We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bad start but it improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A bad start but it improved”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our agent had requested a high level room overlooking the harbour - on arrival we were assigned a low level room overlooking a brick wall. After some insistence by us we got what we wanted and had booked in the first place and the staff attitude improved considerably.
The rooms were excellent, bedroom, lounge, kitchenette, office, en suite etc and very spacious. Good laundry facilities too
Located on the harbour, lovely outlook, very busy area as you are adjacent to all the bars and restaurants.
Overall a good stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear AScottyP,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs. We receive many requests from agents for upgrades and while we try to accommodate as much as possible it is often subject to availability. Our Marina view rooms are very popular and we often advise our guests to book early so we can allocate accordingly. It is great to hear that the rest of your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    488
    122
    53
    24
See reviews for
96
587
68
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a Marina Deluxe View Suite and could not sleep at all on both nights due to the reverberating night club and bar music and some kind of machinery noise in the hotel that went through til 4.00am. The deluxe marina view suite was on level 1 opening onto a large filthy balcony above the restaurant bar below. We could not open the doors. The decor, paint and fittings are quite tired. Overall hugely disappointed considering what we paid. If you book here, insist on a room well above level 1.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear MikeGalina,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip advisor. It is important that we receive feedback from our guests so we can follow up and take appropriate action. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to sleep during your stay. While we are in the heart of the entertainment precinct and it is expected their is some noise your comments assist us with local authorities to help us manage local entertainment venues to manage their noise. We will continue to work towards managing similar concerns as this obviously impacts our guests. With regards to the balcony this is something I will follow up with my team to address.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

First the positives: The rooms are located right on the Marina and are adjacent to many restaurants and bars. Our room was a good size and well appointed. There was access via a lift to the underground car park.The negatives: No wifi in the room. The option is a modem and over $5 per quarter hour. Hardly what you would expect at the prices charged for the rooms. You would need to specify a marina view room otherwise you may be looking at a car park. The car park is $26 per day. Complimentary newspaper was offered but never arrived and first request for it got a disinterested response- did not ask again. There is no fitness centre within the building. Was left with the impression that if you have a view of the marina you should be grateful and not expect anything else. Would not go back. Auckland has a big harbour and there are no doubt plenty of places to stay with water views.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Marina view on higher floors, otherwise consider an alternative location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchaelandJo477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear MIchaelandJo477,

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment of your recent stay at the hotel. It is important to receive feedback so we can make changes to improve our guest experience. With regards to WIFI we are currently working with our suppliers to improve the quality of of our internet service. We have recently offered complimentary WIFI in our foyer until we have upgraded our current system. With regards to gym facilities we are fortunate to have a state of the art gym across the road from the hotel. While there is a small fee the quality of the facilities is an advantage.

Once again I am sorry for not meeting your expectations and thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice in January before and after out flight to the Cook Islands.

We're booked into a one bed suite overlooking the harbour.

The first stay we got a free upgrade to room 114 which has the largest balcony overlooking the boats and restaurants. We were impressed.

The second visit, staff very kindly let up have our room from 7am (early flight back). We were also allowed a late check out which we had kept extending.

Both suites self contained apartments providing excellent kitchen facilities, washing machine and dryer. Comfortable bed. Large bathroom.

We were very well looked after by Savio at reception who couldn't do enough for us. Excellent service (and we had recently stayed at Raffles Hotel, Singapore so high standards!).

Great location and plenty of places to choose to eat. Would we more than happy to stay here again if we should be so lucky to return to Auckland.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaH105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear VictoriaH105

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your 2 previous stays at the Sebel Suites Auckland. We are naturally delighted to be put in the same conversation with the likes of a famous hotel such as Raffles in Singapore. Thank you as well for your personal mention on one of our team members, this is very pleasing to hear and will certainly let him know. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Great location in the viaduct. Very well priced, super clean and modern. Surprisingly quiet with no noise from a noisy Saturday night. Only gripe ,meaning not a 5 star is the outrageous Internet prices!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Swannynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Richard S

Thank you for your feedback relating to the Sebel Suites Auckland. The internet is certainly something we are considering with our internet providers to offer a better and more competitive price offering to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
249 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here in two years. When we told the person who checked us in it was a return visit we were upgraded to a larger room. The location is great with quick and easy access to bars and restaurants. You can eat at a number of local restaurants and charge it to your room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear SandraSSTAndrews

We are pleased you chose to return to The Sebel Auckland and that at the time we were able to upgrade you. Thank you again. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit as we stayed here 6 years ago. This time we upgraded to a Marina view suite with full balcony. The view of the marina is lovely and we could sit out on the balcony with a glass of wine enjoying the view. There are restaurants and bars within yards of the suites. The main shopping area is a short walk away. What really made the stay special was the staff. The airline lost our luggage and they went out of their way to help us. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Thank you guys!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear RosinaK

Thank you for your return visit and for choosing to stay at The Sebel Suites Auckland. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our staff, this is certainly something fantastic and our service is what we are most proud of. I am pleased to hear we were able to assist with your lost luggage. We look forward to your return trip with us. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing