We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite inner city overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

If I could give a 3 and a half star - I would...We had a function to attend in the city so treated ourselves to an overnight stay as well. I have been wanting to stay here for years and was able to secure an acceptable price for a Marina view suite. I thought it was well laid out. Some reviewers commended on noise and it was a Friday night and noise was not an issue. We thought checkout was slow...I was honest and told them I had used plunger coffee - and the time and money spent (I don't know how many pieces of paper had to be printed) on that very slow transaction would be worth complimentary coffee in my view. If small town motels can do the plunger complimentary - I think inner city hotels should consider that. My husband left his jacket in the room and days later when we worked out where he had left it - it was with the hotel - but I could't understand why they didm"t contact us because they had our details. Some - small things that would make a difference. If the jacket; slow checkout and costly coffee were"t there - definitely a 4 star! No more because this is pretty much a no service hotel. Great rooms, great location (if you want to be waterfront). We will return.

Room Tip: Why stay at the Sebel and not be Marina view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a fantastic hotel. This place offers it all. Friendly staff, fantastic view of the viaduct and the location is great. Walking distance to plenty of bars and restaurants. The room was very spacious, clean and quiet. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Roxy1932,
Thank you for sharing your experience of The Sebel Suites Auckland. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and views the hotel has to offer and we thank you in advance for your recommednations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed three nights at the Sebel because I had events to attend in the Viaduct. The hotel is brilliantly positioned, though I didn't score a room with a view. However, as I got the booking at a very good price, I couldn't complain. You get a suite for the price of the room and as I object to paying $25 for breakfast, having a fridge, microwave, hot plate, cutlery etc was perfect because I was able to buy yoghurt, bread etc and enjoy breakfast while reading the paper. Bed was very comfortable, and I suppose my only grumble was the internet pricing (but then all the American chains charge even more). Staff very professional and helpful, and there are plenty of restaurants and bars around the Viaduct area.

Room Tip: book a harbour view - but it will cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear George H,
Thank you for feedback, we appreciate receiving a positive response to our guest experience. The suites certainly lend themselves to self catering so we are pleased to hear you enjoyed these features.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Great place to stay to be in the middle of it all in the Viaduct. Friendly and helpful staff. Loved sitting on the balcony having a glass of wine as the sun went down. Great restaurants near by. Very clean , tidy and comfortable

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MataKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear MataKazza,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made perfect use of the balcony to watch the sun set and no doubt relax. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel is located in the Marina area of Auckland and you can literally walk out the back of the hotel into the food and entertainment area of the marina or with a 2 minute walk you are in the Harbour area of Auckland. We had an issue with hot water (no ones fault) and the staff went out of their way to help. the Front reception staff and concierge staff were genuinely friendly and helpful and really made an impact on us and we really enjoyed chatting with the guys.

The hotels location though is also one of its small problems as it can be noisy with the bars from the Marina areas. We were there on a Saturday night and the noise went well after midnight, but on the other hand the rooms are large and contain everything you need, the views are fantastic, the staff amazing so whats a bit of noise... Am even planning to come back for a few days soon and really enjoy the food and night life in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB00763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear HB00763,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Sebel Suites Auckland. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and can assist in recommendations and reservations with Restaurants and eateries within the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Slightly awkward arrival with no dedicated driveway, making it a bit hard to navigate traffic and luggage. However, friendly staff and well appointed room. I loved having a washing machine, and the detergent was replaced after each service.
Great location, everything was as expected.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Spinner S,
Thank you for your positive feedback and appreciate the challenges with the limited parking outside the immediate hotel entrance. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sebel Suites back in February for a concert at the Vectra Arena.
We really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were lovely and looked out over the Viaduct Basin.
Not having a nav man or similar we drove past it a couple of times expecting to see the sign out side in large letters. I rang and got very good directions from the desk staff. I missed the parking opening which was my fault as I had been very busy leading up to the weekend and not read the instructions. Once again the staff were very helpful and calmed down this panicked guest. They were really very lovely and helpful. It was a fantastic people watching spot for later on when we got back from the concert but did not feel like being amongst the hub.(we are a little older)
I thought maybe we would have had a disturbed night with the noise from bars etc but we both had the best sleep we had had for ages. Would stay again :-).

Room Tip: A good view of the basin and handy to many restaurants and bars or just a quite drink on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Gayel P,
We appreciate receiving your feedback and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the great location. We will certainly share your feedback in relation to your service comments with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#16 of 65 in Auckland Central
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing