We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland Museum

Auckland Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.35*
and up
Auckland Museum Entry Ticket including Maori Cultural Performance
Ranked #2 of 257 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the history and culture of New Zealand through this memorial to those who sacrificed their lives in wartime.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

i am not a Museum person and was not really not excited when my husband said we are going to Museum. But Man Oh Man this place is must visit for all. Even an non Tech, Non Science person enjoyed it. You can see Dinosaurs, Mummy of a child (they got it from Egypt), Volcano simulation.
If not much spend 45 minutes at level 1. you wont regret it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vid-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,667
    1,475
    251
    52
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

For a place for travellers to see the heritage of NZ, they should not have charged us NZD28 for entrance fee. Everything in NZ is payable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank am1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Director at Auckland Museum, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you felt the visit was expensive.

The people of Auckland pay for the museum via their rates. As a result entry to the museum is free to residents of the city on production of the MyMuseum card available to people living here.

Visitation is increasing year on year and although we have made very substantial savings in costs - especially energy costs - we have to cover corresponding growth in volume. We believe it is fair that visitors to Aotearoa New Zealand should be invited to make a contribution.

The entry charge - $25 - for an adult visitor from overseas is set competitively and is a direct reflection of the value of the visit. The museum has collections of international significance. As you note - we trace the history of this nation. We are working hard to maintain and where necessary update the presentation, displays and interpretation in order to give our visitors the very best possible experience.

Thank you for coming to visit our exciting country and this museum; please know that we place great importance on your feedback, which will be taken into account as we plan future years' activities.

Roy Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Really enjoyed this visit - so much to see and very interesting. We had the tour and the extra knowledge was really good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shoppersparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classical elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This museum is enormous, so I advise starting out early. The building itself is classical greek architecture exhibiting Maori culture, as well as NZ geology, animals and birds--including a large stuffed Kiwi--our only good look at New Zealand's elusive icon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paola010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
312 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Too many different themes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

But still worthwhile to visit.
In the ground floor you can understand a lot about Maouri culture and history, this is the best part. Upstairs also is a reconstruction of Auckland shops of the very early ages, also nice. The rest should mixture of wars exhibition and science which in my opinion didn't fit the concept.
Take 3 hours, no more.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auckland Museum also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing