airport in the hotel’s Lexus we knew that we were in for a wonderful experience. On the first visit, we arrived early morning and were greeted by Atilla (well informed concierge) and told that our room was waiting for us. We had booked a Club Room. We were on the 8th floor and then on the 10th floor for our return journey. In short, if you are going to book here, book Club! More about that in a moment.

The room was well furnished and equally well appointed. I know this because we didn’t ask to change as soon as we got there. Usually there’s the “sniff test” the “clean carpet test” and the “neat bathroom test” that my wife administers upon our arrival. This usually sees us changing rooms at least once. The room passed first time- a unique achievement.

Now why pay the extra and go Club? I mean a room is a room is a room correct? Well to a point. The Club lounge or at least our experience of it was hospitality par- excellence. The team (in no particular order) of Jonathon, Owen, Boman and Peter are a group of individuals who have decided to make hospitality their career of choice and it shows in their approach, their professionalism and their empathetic approach to their guests. And as a lot of hotels have forgotten- it’s the simple stuff. It’s the “good morning.” the “what have you got planned today” and in the evenings over cocktails, the “So, how was your day? How did you like such-and-such? Tomorrow you should go here or there” Its not rocket science. As I said it’s the simple stuff. It’s the difference between having a sterile Club atmosphere and feeling at the end of the day you are returning home and the people there are actually genuinely pleased to see you! Our experience here is the reason that we hope to return at this year’s end.

But the Langham is so much more from the 10th floor to the ground floor. From the front door to the courtesy shuttle bus driver at the back door, we found an entire hotel of employees that were always eager to please.

A quick mention about the hotel’s restaurants. Unfortunately, the hotel’s signature Italian restaurant Bolero was closed on our return trip. But we look forward to trying it on our next stay. Open was “8” the hotels other dining option. I could go on and on here about how great it was and indeed it was! But I’ll just say one word-Sushi! Whoever is making it in there is making the best example of it in New Zealand if not South East Asia. That’s a big call I know. But when you are there try it and get in touch if you’ve tasted better. I’d love to know where and when.

As you walk up Queen Street towards the hotel, climbing a gradient steep enough to make even Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay think twice, you know that at the peak is the Club room, where a friendly face is waiting armed with a cool class of New Zealand chardonnay.

Now that is real 5- STAR !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthMovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn,NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed two nights over Christmas coming straight from the airport. We were on the 6th floor in a suite. It was well appointed, separate living room and large bedroom. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but full bathtub and nice amenities. All of this proved to have been a good choice, as one of spent the first night and then entire next day in bed with food poisoning from a seafood restaurant in town. The cleaning woman who came by mid-day was very compassionate, happy to get us fresh towels, mint tea, and anything else we needed. We did not get to use the spa, but expect it was lovely.

The bed was comfortable, the room temp adjustable and the curtains enabled a dark room day or not for sleep. Especially good when coming from overseas.

The biggest shock was the price of the internet service. When you are already paying top dollar for a hotel room, it is surprising to find that internet is only available via cable, and costs more than you would pay for private service for a month.

We stayed one other night on our way back through-since it was more of just an overnight we stayed in a less expensive room. Reviewer's shouldn't be surprised that when your room costs less, it isn't as nice/new as the more expensive rooms. It still seemed just as up to date, just smaller, no second living area, no luxury amenities. Same bed-which was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed 2 nights on the concierge floor while stopping over on the way to Australia from USA. We wanted a full service property after a night at a more rural property an hour away from Auckland called Sea Fields. Concierge floor here is very good, more food than usual and rather good stuff. Butler service is friendly. Internet service was adequate and the gym at the hotel was rather good. Spa was also nice. Breakfast and dinner at the new buffet downstairs were both excellent. Shuttle service to the touristic waterfront areas worked well. In-room amenities were very high quality. We're not crazy about the 1.5% credit card surcharges but are finding this to becoming standard in the region. There is a playground about 10 minutes walk away and plenty of things you can walk to within 20 minutes of the hotel such as the Auckland Museum and the Domain. Altogether, we found this an ideal base to explore Auckland and to use as a stopover between New Zealand and points beyond if you want a 5 star full service facility.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing