We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location and A1 staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Location and A1 staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel is located in the Marina area of Auckland and you can literally walk out the back of the hotel into the food and entertainment area of the marina or with a 2 minute walk you are in the Harbour area of Auckland. We had an issue with hot water (no ones fault) and the staff went out of their way to help. the Front reception staff and concierge staff were genuinely friendly and helpful and really made an impact on us and we really enjoyed chatting with the guys.

The hotels location though is also one of its small problems as it can be noisy with the bars from the Marina areas. We were there on a Saturday night and the noise went well after midnight, but on the other hand the rooms are large and contain everything you need, the views are fantastic, the staff amazing so whats a bit of noise... Am even planning to come back for a few days soon and really enjoy the food and night life in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB00763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear HB00763,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Sebel Suites Auckland. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and can assist in recommendations and reservations with Restaurants and eateries within the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    469
    117
    49
    23
See reviews for
90
565
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Slightly awkward arrival with no dedicated driveway, making it a bit hard to navigate traffic and luggage. However, friendly staff and well appointed room. I loved having a washing machine, and the detergent was replaced after each service.
Great location, everything was as expected.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Spinner S,
Thank you for your positive feedback and appreciate the challenges with the limited parking outside the immediate hotel entrance. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Kuiti
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sebel Suites back in February for a concert at the Vectra Arena.
We really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were lovely and looked out over the Viaduct Basin.
Not having a nav man or similar we drove past it a couple of times expecting to see the sign out side in large letters. I rang and got very good directions from the desk staff. I missed the parking opening which was my fault as I had been very busy leading up to the weekend and not read the instructions. Once again the staff were very helpful and calmed down this panicked guest. They were really very lovely and helpful. It was a fantastic people watching spot for later on when we got back from the concert but did not feel like being amongst the hub.(we are a little older)
I thought maybe we would have had a disturbed night with the noise from bars etc but we both had the best sleep we had had for ages. Would stay again :-).

Room Tip: A good view of the basin and handy to many restaurants and bars or just a quite drink on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Gayel P,
We appreciate receiving your feedback and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the great location. We will certainly share your feedback in relation to your service comments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My partner and I stayed in this great hotel as part of a 'get-away' weekend without the kids. From the time of check in, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There was ample parking onsite with lifts direct the rooms, spotliss, well equipped rooms and the views! Amazing views of the Viaduct Harbour and right in the thick of Auckland finest restaurants and bars (although I was content to lazily relax on the balcony and watch the boats and people coming and going for sometime). I am very happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room on the upper floors to avoid bar noise on weekend nights. Definitely book a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Jenny P,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent enjoyable stay with us. We are pleased to hear you loved the location and your experience was a seamless one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed three nights in a Marina view one bedroom suite, and found everything to our satisfaction. We loved the location, with good restaurants all around, and the view is lovely, especially at night. All the staff were very helpful and were always willing to do that little bit extra that makes all the difference. Good washing and drying facilities in the suite too, plus a kitchenette. To be picky, some of the furniture is getting a bit old, but this is a small point and we will definitely stay here next time. Tip: the larger suites have a balcony you can sit on and I think this would be worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Book a larger suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear WineLover399,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided to you. For your future reference, the One Bedroom Marina Deluxe Suites have the larger balconies with small table and chairs, very enjoyable. Thank you for commenting on the furniture, we are currently looking at alternative options for this and hope to complete an upgrade within the next 12 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I've stayed at the Sebel several times. You cannot ask for a better location if your here on either business or pleasure. The hotel is very nice and so convenient to the harbor and lots of restaurants. The Japanese place across the street is very good if you like sushi. The staff here always goes above and beyond and are extremely helpful.

Room Tip: You may think that you want a harbor view, but that can be noisy over the weekend. The other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear J348,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and love receiving positive feedback about our team members and the service they provide, we will ensure this is passed on. Industry Zen (Japanese Restaurant) is certainly a favourite and a great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed two nights at the Sebel Suites, our second Sebel property with the other one being in Launceston, Tasmania in March. Both stays were excellent with comfortable beds, clean and spacious bathrooms and thoughtful and courteous staff. Centrally located on the harbour, we were accessible to most things within a short walk including a myriad of restaurants and bars/lounges.

Room Tip: You may like a harbour view but those rooms are on the promenade where all the bars are located and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Gerry D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Sebel Suites Auckland. We appreciate the positive feedback and will certainly share this with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing