We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We paid approx $350 dollars per night for a treat for my old mum and my sister and I for four nights. The location is excellent, close to everything and with a balcony overlooking the boats was great for mum. But the rooms were tired, broken tiles in the kitchen floor, the kitchen bench coming away from the wall and gunked up with some filler stuff, the gold painted mirror in the bathroom had all the paint peeling and flaked off. The shower had no pressure untill in the end we couldnt wash our hair, when you turned the shower head to face up, nothing came out! They did fix it when asked and gave us one half price day and the manager was very nice. Also, as there was three of us, there was only two of everything in the kitchen, including cutlery, so even if there was two of you it would still be a nuisance. If it wasnt for the location you could get way better for a lot cheaper.

Room Tip: Harbour view is great, but you pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jentepuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesh N, Operations Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Jentepuke

We appreciate you providing feedback with regard to your recent stay. I do apologies for your experience with the maintenance issues you had experienced, We do have a maintenance programme in place and the issues raised are on our schedule and currently being looked into. Your feedback will be shared with the team to ensure that we make improvements in the areas of concern.
Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards
Kesh Nand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    469
    117
    49
    23
See reviews for
90
565
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a 24 hour stop over at this hotel. It was approx 30 mins from the airport extremely comfortable and some amazing little restaurants and bars just outside the door on the marina side. Well worth it for a short stop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesh N, Opeartions Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mitmus

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. Its a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kesh Nand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family and I spent last weekend at the Sebel on the Viaduct in Auckland. The rooms are spacious with kitchen facilities, a roomy bathroom and very comfortable bed. The location is so handy to all amenities in the area and we found the drive to the North Shore easy to navigate. Value for money I would say it is right up there. The staff were courteous and helpful to our needs and the hotel exceptionally clean with brochures on local attractions plentiful. We had dinner in an Italian restaurant only seconds away from the hotel so all in all I would thoroughly recommend the Sebel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbour view are the most sought after and the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesh N, Operations Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Phillipa L

We appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at The Sebel Auckland. Its such a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay. The location of the hotel speaks for itself complimented with service and facilities.

We would love to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kesh Nand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very well appointed hotel. It was quiet despite being on a bust street. Comfort was great as well. The apartment had all you needed to eat in or if you chose out at one of the many restaurants just out the door. I would stay again now that I have discovered it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesh N, Operations Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Chris I

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Its great to hear that you had a great stay. You are spoilt for choices when it comes to dinning out as the best restaurants in the Viaduct are at the hotels doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Sebel Auckland in near future.

Kind regards
Kesh Nand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Sebel is a great place to stay, right in the viaduct, handy to great restaurants (check out Factory Zen over road for amazing Japanese), modern and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony overlooking the viaduct
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandCas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesh N, Operations Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi SteveandCas2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Sebel. I must agree with you that with its location in the vibrant Viaduct Harbour surrounded by on of the best restaurants, it is very convenient and comfortable.
Thank you once again for taking the time out to provide the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in near future.

Kind regards
Kesh Nand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room 118 I stayed in was clean tidy and large, but I didn't need disabled toilet and had no view and a ugly balcony.

My collegue stayed in 111, this was a very nice room, with good view of the viaduct.

The hotel should also invest in in room wifi, the days of connecting via a cable are dead, surely

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesh N, Operations Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Mat C

We appreciate you taking the time out to provide feedback. Some of the rooms do have accessible features and I do apologise if one of these were allocated to you. Work is currently in progress to ensure we have an effiecient wireless internet service available in the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Kesh Nand
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing