We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auckland Museum

Auckland Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.63*
and up
Auckland Museum Entry Ticket including Maori Cultural Performance
Ranked #2 of 264 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the history and culture of New Zealand through this memorial to those who sacrificed their lives in wartime.
Paradise Point
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

What a fantastic place to visit. Great value, even though as an international visitor we had to pay ... The locals do not. We completely didn't mind this as it obviously pays for the many exhibitions. You can also pay a little extra to participate in the Maori show, but we did not choose to. It would be worth checking out the times if this is what you haven't experienced in the past. The place was huge and well laid out. The lower floor allow you to discover the Maori culture full of many items dating back thousands of years. We also visited the wildlife photographer of the year which was an exhibition on loan from London and it was fantastic. The kids will enjoy this place as everything is easy to view and there are many interactive pieces. We also thoroughly enjoyed the exhibits about volcanoes which allowed you to even experience a real one! The many bird life that was housed in the exhibit were wonderful. The level two is completely about war, ... Completely fascinating. It is housed in a beautiful building that gives you a wonderful clear view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseCoffeeDrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,746
    1,524
    261
    54
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Enjoyed it a lot, very interesting, great gift shop and cafe. The view from the front was impressive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum in beautiful surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great museum positioned in the Domain with stunning views. great exhibits with a lot of NZ and Maori history. A must see for all visitors

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank parsichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Insight Into The History of the Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

As first time visitors to the area, my wife and I only had one day to visit Auckland. We took the Hop on Hop off bus from the center of town and stopped at the Auckland Museum. It was well worth the price of admission and was a pleasure to see the many exhibits and gave us a great insight into the area and the history of Auckland. If you are like us, foreign visitors with only 1 day, this is a must see for the history of the Pacific and the Maori. We were definitely impressed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EspanaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

A stunning building on top of the hill, an amazing sight to see after trekking up the steep pathway from Auckland City centre. Arrived at reception expecting to pay but was advised entry was free as I have a visa and don't count as a tourist! Bonus! Once inside I was amazed by all the beautiful artefacts and my favourite was the Maori house where you had to take your shoes off to enter! Absolutely amazing and huge! I must have spent around 3 hours wandering through this museum! One of the best museums I've been to! Highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaChapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auckland Museum also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing