We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accomodations in a very central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropolis
Ranked #46 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodations in a very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

We stayed at the Ascott Metropolis for three nights at the end of our honeymoon trip. We actually booked this hotel very last minute (24-hours before arrival) because we changed our travel plans to include a trip to Auckland. We got a great rate on hotels.com and were extremely pleased with the hotel room, the service, the location, etc. We booked a harbor view suite and it was quite spacious. It was very clean and had all the amenities of home (full kitchen, washer/dryer, living area, etc). And the views were spectacular of the harbor! We had a few minor issues that were all addressed promptly and the front desk staff were always extremely helpful. When we arrived, check in was a breeze and we were immediately greeted at the door by the bellman to bring our bags up to the room, park our car, etc. There's also a nice restaurant in the hotel, as well as a lovely indoor pool, indoor/outdoor hot tubs, sauna, and a very nicely appointed fitness center.

The location is great is you like being in the heart of it all. It's right in the middle of the business district and was a short walk to shopping, restaurants, the waterfront, etc. We walked everywhere and if we left the central part of the city, we could easily catch a bus from closeby and get where we wanted/needed to be.

One caveat to being in this location is that, because it's literally in the heart of the business district, it's also in the heart of the bar/restaurant district and at night, it can be quite loud outside. We were on the 30th floor and could still hear bar noise in our room late at night so if you're on a lower floor, it could be a real annoyance UNLESS you're going to be out until 1 or 2am yourself! If you like to be in the heart of the action, this is the place...if you prefer to go to bed at 10 or 11pm, this location may be a problem because of the outside noise from the bars and restaurants.

Overall, this was a lovely place to end our honeymoon trip.

  • Liked — the location and size of the room were great
  • Disliked — noise at night
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KenandJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    23
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
33
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

Gorgeous two bedroom suite room, with loads of space and fabulous views. The pool and gymnasium are the best I've experienced in New Zealand. Great service. Can't fault it! Also Ascott has a great position - short walks to all attractions - right in the hub.

  • Liked — pool, spa pool and gymnasium
  • Disliked — hard to find entrance with so many one way streets in this area
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank weenie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2007

This hotel is amazing! We stayed here for 3 nights after a 12 hour flight from Hong Kong, and we stunk! The hotel upgraded our room as we were on honeymoon so we were upgraded to a harbour view room. the only reason we are giving this hotel a 4 star and not a 5 star is because its impossible to get any sleep at night as all you can hear is drunks and cars, and we were the the top of the building! great location, great restaurant & breakfast room, great servcie & a brilliant room which is done so nice.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank DeVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2007

We tried to find accomodation from away from the notorious noisy water front of Auckland viaduct basin, (cars race up and down on weekends and pub goers sound like they're not in love with each other after mid night) and finally chose these apartments which are set back in the city .

We stayed with 2 small children and wanted self catering with some style. It seems these apartments are badly in need of refurbishment, particularly the furniture and cabinets which were damaged and stains on the carpets and chairs. I wouldn't normally be bothered about this but at +$400 per night it's a bit strong.

These comments apply to multiple rooms we stayed in as we had to be moved after the first week from rooms adjacent to the local night club district which was far too noisy to rooms overlooking the park at the back which were much quieter.

The bathrooms are nice and well maintained but unfortunately the double beds are really terrible with very soft and spongy mattresses which left me with back pain. After questioning the staff about getting a firmer bed we were provided with a "bed board" plank of wood to insert between base and mattress. Not really 5* solution for these prices !!

The kitchens were mostly well equiped but amazingly enough there are no egg cups or potatoe peelers provided !

With young kids who want boiled eggs for breaky I ask the staff
for the said items where upon someone was duely dispatced to
buy some. On arrival to the door I was asked to sign a "bond" of $60 for 4 egg cups which would be released on safe return.

For an establishment reputed to be one of Aucklands finest I'm rather "gob smacked" to be faced with these kind of details.

On the plus side the staff tried hard to rectify the faults and were polite and courteous. However I don't like being put in the position of being charged a lot of loney for a product that doesn't
match the price asked.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2006

Stayed here for two nights, quality absolutely first class. Room consisted of a bedroom, kitchette and bathroom. Had a full size fridge, washine machine and dishwasher.

Will return when next in NZ.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2006

Stayed for 1 night on a stopover in auckland. Friendly staff, and check in was handled well. Pool area is excellent. I get the impression that the property is not being maintained properly in that there is a certain mouldy smell in the corridors and room. Overall service is good and security is also good.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doggyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2006

We stayed at the Ascott for a total of 4 nights in mid-April (1 night at beginning of trip and 3 at end). We paid $179 for the 1st night and $159 for the 3 the following week for a Studio Executive Residence. Thought these were excellent prices compared to other hotels and the room was very nice.

The room itself is actually 2 rooms plus a small kitchenette area by the hall door. In the kitchen, there is a small stackable washer and dryer (free soap provided), sink, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher drawer, and medium size refrigerator. They also provide dishes and an electric tea kettle. The bathroom is fairly large w/ separate tub and shower. There was only 1 sink but plenty of storage room. They provided nice bath amenities.

The living area is next. It had a dining table w/ 2 chairs, TV in armoire, couch, chair (very uncomfortable – back was too high and no arms), coffee table and lamp table w/ small stereo/CD player. Nice contemporary furnishings. The bedroom is closest to the window/balcony. There are sliding doors to close from the living to bedroom. However, they are only frosted glass not solid, so light shines from the living room onto the bed (if 1 person is trying to sleep while the other reads, etc.). The bedroom was also nicely furnished. Large closets w/ safe and ironing board plus small makeup area w/ ottoman (no mirror). TV in the bedroom too (think there was a CD player in the clock, but don’t remember). Plenty of storage space. The bed was very low to the ground, but very comfy w/ plenty of pillows.

The indoor pool is beautiful. There is a hot tub w/ amazing view of the Sky Tower. We went about 10PM one night and it was really lovely to sit in the hot tub and admire the view. There is a sauna and decent gym too. The access to this area is controlled by your room key card (no need for a separate key). The elevator is also controlled by your room key card.

The breakfast buffet was overpriced at $28 per person. The food was decent, but not enough variety to justify that price. The bar was only open 2 or 3 nights/week and closed at 10:00PM (couldn’t believe that one!). Beautiful marble lobby – really, really beautiful.

The service was hot and cold. When we 1st checked in (at 8AM after a 13hr flight), we were immediately offered our rooms w/ no extra fee. Excellent. I tried to nap around 3 that afternoon so I could be rested for our evening activities, but there was DJ setting up for a party on a nearby roof and he was playing his tunes very, very loudly. I couldn’t sleep even w/ the windows shut and earplugs in! I called the front desk to inquire if they knew anything about it. They said they’d check into it, but in any case, they did not have another room available. We went out that night and came back after midnight. Party was still going on. Called the front desk and they told me that it usually goes on until 2 or 3 in the morning (guess it’s a common problem there). However, they immediately told me that they had another room for me. We packed up very quickly. They sent up a valet to give us the new key (but he didn’t bring a cart so we had to drag our own luggage to the other room). So they get a C for telling me that there was no other room when I called early in the day. But an A for finding one late at night. I would have much preferred switching rooms in the afternoon instead of so late at night after the long flight and long day/night out.

So beware. Some of the rooms face High Street which is noisy. The rooms facing the park are so much quieter. We did have a slightly better harbor view from the 1st room (could still see the harbor area in room #2) but I prefer a decent night sleep over a good view. When we checked out, I told them I had another reservation for the following week. They checked it and assured me that they would put me on the same side of the hotel again so we wouldn’t have the same problem. We had a great room for the 2nd part of our stay. Another A+.

When we checked in the 2nd time, I noticed that several light bulbs were burned out, we were missing some towels and didn’t have a bathrobe. I called housekeeping. An hour later I was still waiting so I called again. They apologized and this time 2 guys came up w/in 15 minutes w/ everything we needed and they replaced the bulbs.

The hotel is well located and w/in walking distance to the Sky Tower and Queen Street. We also walked to the Hertz dealer on Victoria St to pick up (and then return) our rental car. It was maybe 10-15 minute walk. But we were able to check out the area on our way too. We also walked to the Viaduct and Ferry terminal. No major hills (like the Hyatt). I would definitely stay here again despite the mixed level of service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SunnySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Metro Suites Apartment Hotel
Metro Suites Apartment Hotel
#19 of 106 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 106 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#52 of 106 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis

Property: Metropolis
Address: The Metropolis Apartments 1 Courthouse Lane, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Ascott Auckland Metropolis)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolis 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Auckland Central
Ascott Hotel Auckland
Metropolis Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing