We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I stayed here for the first time and was really pleased. My suite was large and airy with a good sized bathroom, a little kitchenette area and a washer/dryer. Although I didn't have much of a view, the price of $167/night was very attractive. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were pleasant and professional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inclinekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

The location good for entertainment & a couple of beers. The room was tidy & facilities good. The 2 balconies with sliding doors were nice.

The service would have been good if I wasn’t misinformed on the location of the room when I phoned through. Asked Mic if room that was reserved was above the noisy bars etc & was told "No, but we have a beautiful view of the harbour. Turned out the view was right but the bars & restaurants were directly below & we could hear people & music booming all night.

Getting to the hotel you really need the directions from the website. Parking at $26 a day was excessive when the rule applies that first in first serve. So don’t arrive late via own transport.

The bathroom a little untidy & needed a touch up & for the $269 a night price tag you would except a better standard.

The lift you needed your card every time to use. Eating we did not do at the hotel but there is so much choice in the surrounding area.

Probably try somewhere else next time as it is not very family friendly & there are many hotels in the viaduct that have similar facilities, pricing & views including options for car parking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJnzNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We loved this small hotel! Great location right on the water overlooking the harbor, close to restaurants and the ferry terminal. Rooms have large windows that open to the breeze with kitchen and even washer and dryer. Wonderful value and great way to start our month long vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margotkenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The hotel is tucked away at the corner of the Viaduct, a great location for the buzzing harbour area, sadly we looked over the road bridge and a car park on the other side, not the harbour.

The first night the TV did not work, this was fixed/replaced by the second night but then the batteries in the remote did not work! It's the attention to detail that makes a great hotel.

The room was a good size and reasonably furnished, quite acceptable. A small kitchen area and dining table etc.

They were rather more stingy with the tea bags than I would expect for a 5-star hotel. There was a range of green tea, herbal teas etc but only 2 of each. I just wanted normal tea and there were only 2 tea bags per double room.

I was greeted by a large pubic hair on the toilet seat when I arrived .... not a great start!

The bed felt like it was made of jelly, very soft and wobbly, not a huge problem, just took a bit of getting used to.

On a positive note, the staff at reception were great; helpful and friendly.

There are lots of great hotels in Auckland and because of this I will probably not return to the Sebel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etoiledusud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My wife and I stayed in a room with a so called city view, we got one that look straight at the road. Make sure you do not get one there as it is noisy from traffic and drunk people! The hotel location is great and the room is clean and tidy. Average hotel have stay in better in the Auckland central.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crashchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Plus: Great location, close to everything, rooms spacious, modern and clean.
Minus: Great location comes with a price and unfortunately for me it was lack of sleep. Hotel sits about the Viaduct so even during the week you have the constant noise of restaurants and bars till at least midnight.
Hotel is smoke free but my room had a strong lingering smell of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights whilst visiting Auckland based on our frequent use of Sebel hotels in Australia. This was our first visit to Auckland and we were blown away by the location of this hotel ,right on the harbour foreshore and surrounded by restaurants, most of which have charge back arrangements with the Sebel.
The room was a fully equiped serviced apartment with excellent facilities which enabled us to prepare our own breakfast each morning. Full room service was however available if required.
The staff provided excellent service whatever the request. The suite we had the first night had some unfortunate mechanical humming which was annoying but after a question to the reception staff our belongings were relocated the following day to another suite whilst we were out sightseeing. We requested that this room have opening windows if possible and this was accommodated.
The room rates for this hotel are very reasonable considering the quality and fantastic location. Apart from the restaurants, proximity to the harbour and marina which is definitel;y worth wandering around the main shopping area of Queen Street is just a few minutes walk. There is also a well stocked convenience store within 50 metres of the hotel.
This hotel is definitely worth high consideration when visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £110 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing