We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
463
550
141
58
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
550
141
58
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviaduct harbourbars and restaurantsgreat locationmarina view suitewasher and dryerstudio suitecar parkmaritime museumaccor memberaccor hotelsyour doorstepsmall balconyfloor roomgood sizedining tableferry buildingseparate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

1. Location excellent
2. Parking was 26$ per night
3. Wifi is not free

One way streets make finding hotel a challenge. We arrived early around 1030 am and they gave us a early check in. Very nice. Once checked in you can walk to downtown easy or Harbor.. The Room was small but nice.. Overall the location makes this a good stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank insearchofsolitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear insearchofsolitude

Thank you for your feedback relating to The Sebel Auckland. We are pleased to have been able to accommodate your early arrival and that overall you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and reasonable rate. Overall, we're very happy with our suite. We agree with most of the positive comments mentioned by other guests. We did not have any noise problem because our suite faced the side / back street. The location is excellent and we walked to lots of places during our stay. The amenities in the room were good. We particularly appreciated the washer and dryer.

The only complaint we had was the cost of internet. We didn't purchase it because there're lots of cafe that offer free wi-fi. As we arrived very early in the morning, we went to the hotel coffee shop (next to the hotel lobby) for breakfast while waiting for our suite. The coffee shop gave us their pass code to access their free wi-fi. We were pleasantly surprised that we're still able to connect to their free wi-fi over the following 2 days whenever we're close by (e.g., outside the lobby, the coffee shop).

Room Tip: I'd suggest a room facing the back street as the rooms facing the water could be very noisy as others have mentioned.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztravellerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear biztravellerBC

Thank you for your feedback relating to your stay at The Sebel Auckland. We are delighted & pleased to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make the most of what the suite offers as well as our fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Auckland. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We picked this hotel for the location and because Accor hotels have been fantastic in the past. Disappointing how we were not told about the $450nzd hotel bond (which cost more than our 4 night stay) and is fairly noisy at night. as for location, it was a short walk to Queen street, sky tower and the harbour was right behind us, which was great. The staff seemed to care more about the business customers than the couples. They were helpful when we needed to organise taxis etc. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acallegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear acallegari

Thank you for your comments relating to your stay at The Sebel Auckland. Please accept my apologies if you felt we did not live up to expectations. I can assure you the team and I take great pride and care in looking after all our guests. I acknowledge and accept we should have made you aware of the credit card authorisation. We do hope you will choose to stay again at The Sebel Auckland. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We booked a studio room. It's quite spacious. Our room faced a small street (right across from tepid bath) so we didn't have any problem with noise and privacy. The room comes with a queen bed, kitchennete, complete with dishwasher, microwave, stove, oven, utensils, etc. There's washer and dryer inside the unit. Central and quite air conditioning unit. Closet has a good amount of hangers. A safe deposit box inside the closet. Shower area is separate from a bath tub.

The only complaint I have is the room amenities such as coffee and tea. They are generic kinds and they taste pretty bad. As a matter of fact I have never had a coffee and tea that bad before. Good thing I brought some instant coffee and tea bags which I originally planned to have for my returned fligh to the States. I went to the grocery to buy some more instant coffee afterward. We're there for 5 nights.

TV has very limited channels and internet is $25 for 24 hour and is limited to one device. If you want to connect your phone or another tablet or laptop, you will have to pay another $25. You can pay $5 or $10 (not completely sure) for 15 minutes or an hour.... some ridiculous amount. So, we chose to get the 24 hour one. Connection is quite fast but it's not cheap.

Location is close to the viaduct as other travellers already mentioned on their reviews. There's a sushi place right by the entrance to the lobby which is pretty good and not that expensive.

Other than bad quality of room amenities, the Sebel is a pretty nice hotel overall.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room facing the viaduct. There are so many restaurants and bar right below your unit and on weekends they could be really noisy. Also, bring your own coffee, tea, and shampoo.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear World Passport

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at The Sebel Auckland. Please accept my apologies you felt the tea & coffee amenities were not too your liking. In regards to the internet, we are currently looking at potential alternatives with our internet providers. We are pleased your enjoyed the hotel & its location overall. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews