We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no longer a hotel but serviced apartments - shocking service”
Review of Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropolis
Reviewed 1 November 2008

we have been putting our guests in this hotel for 5 years and its been great however there are now some changes. ascott have pulled out of running this hotel and its now serviced apartments run by a 3rd party

we arrived at the hotel and no one was on reception, after 5 minutes someone appeared and they lost our reservation. after waiting in the lobby for 20 minutes we didnt see one single person come in or out of the hotel. then the lady sent us out of the hotel to another business around the corner to check in as their hotel bookings are now handled by another company. when we got there 2 people were having lunch behind the counter and couldnt speak english. finally someone appeared and checked us into our room.

then we got to the room and were told that the phones and internet in the rooms would not allow us to make or receive calls.
we had to conduct our hotel business from our cellphone.

the rooms are great so no problem there, thats why the hotel is ranked so high it is a great place however the service is terrible.
the restaurant and bar is no longer open at all so you cant eat or drink in the hotel.

the next day we stood at reception to check out and there was a sign saying back in 15 minutes, we waited then when the staff came back we were told to go to the other business around the corner to check out. once we checked out we came back to get our luggage and decided to check email on our laptop. we were asked if we were using the hotels bandwidth by a security guard.

all in all a very strange experience. i run an entertainment business here in auckland and for years i have put singers, bands, djs, etc in this hotel and have made over 150 bookings here. this will be the last time i put anyone here. imagine the lead singer of a famous band who has just gotten off a long flight being asked to check in around the corner in wait 30 minutes to get into his room.. embarrassing :(

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank samhillnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aucklandpeter, Manager at Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2009

It is VERY important to note. That you did not book your room through Metropolis Residences or Apartments at Metropolis. You stayed with Metro Suites which is a sub standard letting operation within the building, in which one of the owners privately lets her rooms. This operation has nothing what so ever to do with the building managements of Metropolis. I can only apologize on behalf of all other owners of Metropolis Residences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2008

fantastic service, rooms and, the building was magnificent i have 3 teenagers and the facilitys where great! Thankyou Metropolis!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Morgan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. All of the staff made us feel like we were the most important guests to stay there. The girl at the front desk was all smiles.

The room was modern, and very well equipped. It was spotless.

The restaurant food was excellent.

The pool was very nice, and warm.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank somedeadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

The Ascott Metropolis is a beautiful hotel. The staff at reception are very helpful and obliging. We stayed in am executive 1br apartment with amazing views overy Auckland CBD and the harbour. The room is very stylish and comfortable. The bathroom is also very stylish and has a big bath and big shower with a descent shower head. Bathroom products are L'Occitane.

Fully equiped galley kitchen with dishwasher, electric ceramic cooktop, fridge etc.

The only drawbacks were:
1. poor TV reception, particularly the TV in the bedroom - I suspect due to a broken port or cable as even the menu page was fuzzy
2. provision of only decaf coffee and milo. Didnt make a big deal to us because we travelled with our own coffee but if I didn't have that I'd miss my morning coffee.

The hotel is really geared at medium term accomodation eg business types who have moved to NZ and need a base while they search for permenant accomodation. Having said this as overnight travellors they still made us feel very special.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I am in Auckland.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr_leecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

I travel to Auckland regularly and never cease to be impressed with this hotel. Easy to see why it gathers so many travel industry awards. The staff are polite and courteous. Rooms are always spotless and clean. Meals are excellent. You are in the heart of the city, with little laneways of specialty shops and off beat shops.
Overall, this is a brilliant hotel that offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sydneymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

I stayed at The Ascott Metropolis for 2 nights at the end of December and after a 24 hour flight from London it was lovely to be checked in so quickly (no queue) and to find that my 30th floor apartment had sweeping views across Auckland harbour! It was a spotless apartment with King bed, separate sitting area, CD Player, Plasma screen, walk-in shower etc...basically everything you would expect of a 5 star Property. I stayed in 3 separate Auckland hotels on this trip and this was definitely the best. There was a very subdued and calm atmosphere when i was there (maybe the time of year?) and i barely saw another a guest.
The Hotel has a good location right by Albert Park and just off of Queen street; and the harbour area is only a 5 minute walk away or so.
If i was to quibble then i could mention that the pool really is very small and there was no real 'atmosphere' around the place but these are minor points.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank alderneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

The main entrance to the hotel is opposite Albert Park on Courthouse Lane and just around the corner from Queen Street. The main reception area is in a colonial type building which used to be a courthouse! The accomodation is in a high rise building connected to the main building. Auckland harbour is only about a 5 minute walk away.

My apartment had 2 bedrooms with a televison in both. It also had a lounge area and a kitchenette, as well as a small balcony. There was also a washer/dryer. The walls are quite dark and you will probably find it cosy or dark, depending on your own taste of decor.

This hotel has predominately tenants in the building as well as their own hotel pool. There is also a gym which overlooks the park and an indoor swimming pool. There is also a sauna and a jacuzzi.

I was very pleased with my apartment and slept well. I was on the 23rd floor and it was very quiet. I overlooked the park and not High street which has all the bars etc.

Staff were very pleasant but quite young and inexperienced. Every time I asked a question, they disappeared behind teh scenes to ask!

I got a great deal and so was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hemikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0 mi away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Reside...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,975 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis

Address: The Metropolis Apartments 1 Courthouse Lane, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Ascott Auckland Metropolis)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £97 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Auckland Central
Ascott Hotel Auckland
Metropolis Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing