We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Whilst On A Budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #10 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value Whilst On A Budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Was looking for somewhere cheap to stay while in Auckland visiting friends for a week and decided to pick Jucy, cheap, great accommodation. The only downside in staying their 5 days my room wasn't cleaned once (Unsure if this is common practice or if I was supposed to ask but didn't bother me). Room backed onto alleyway which was a bit noisy but earplugs from a dairy nearby fixed this without a problem. Great facilities, friendly staff who always asked how my day had been when I came back in at night and I was also allowed to check in early as my room was ready. Overall it was a really great experience and I will be staying there again next time i'm in Auckland

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Hi Tane

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent JUCY Experience.

It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. To clarify why your room would not have been cleaned during your stay our property runs off a “plus-plus” model. This means that we offer our guests affordable rates and those guests that would like the extra luxuries (such as housekeeping) can receive these by paying extra for only the services they require. I’m sorry if this wasn’t made clear to you when checking in and I will pass this onto the team.

Wishing you all the best and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Auckland and need a place to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    198
    143
    50
    38
See reviews for
55
191
117
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontevedra, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

the pictures are a walt disney fantasy. real thing is an old hostel, with wall painting peeling out all around. they try to make it look nice by having everything green and purple but it is just not enough. the toilets are dirty, and the shower had hairs. the rooms are too hot, you have to leave the windows open and therefor you get all the street noise at your bed. all I can say is that i would not recommend anyone to stay here. spend a bit more money and make sure you can rest properly.

ooh, yes, they have computers you can pay for. we asked the guy whether they have DVD and he said 'i dont know', we asked whether he could check and tell us, he said 'no, and the computers are not ours' not even looking at us while talking. terrible...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hi there

Thanks so much for taking the time to post comments on your recent stay with us. I’m so sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

The bathrooms & showers on the shared side of our hotel are cleaned twice a day, both morning and night. If our guests do bring to our attention that they are dirty during the middle of the day we do arrange various miscellaneous cleans as and when required. I do apologise that you felt that these were not up to scratch.

All your comments including the ones about the bathrooms, rooms and our staff have been passed onto our management crew. We do appreciate feedback, as feedback is how we can continually improve the experience we offer our guests.

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We normally stay branded hotels.......we booked this for location.......the location is very central downtown Auckland.near Vector Arena. but in a quiet street......I made a mistake on the booking dates but was over awed about the service we got from reception late at night and a week earlier than the booking made!!! We got a budget budget room on night one.........mmmmmmm very budget and noisy not that clean and shared facilities...not usually our gig!! Next 2 nights again thanks to awesome front desk in a room with facilities...quiet, clean and spacious.

Room Tip: The room numbers G01 to G06 are good maybe there are more.....rooms with just a number are the share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. It’s fantastic to hear that our team exceeded your expectations with the customer service you received and they were able change your booking and get you into a room.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you had fun in Auckland. We look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

It's easy to say that the Jucy Hotel Auckland is really cheap but it's all good that I can say about it. The young lady at the reception desk wasn't really enthusiastic about her job. The single room was small and not fresh with almost no daylight. It didn't look as in the pictures. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tygrysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to place your feedback. Its good to hear you found us well priced. Regarding the pictures displayed- We have tried to display the room pictures as real to life as we can. We do have quite a few different rooms, Im sorry to hear you thought the single room with shared bathroom you stayed in did not meet your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feed back, good or bad, we really appreciate it.

Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I recently stayed there for 5 nights in a private double room (with ensuite bathroom). Everything was great! The staff were very friendly and helpful! The room was nice too, the bed was very comfy which made my sleeps really good. There were like 4 pillows in the room which I liked it too. The bathroom was quite big with again lots of towels and shower bath/shampoo also provided. The TV worked fine, from kiwi channels to chinese and koreans. There is a jug and sachets of tea/coffee/sugar if you wanted to have a coffee in the room. I didn't try their coffee on ground floor though. As for the location, it was easy for me to find it as I knew the area pretty well but it's really close to the supermarket, and a short walk to town and the bus stop to/from the airport.
There were only 2 issues: the noise like some others mentioned, I could clearly hear what the people next to my room was talking about, the room doors that kept slamming, the housekeepers in the morning when cleaning other rooms.
Then there is the smell. As you enter the second floor's hallway, there is a really weird smell which was also there in the entire room. It did bother me at first but then I guess, I got used to it. And also, I don't know if it's the case for other rooms, but there is there was no possibility to open the window which can be really disappointing especially on hot summer days or when you just need some fresh air.

However, I will definitely stay at Jucy Hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

My husband & I (no it is not the Queen doing this review!) really enjoyed our stay here. It is great for silver tops like us as our reasonably priced ensuite room was very comfortable.
The international kids staying here were very friendly as we're all the staff.
Will always recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueact92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at JUCY Hotel and everyone was friendly and welcoming. We also loved to hear back from everyone that stays here, even if you are not the Queen! (Im still waiting for her review !??)
Anyway… I really hope we get the pleasure of you staying again.

And thanks again for the awesome review!

Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I would not categorize Jucy as a hotel. The rooms are absolutely basic (bed, little table, coat rack, electric kettle and heater and that’s it, in the bathroom there was not even a hook to hang a towel).
It is not very clean not to say dirty, the windows didn’t close very well, so it’s getting very loud especially over the weekend’s nights.
The breakfast is a real joke - instant coffee, cereals and a little milk. For this money you can have a fantastic breakfast at the café around the corner.
For this basic standard Jucy is far too expensive. Barrycourt Quality Hotel in Parnell is a much better option for the same value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to read that you were not happy with your room or our facilities.

The Hotel rooms are basic with a LCD TV, coffee making facilities and a large wet room bathroom. We haven’t had the request for towel “hooks” before, as we have a couple of towel rails in each bathroom. But we have noted this down.

The breakfast consists of cereal, milk and a barista made coffee weekdays for $7- which we though was pretty good as most coffees in Auckland are around $4 alone. We do realise in the weekend our coffee shop is closed, so the breakfast box comes without a coffee for $4. Im sorry that you found this not adequate, but great that you found a coffee shop that does breakfast for that price!!

We do appreciate feedback like yours as this helps us to continually improve the service we offer our guests, so thank you.

Have a great Day

Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing