We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price!”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Our stay there was nice. The hotel is walking distance to the city and, more importantly, to the free city shuttle stop as well as the shuttle the takes you to and from the airport. the bed was comfortable. plenty of floor space for our suitcases. the ensuite bathroom was very nice. the shower is large enough to fit two people. the windows were a bit tough to open but oh well. it is close to a small park and may be a bit noisey. but then again we were there during some kind of festival so fireworks were going off. i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank galaxyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2008

We stayed there only one night in a double room. I chose the hotel because of its excellent location, close to the railway station. The room was OK, but the light was poor. The bathroom was nice. There is a kitchen that guests can use (we didn't), it is actually the kitchen they use to prepare breakfast.
Overall, it was OK, but maybe a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

They promote themselves both as a budget and a boutique hotel. This is DEFINITELY not a boutique hotel. The rooms are not well lit. The drawer in my room used to be an old office desk and some guests before me thought it was a good idea to try and scratch the paint out of it. Bathrooms OK. Well located. I had to return to Auckland to take my flight back to my country and I decided to stay someplace else. The two different people I talked to at the reception look tiresome and were not very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Aspen House is more like a hostel than a hotel. However, it is centrally located in downtown Auckland, within 15 minutes walk of the harbour, ferry terminal and Queen Street. In a quiet location, ideal if you are doing Auckland on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank merseytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

I booked a triple room 4 months in advance for the first trwo nights of our NZ holiday.
Upon arrival at 1 am my party were told that although the reception guy had booking cards with all our details, no rooms had been allocated for our stay, (apparantly an error made by someone who no longer worked there). After discussions the receptionist phoned his manager and at 3am we were assigned 3 single rooms, obviously in the "older" part of the hostel in the basement # 23 and 25 think. The rooms smelt old and mouldy and they were small with broken old mismatched furniture. The bed linen and towels were stained, ? clean and the bed was old and very small. The shower was in a tiny room and the door did not open properly. The floor was soaking from the leaking shower and the walls in the shower room were slimey from condensation and what looked like mildew and mould. The extraction fan was thick with fluff and sounded like it would blow up at any moment. None of the photos on the internet resembled the rooms we stayed in.
We talked with the manager the following morning (no complaints about the staff) and were not charged for the night and informed that no room was available for the next night, not that we wanted to stay a minute longer than we had to. We were given free internet access to find another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

This hotel/hostel did not live up to its expectations. Our bedroom was minute (for a double) and smelly. There were dirty marks all over the walls, the paint had been scrapped in some areas and the curtains were falling off the rail. The towels had seen better days and were frayed very badly. The 'chest of draws was battered and stained with a completely different mirror propped against the wall. The single chair had a slashed seat and the bed was on wheels and kept moving. This hotel to us looked like a social security bed and breakfast' hostel and our room did not resemble any of the pictures on this website. The only saving grace to this hotel was the location but I would never stay there again nor recommend it. If you do want to stay in this cheap hotel I recommend that you ask to view your room 1st as it appears that the rooms vary considerably.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AnitaandBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

this was not your usual 'boutique hotel' - it was more hostel than hotel.

the rooms were dark and small, and smelt like they were damp or the cleaner had used a dirty cloth to clean with.

the breakfast was an experience! the toaster didnt work and no matter how many times you put the bread on it didn't toast but rather warmed up. it was a fight with guests to see who got the coffee first!

hotel was central to auckland, although on a hill - so even though there was no gym facilities you still were able to get a sufficient workout!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fibee-jibees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £39 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing