We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIVE-STAR NO WAY”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This hotel has the potential and on first glance is it is going to be good but it just is not. Maybe three star.
The mark of a great hotel is their concierge, this place fails miserably. Long lines, not returning calls and reservations that, beleive it or not, were not honored by restaurant they recommended.
No wi-fi.
We returned to our room at 4:45pm, not made up. We left at 10am.
Look elsewhere in this delightful town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,983 - 3,989 of 4,412 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

The hotel gives you the impression it will be Grand, on the outside and on the surface it is but look beneath the surface.
The decor in the rooms is dated, the plumbing is ancient, rooms are small, the television is from 1990 , the beds have been used so much they sag in the middle and feel like they are stuffed with straw ,

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I had a lovely stay here on business. I found the room to be very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Enjoyed some great meals at restaurant 8. Staff were efficient and courteous. The location is a bit of a hike up the hill but I got used to it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyliexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed 2 nights this month and once again we received a free upgrade to a club room. Efficient reception, concierge and shuttle driver, same amazing spa facilities and an all round fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lellley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The hotel is very nice but I had a few issues with the property. The location....not the hotels fault but it wasn't exactly where I had wanted to be (of course I didn't know that until I arrived). I would rather be closer to the waterfront. The service....it wasn't great: we received the wrong keys and didn't have club access when we had a club level room. Didn't get a wake-up call on the morning we left (good thing I didn't sleep well) and didn't get coffee delivered to the room either. The beds were comfortable only if you stayed on either end...there was a big bump in the middle. I had much higher expectations for $500NZD per night.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich30306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We had planned only one night in the Langham, on arrival in New Zealand but ended up with two further unplanned visits of two and four nights following some urgent surgery in Auckland hospital and around a follow-up appointment.

First things first; we wanted a comfortable hotel with the opportunity for a good night's sleep after a flight from Singapore. And we certainly got that. The beds were fantastic - even my 11 year old who drew the short straw of a rollaway bed said it was really comfortable (and a class apart from the normal sofa beds she gets stuck with). And (unless all our neighbours were particularly quiet, even on New Year's Eve) the soundproofing was the best I have come across in any hotel. We slept better in this hotel than we have done in years.

The breakfast was magnificent with plenty of choice and good quality food. And I cannot recommend the restaurant buffet too highly. We thought it a little pricey but when we eventually succumbed, we reaslised that we were just being parsimonious and that the value for money was first rate.

But the thing that most stuck in my mind was the helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff. It was good enough when we first arrived. But on our second visit, I had just had eye surgery and everyone just went out of their way to help. Reception staff were incredible throughout as were the concierges. It was the third visit that really sealed it for me. I was greeted by name as I walked through the door and all the staff who had seen me previously, including restaurant staff, asked me how I was recovering. And they were sincere about it too.

If this is the Langham quality, it is a group of hotels that will certainly see me again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Everything about this hotel was good although now reading the other reviews I'm jealous. Our travel consultant recommended and booked this hotel and we didn't get any of the deals that other reviewers enjoyed.
But perhaps that makes this review a bit more grounded.
Value for money was good though and the room was reasonably spacious and well fitted out - albeit a bit pink for our taste. Not sure where the half star comes from but it's definitely worthy of four stars.
The location is a bit iffy but the free shuttle bus overcomes that problem very reliably and the drivers were well informed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toshkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £103 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing