We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very tired accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropolis
Ranked #46 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but very tired accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and last stayed here 11 years ago. While it's a central location, the decor is now extremely worn and tired. The bed & bathroom linen were clean and in good condition but the crockery was not. There were only two glasses & both were chipped, one very badly. The bed was comfortable and while my husband slept soundly I was awake most of the night, finally falling asleep after 4am. The noise of the city life was quite overwhelming for me so maybe the higher you are up the quieter it may be, or if you are a sound sleeper!
As they are apartments there is a fridge, cooker & washing machine & drier which are great if staying for more than a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor north facing & could see the sea so the higher the better for a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vpholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    24
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
14
34
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is one of the oddest buildings you may consider staying in.

There are actually two hotels (with different entrances), with the main one being the successor to the Stamford Residences, the other, a rival one, being established by an individual owner of 60 or so apartments in the building. In addition, you will find resident-owners, long term renters and short term renters (I would guess there are around 400 units in total) thrown into the mix. The Metropolis feels transient and devoid of any sort of community spirit – you will not see the same people more than once. There is no on-site dining, although there are cafes and restaurants on the base level (external to the entrances), including an Esquires and Coffee House coffee outlet, Japanese sake place, Italian restaurant, etc.

The building is high profile within Auckland, with the politics and animated debates amongst members of the corporate body (ie the people charged with managing the building), regularly cited in the press, along with stories about the sniffer dogs checking for illegal drugs cultivation, spider-man ascending the outside walls, the latest price of the penthouse apartments, etc.

The fitness centre is very old and has not been updated. The pool area has peeling paint and is generally full in the early morning (it opens at 6 am), so you may need to wait. The cardio room has very old equipment with an extremely limited selection of machines and free weights. However, there is also a little outside area with a hot tub.

High up and north facing will give you the best views. Lower level apartments may have “water shafts” views. If you are adjacent to the elevators, you will hear them as they race up and down the 35 floors. I am guessing that all rooms will have kitchenettes, including washer/dryer, hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and fridge/freezer. There are separate showers, with excellent pressure. If you are lower down (by which I mean below about floor 10 – there is some “creative” floor numbering, partly due to the building being on the side of a hill), you will likely hear noise from the adjacent bars of the Chancery area and High Street.

However, the location of the Metropolis is excellent, being close to Queen Street, with two decent sized supermarkets (Countdown and New World) within a 5 minutes walk, plus the shuttle bus to the airport 5 minutes walk away, Britomart (5 to 10 minutes) and the quayside with the boats to Devonport and Waiheke around 10 minutes walk. There are innumberable bars and restaurants nearby, with cuisines to suit all tastes, including the more vibrant Vulcan Lane and Chancery areas. Queen Street is the main shopping road in the Auckland, so many other fast food places, Starbucks, cinemas/theatre, clothes shops, etc abound.

You probably don’t need a car here, which is a good thing as parking both in the building and the next door car park is extremely expensive (at least $25 a day).

The Metropolis building is opposite Albert Park. This is a lovely green space, although it is an extremely steep walk to get into the park from the Metropolis. [Most things in Auckland involve a steep walk, although there is an escalator up to the level 2 entrance of the Metropolis from the High Street, which saves some leg work].

The front desk team (of the larger hotel) are pleasant and friendly, although the desk itself is generally not manned; the main hallway to the hotel is cavernous, sterile – at least until you get to the elevators and the start of the CNN broadcasts (there are TV screens by the elevators on every level, so there is no chance that you will miss any important news story during your stay).

Overall, I wouldn’t stay here again, even though Auckland unfortunately isn’t known for the quality of its hotels and choice can be limited. The building is feeling its age and the corporate body politics have got in the way of investment to keep it contemporary and up to date.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
8 Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were up on 7th or 8th floor and had a lovely view over the harbour. We couldn't be happier when we first checked in. I wouldn't say the hotel is spotless clean and I question about the daily cleaning but I thought never mind, it is good enough. The hotel is in Central Auckland, as such great for all our business meetings. Little did we fully experience the price you have to pay living in such central location until nightfall. After a long day of business meetings we came back to the hotel trying to unwind and prepare for the next days, and we started to hear the music from all the bars/restaurants nearby. The music seemed to get louder as we went into wee hours of the night and I could feel the pounding of the music from my bed. We were unable to sleep until the bars closed down at about 5am. So after a few nights we checked out early. So no, wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless you are the one who will be partying until 5am.

Room Tip: don't expect to be able to sleep in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is my second Auckland long term review following a lengthy and enjoyable stay at Rendezvous Hotel. I chose to opt for something slightly more spacious, fully featured, and closer to Auckland central, so 12 months later here are my thoughts for all you aspiring travellers....

Metropolis is considered to be the most luxurious accommodation in Auckland, though from my experience it is totally dependent on the choice of room.

The tower is huge, with commanding views across the harbour, though you will not see much of that unless you are on the North side of the building - and above the 24th-25th floor, other than glimpses. From the South/East side is a pleasant view across Albert Park toward the Domain and MtEden from most levels.

The location is perfect, you are right in the heart of the city, and while being perfectly located it is not on a major through road, which is something to be avoided if you can't sleep due to the noise of constant traffic (like me..).
The convenience of the central location is great, though remember it is in a 'vibrant' part of town, even on the higher floors you will notice some nightclub activity after midnight (Nth side) , which is a minor tradeoff for the fantastic position of the hotel ...(really a serviced apartment).

Food etc:
There are a myriad of cafes and eateries to choose from within 2-3 minutes walk from the building, for the lazy types there is a cafe and Italian restaurant on level2 (sort of ground floor)- and an excellent Pizza restaurant... for the more adventurous the laneways coming off Queen St offer many different culinary delights, pubs, and cafes.. it would take months to exhaust the options.

Travel:
Getting about is easy, the ferry station and Britomart (central station) are only 5 - 10 minutes walk, buses to the airport leave from this zone regularly, and there is a selection of car hire places within around a 10 minute walk. There is also cycle hire for $20 a day available within a 3 minute walk (adventure travel), nice for a trip to Devonport (bikes are free to take across on the ferry), or a ride to Mission Bay. There is parking available in the building, though its not cheap, and i believe there is cheap weekend parking in some of the surrounding parking stations ($7 a day??, have not tested that...)

The Queen St shops are only a couple of minutes away, probably too close for the safety of my bank account. Taking the courthouse exit from the building is adjacent to Albert park, with the recently renovated Art gallery around 5 minutes walk, or the domain closer to 15. So location wise, this is really flawless.

The luxury?
Facilities in the building are definitely luxurious. There is good security, with a 24hr concierge. All levels are key card coded, you will need your key to get in and out of the building - and to use the lift. The exercise facilities are great, level 8 has a 25 metre heated swimming pool, wide enough for 2 or 3 to do laps, a spa bath and sauna, and a veranda area (with a nice view of the sky tower) with a second outside spa bath. In a second section is a full gym, with various torture machines, treadmills etc etc. Plenty of opulent finishes in tile and marble.
BTW - In this building there is no escaping from CNN, with each floor having cable tv in the lift zone..

The rooms - a little patchy:
Initially, I stayed in a studio apartment on the 24th floor, with a lovely view of the Sky Tower across the city skyline. I found the room to be quite claustrophobic, though well appointed and nice and bright (see later..) a strange mix of downtrodden furniture and luxury touches, with some unsettling odours thrown in... Weens 'can't put my finger on it' comes to mind :)

The view was great until after lunchtime, when i realised the sun coming across to this side turned the room into a glaring furnace, and opening the window was like putting a/c on max (including a loud whistling effect) - including turning the city noise volume up to 11! Only option was to close the heavy curtains and turn it into a cave.
I should add that this was not a cheap room, and i was definitely unimpressed, so requested an immediate upgrade after day1....not a good start.

My next room was also a studio on the 28th floor, though this was actually two distinct large rooms which can be closed off via sliding doors, with a large veranda, the room easily 50% larger than the first, and with no bad odours or problems with glare - and a majestic view across to Devonport, Rangitoto, Tiritiri and little Barrier Island. For an additional $100 per week this was excellent value. And this is where i have remained for the past 12 months, with no major concerns. The room is serviced once weekly with towels, sheets and a general cleaning etc. It is fully featured, washing machine/dryer, decent sized fridge, microwave and traditional oven/cooktop, TV is a 46" lcd, plus a secondary smaller lcd screen in the bedroom, bed is a very comfortable Kingsize.

One minor downside: The internet connection is particularly slow in the evenings, more like a slow dialup connection than broadband, Skype will struggle with video and forget about watching streamed sport like AFL... and it is premium price! so i am looking at a 3g dongle alternative, offered by 2degrees locally, which should be equivalent to an ADSL2 BB connection in this location - and cheaper than $25 per week charged for the current service.

So, my advice to anybody staying here, ask to check the rooms before committing, definitely do not skimp on the room, the price differential is minor for a huge improvement. There are some very average rooms, while others offer really great value, get the latter and you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: Ensure you are up HIGH, the difference is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrcurlywhirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

we thoroughly enjoyed this modern and well appointed hotel, our apartment had amazing views of the sky tower and it was close to some really nice night life spots of auckland, overall an excellent hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I'd previously stayed in this building through one of the other companies, at the time the world cup was on so there was limited choice. I liked the building, the facilitates in the location so for this visit I thought I'd try this company. This one is the premium offering within the building, it was certainly more expensive than the other on but it did offer more, it was a business trip so the price wasn't too much of a worry for me.

The location of the building is excellent, just a brief walk from the main street of Auckland. There's a countdown close by to get your groceries.

The fitness facilities are great. The gym is old, but has free weights and a power cage, though no smith machine. There are a limited number of machines, but if you're more of a free weights person then you'll like it. There's a few cardio machines, like bikes and treadmills also. There's also a nice lap pool, a spa and a sauna.

The room itself is not huge, but I wouldn't say small. Not sure if you'd call it a one bedroom, or a studio as the bedroom was basically an extension of the lounge room but separated with a sliding door. The room has 2 TVs with some pay channels, a very comfortable bed and quite a sizeable bathroom with separate bath and showers. The only real complaint is the kitchen is TINY, no real storage space or bench space. But you can make do. The room is very quiet, I was next to the lifts but didn't hear anything and was never disturbed.

The things that set this premium offering apart from the last company I booked through are:
24 Hour reception
Daily servicing
Much better quality kitchen items, such as the frypan (an excellent non stick tefal) and a good knife.

The building itself, I can't recommend enough, I certainly will stay there next time I'm in for Auckland. When travelling for business I'd use this company again as they definitely offer hotel-like services. If you're on a budget then you can get cheaper accommodation in the building at the expense of some of the service items.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed for 9 nights. We booked one of the privately owned apartments but was serviced weekly. the location of Metropolis is central and the higher you are the greater the views of Auckland city and the Skyline. The bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom was squeaky clean. The furnishings were comfortable and kitchen was very adequate for long stays. The laundry facilities came in handy. The staff were professional and extremely helpful. We had a carpark space which came with the apartment. Highy recommend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banana2010_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Metro Suites Apartment Hotel
Metro Suites Apartment Hotel
#19 of 108 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis

Property: Metropolis
Address: The Metropolis Apartments 1 Courthouse Lane, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Ascott Auckland Metropolis)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Auckland Central
Ascott Hotel Auckland
Metropolis Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing