We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the thick of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Right in the thick of it”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Long time Accor stayer..first time at the Sebel Auckland...loved it! Walk out the side door straight into the Viaduct..Between there and the Wynyard Quarter restaurants & bars it made over-indulging sooo easy.
Chose the one-bed suite which was spacious and well appointed. We will definately stay here again. Basement car-parking was convienient but if staying around the city next time I won't get a rental car.

Room Tip: Although the water-view rooms seem like a good idea, they are directly over a noisy nightlife precin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workineverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    488
    122
    53
    24
See reviews for
96
588
68
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We rented two delux apartments for a family get together. The rooms were great. Clean and comfortable with lovely views over the harbour. We loved having the wharf and all it's attractions on our doorstep. The range of restaurants was excellent and the wharf so close was very convenient for day trips. The only downside was the music from a restaurant below our room, but once the curtains were drawn it wasn't too loud.

Room Tip: The marine delux one bedroom suite is great on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night. Our marina view room was obscured by the corner of the building. The sports bar directly below the hotel does not shut so there was constant shouting from the people watching various sports all night. The hotel and especially the carpark were difficult to find from the airport. The staff were unhelpful and when we enquired about staying another night in the same room to save packing and moving we were quoted a price double what we had paid the first night even though there website was much cheaper. The second TV in the bedroom failed to work consistently There are plenty more hotels in the area to stay at!

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantaray557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear mantaray557,

Thank you for your recent feedback. Unfortunately due to our location we do experience crowd noise so it is often difficult to control from time to time. With regards to extending on the same accommodation rate, due to the hotels level of bookings, accommodation rates do change from day to day. Your feedback has been passed onto my team to assist in how we can improve our communication.

Thank you once again for providing the hotel with the opportunity to respond.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This property is exactly as it looks on the www site. Great spot, on the water, convenient to everything, beautiful views.We were in Auckland for 5 nights for a conference and stayed in a Marina View Suite. Very pleasant staff.

The only problem is that live music is played at a restaurant very close, every night from 9.30.
This continues to 12.00 during the week and was still going at 3.30am on Sunday morning.
Perhaps I am more sensitive to this than most but it took the shine off the stay for me. There are good restaurants everywhere, try a little further afield than the four attached to the hotel which are adequate if not brilliant. Auckland is loaded with great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked a "Marina Deluxe View 1 Bedroom Suite" and I suggest you do the same - two balconies (one off the bedroom), higher up, plenty of space, bath (although it's a bit on the short side), kitchen, DVD and CD player, basically an apartment in a hotel. Plus the view of course. Worth the extra to stay in this room rather than a lesser one without the double balcony or without view etc.

Not being a techo savvy person I struggled to work out how to get the DVD player coming through the TV and sound. There's a "programme" button on the edge of the TV which sorts out the picture. Then to get the sound I had to turn on the CD/Receiver unit and tap Source until it went to 'Tape-1' and bingo there was the sound.

No guest compendium to cover that info - there's a brief thing via the TV system but it doesn't address the DVD player aspect. As an aside, the CD player was skipping but that was circumvented by playing audio CD in the DVD player.

Good staff at the front desk.

It can be a noisy area esp. Fri & Sat nights and I booked knowing that would be the case. Wasn't actually as bad as I expected, mostly it was music coming through but not really loud, and only a background hum of people sound. We were both tired enough that sleep wasn't an issue.

I booked well ahead and got a good promotional rate which is why I'm giving it 5 out of 5 despite the hassles working out how to use the DVD player (which did take me some time and a call to the reception desk).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice in a 3 week period. On the return trip we were upgraded to a bigger room with a balcony and marina view. It was superb. When we had an issue with our room we were moved. All we had to do was leave our luggage in our old room and when we came back from our day out everything (including our food in the fridge) had been moved to the new room.

We forgot some bathroom items but the cleaning staff had found them and left them at the front desk.

We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff, especially Dennis for helping us with the room.

There is noise through from the local clubs at night, something that the Sebel Suites can't be blamed for, but I am surprised that the decibel levels are permitted to get that high near a hotel.

Overall the location in the Viaduct is superb with loads of restaurants near the hotel and Queen Street a 5 min walk away.

We will return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RedDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Glad we picked this hotel for its location, cleanliness and friendly staff. Plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. If you love seafood you must try Harbourside. The staff were very accommodating in providing us a late check-out and room upgrade.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the road and we had no issues with road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing