We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find - when we finally found it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a find - when we finally found it!”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Make sure you have a good map or functioning GPS when looking for this hotel. It is easy to find once you know how to get there, but if you don't, you can spend a good deal of time searching - but it seriously is worth looking for.

We loved our little apartment overlooking the marina, and thoroughly enjoyed comfortable furnishings, a well-equipped kitchenette and a luxurious bathroom - in addition to a very comfortable bed, of course. Staff were more than courteous, thoroughly professional and helpful, as well. The hotel is within easy walking distance to everywhere, although you might not want to go too far. The hotel itself has no restaurant, but there are plenty in the marina area, and they are excellent! There is also plenty of nightlife, and you could possibly have a problem with noise from the restaurants below during the weekend. If it wouldn't bother you, this would be an excellent choice of place to stay. We could not have wished for a better place to spend the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    501
    124
    55
    24
See reviews for
97
596
73
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed from 25 - 29 July and was pleasantly surprised by the Sebel Suites. It is situated in a excellent location - the views, the restaurants & it is very close to all tour departures & the tourist information centre. It is a 5-10 min walk to Queens street and all the other attractions such as the Sky Tower.

We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and helpful and would definitely recommend it to all.

We were a bit concerned about some previous posts about the noise levels - we were allocated a room on the 5th floor so the noise (if there was any) did not disturb us.

We loved the Wild Fire restaurant - a Brazilian BBQ restaurant situated at the Princess Wharf, Quay Street. A amazing dining experience - go hungry - very hungry!

We also enjoyed Monsoon Poon situated on Corner of Custom Street West
and Lower Hobson Street. They serve exotic flavours of India, South China, Vietnam, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia and Indonesia. This restaurant is across the road from the Sebel Suites which makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

I have to start by saying I do like staying in apartment style hotels for the rooms.

Reservation - When booking this room I did ask for the best room in the place as money was not a issue.

Room - It was large and spacious, but was on the bottom floor, close to the restaurants, hopefully that wasn’t there best room, but it was still OK, I have stayed in better apartment hotels.

Staff - Just your standard staff, nothing to rave about but were OK.

Location - If you want to be close to the city, probably not a good choice, but it is very located next to the harbor, with nice views.

Restaurants - None in the hotel itself, but there are plenty to choose for outside the front door.

Overall - Not a bad place to stay , but not the best either , very good value thou , I would probably choose another hotel next time thou, just seem to be lacking something that I cant put my finger on.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Great value near the water, a little noisy as there are a couple of pubs and restaurants on the ground floor. we landed here and it allowed us to get our bearings, check the rates as we got a great deal to stay here on the weekend as it is used a lot for business travelers and the rates go up on the week days.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zacaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Over the years, I have stayed at this hotel over 50 times (this is not an exaggeration).

I love the location, style and value.

However, I must agree with other posters that this hotel can be noisy. Fortunately I rarely stay on weekends, so most nights it is fine - but occasionally the pubs below decide to pump out music late into the night.

This week I stayed there again and, for one of the very few occasions, actually rang reception at 11pm to ask "when the music downstairs is likely to stop?".

The reception staff seemed genuinely surprised and puzzled by my request - as if being kept awake by pub music at 11pm was nothing to be bothered about. The nonchalant reply I received was "probably around 1am or 1,30am". The staff member was very matter-of-fact about this - as if I was asking him what time breakfast is served in the morning.

Management of this hotel need to seriously consider the relationship they have with the pubs downstairs. The only other time I complained about the noise was a few years ago - when I was assured pubs must close at a certain time (that I cannot recall). However, the pub music went on well beyond this.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was an acquaintance's recommend. She thought we would like it's central location. If you like being smack dab in the center of the big city life this is the place for you.. Lots of nightlife & city noise going on all around this hotel. Just wasn't right for us. The hotel room it's self was nice with a great view of the harbour but our fridge was not working and the carpets ether needed cleaning or replaceing as they had large stained areas.. Loved the heated towel rack in the the bathroom though..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caligram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2009

we stayed in one of the lower floors of the motel but that didn't affect the loveliness of our stay.
the rooms were VERY clean and tidy.
there was a range of drinks and snacks in the minibar and fridge in the room.
the presentation was beautiful when we first walked in.
it had a nice bathroom with all your hygiene needs.
the tv was a hefty size with sport and movies.
the service was pretty good, nice and helpful

the only bad point was our room was right on top of a bar(loaded hog) which was a little bit noisy but it didn't affect my sleep.

all over it was a great stay with a beautiful viaduct right outside your doorstep with cafes and all your needs.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing