We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good quality, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I am a regular traveller to Auckland for work and I always try to stay at the Sebel. The rooms are larges, beds comfy and every room has a full kitchen and laundry. The staff are also helpful and accommodating. The only downside is there is no gym - you can use the pool/gym across the street however (and have the fee charged back to your room). Would highly recommend for business travellers and those staying in Auckland for more than a couple of days - you can save alot on expenses by being able to cook in your own room.

Room Tip: Request to be on Level 2 or higher - Level one is right above the carpark and you can get carpark/st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Catherine d

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sebel Auckland as your preferred hotel of choice. I am pleased to hear the team are both helpful & accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back to your 'home away from home'. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    482
    120
    53
    23
See reviews for
94
582
68
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

From the moment we walked in, the staff were very courteous, and seemed committed to giving us an outstanding stay. We booked a city view studio room, and were given the option to upgrade to a marina view for extra $. We declined, and were given a corner room on the top floor, with great city views in two directions. The room was first-rate - large, bright and airy, with comfortable seating and a comfortable bed. We had a well equipped kitchenette, including a small fridge, stove top, oven, and dishwasher. There was also a washer and dryer, which came in very handy after having been on the road for several days. The bathroom was very spacious, with a deep soaking tub and a separate tiled shower. Location is ideal - walk out the back door onto the Viaduct Harbour, with tons of restaurants, shops, museums, and a chance to gawk at all of the sleek and fancy yachts berthed there. We walked to all of the major attractions in the CBD. As previously mentioned, all of the staff were very helpful with information on the city, as well as anticipating our needs and graciously offering solutions before we even asked. For example, the fridge was full of mini-bar items, and left us no room to store our perishables. The manager on duty immediately had housekeeping empty the fridge for us (after ascertaining that we would not need the mini-bar contents). We asked if we could store our luggage after check-out, so that we could go sailing on one of the America's Cup yachts. He did us one better, and gave us an extra 4 hours late check out, so that we could refresh ourselves after the sail. For all these reasons, we would definitely come back to the Sebel Suites, and unconditionally recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailor908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear sailor908

Thank you for your very detailed feedback in regards to your stay at The Sebel Suites Auckland. I am delighted to hear we were able to accommodate your needs with our service, location and all that the suite offers. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

To start with the positive:
The room was spacious and clean and well equipped. Plus the location on the harbor is very nice to go out for dinner or a drink.

On the downside:
The staff at the front desk was unfriendly, rude and not welcoming at all. Another thing is that you can't open window for fresh air in the room. If you neighbor decides to cook smelly food you have to live with it. There is not much you can do about it.

The noise of the surrounding night clubs seriously hampers your sleeping experience. So if you are looking for a quiet place to sleep, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear MnMadventures

Thank you for your most recent feedback regarding your stay at The Sebel Auckland. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed both the suite & our fantastic location however equally disappointed to hear that you felt the staff at the front desk were rude. If I may request further information to be sent to me in this regard on H8759-OM@accor.com, perhaps this is something we could discuss further? Thank you again, Kind regards. Lee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel that I was lucky enough to spend a night at for business. Luxurious room, friendly, helpful staff. Walking distance to so many locations downtown. Location is surrounded by busy roads but no noise whatsoever and very easy to sleep here.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. All well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Linda H

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Sebel Auckland. We are delighed you found the staff both friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after Christmas. Stayed in a Studio room - really nice room, great bathroom, and fantastic view of the city. Location was fantastic - walked to everything. Parking was a little pricey but that's to be expected in this area. Would be great if there was in room Wi-Fi to avoid data roaming. Check in took a while, and we received very vague responses from the front desk attendant, and called a couple of times to ask for information, and promises of 'we'll call you back' never happened. Roomwise, great!

Room Tip: Leave the car behind, or park at a nearby parking lot if you're not going to be using the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Todd_82

Thank you for your most recent feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our studio suites. Please accept my sincere apologies in that we may have appeared vague and did not follow up in a timely manner, I can assure you this is/was not the intention. I am pleased you found the location very handy and fantastic. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked a one bedroom marina view suite for 5 nights. View was lovely, and suite overall clean. Lovely big bathroom, although bath is on small side. However, size of apartment was disappointing - the lounge small and narrow and connects to kitchen. Also bathroom cupboards not recently wiped down (toothpaste marks on them) and mirror frame paint had come off. Also, a small thing - no shower cap! Wood paneling quite old now too. No wifi, unless you you ask for staff to install router. Wired internet is available but this is very expensive, so best to use your 3G on your phone or Ipad. Apartment is ideally located for the Viaduct, Auckland CBD and shops so would stay there again, but suggest some changes to bring apartments into 21st century.

Room Tip: City view one bedroom rooms have more room or possibly better layout than the marina view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear M M

Thank you for your detailed feedback in relation to The Sebel Auckland. Internet is certainly something I agree with and we are looking at some potential solutions with our providers to provide a better internet service to our guests. Please accept my personal apologies as there appears to have been some areas that required attention, for example-the bathroom cupboards not being wiped down. We are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your return. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing