We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable weekend staying here in February. A number of the earlier posts had mentioned the noise in the evening coming up from the Viaduct harbour being an area of bars and restaurants. I have to say that I like quiet rooms when I am sleeping and I did not find the room we had too noisy. The doors and windows are I think double glazed so that cuts out a lot of the exterior noise when they are shut. In addition we like feeling like part of where we are staying so if you like looking out at the vibrancy of a city within reason when you maybe have to put up with a little noise. The room we had was a one bedroom with a kitchen. We made good use of the kitchen and it was a bonus that the Queen Street New World supermarket is not that far awa - maybe 10 minutes walk - so we called in there several times to get food for meals/breakfast. We caught the bus to a few places too and the buses/train station were also only about 10 -15 min walk away. The airport shuttle picked us up outside so no need to pay for a taxi to the airport. We had a nice balcony and view over the harbour and the restaurants were very close. The only negative would be that maybe the gravel roof area that we also looked out on could be cleared of cigarette butts every now and then. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jochnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Jocknz,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor. We are spoiled for choice when it comes to location with so much surrounding the hotel.

I will pass your comments onto the building manager of the adjacent building as the area you are referring to is a residential apartment.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. Very convenient to almost everything in the business district. The room setup was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Kitchen was very nice for a long term stay or just some easy snacking if you are not in the mood to go out. The hotel is right at the Viaduct so there are plenty of restaurants and entertainment available within less than a minute walk. The place is lively so there is some noise from the bars and music from around 930PM, but it was well worth putting up with that for the convenience and the views -- just bring some headphones if noise is a problem for you.

Room Tip: Pay the extra bit for a marina/water view -- it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailon888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi sailon888,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sebel and we appreciate your feedback on the hotel and location. The Viaduct is such a vibrant entertainment precinct which gives our guests the many options of bars and restaurants.

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

good for business.space, kitchen and balcony

not overally impressed - but met basic needs.

late night food is solely frozen meals- if flying in late, id advise eating before, the meals were horrible.

wifi is $25 a day! free in lobby (and if youre on level one i found)

Room Tip: level one - can still reach wifi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Emily B,

Thank you for providing the hotel with feedback and giving us the opportunity to respond. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. With regards to over night meals we do offer Wishbone products to our guests as all our rooms have cooking facilities. These are delivered fresh so I will followup with our team.

Once again thank you giving us the opportunity to respond.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An ideal place to stay in Auckland, surrounded by restaurants right on your doorstep, and close to the ferry terminal to catch a boat to Waiheke Island, Devonport, or to board a cruise ship.
The studio was spacious, one bedroom, kitchen area with fridge, dining table and chairs and for us the washing machine and tumble drier were invaluable as we were going on a cruise a few days after, and were able to freshen up our clothes and start from scratch with clean stuff!!!! Would definitely recommend this venue for a few days stopover :)

Room Tip: Good variety of room types- studios and larger suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agapanthus137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Agapanthus137,

Totality agree, Amazing Auckland.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Long time Accor stayer..first time at the Sebel Auckland...loved it! Walk out the side door straight into the Viaduct..Between there and the Wynyard Quarter restaurants & bars it made over-indulging sooo easy.
Chose the one-bed suite which was spacious and well appointed. We will definately stay here again. Basement car-parking was convienient but if staying around the city next time I won't get a rental car.

Room Tip: Although the water-view rooms seem like a good idea, they are directly over a noisy nightlife precin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workineverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We rented two delux apartments for a family get together. The rooms were great. Clean and comfortable with lovely views over the harbour. We loved having the wharf and all it's attractions on our doorstep. The range of restaurants was excellent and the wharf so close was very convenient for day trips. The only downside was the music from a restaurant below our room, but once the curtains were drawn it wasn't too loud.

Room Tip: The marine delux one bedroom suite is great on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night. Our marina view room was obscured by the corner of the building. The sports bar directly below the hotel does not shut so there was constant shouting from the people watching various sports all night. The hotel and especially the carpark were difficult to find from the airport. The staff were unhelpful and when we enquired about staying another night in the same room to save packing and moving we were quoted a price double what we had paid the first night even though there website was much cheaper. The second TV in the bedroom failed to work consistently There are plenty more hotels in the area to stay at!

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mantaray557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear mantaray557,

Thank you for your recent feedback. Unfortunately due to our location we do experience crowd noise so it is often difficult to control from time to time. With regards to extending on the same accommodation rate, due to the hotels level of bookings, accommodation rates do change from day to day. Your feedback has been passed onto my team to assist in how we can improve our communication.

Thank you once again for providing the hotel with the opportunity to respond.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing