We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like the place”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #10 of 59 Auckland B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I like the place”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Jucy in 2012 in the hotel side of the building with en suite rooms and had a great stay. The en suite bathroom was modern and clean and the room came with a large TV and nice towels etc. Back then I booked direct on their website. This time I made the booking though hotels.com and inadvertently booked the budget side of the hotel with shared bathrooms. It wasn't made clear what you were actually booking as the photos showed the hotel style room I stayed in previously. The room was big enough and had a nice comfortable bed but is basic. To be honest it's not a huge amount extra for the premium rooms so well worth the extra. If you do go for the budget side it's still a huge improvement from the nasty hostels in the CBD. I didn't have much interaction with staff but I'm sure they're ok. Overall, I do like the concept of the hotel and highly recommend the hotel arm of the building.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanAU13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for your review. It's always lovely to hear back from a repeat customer! Our hotel does run on a "plus-plus" model, so as you say, people can choose whether they want to pay extra for the little luxuries or stick more to a budget. Guests do love the beds and find them very comfortable.

We hope to see you back again in an en-suite room the next time you visit the hotel!

Cheers,
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    203
    148
    52
    41
See reviews for
57
200
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our Roller Derby team stayed here when we played in Auckland. The Jucy hotel was great. We stayed in the 'hotel' part, not the backpackers. It had clean, tidy and spacious rooms to accommodate our team and supporters. It was a major step-up compared to another hostel we had stayed at a month previously closer to our venue (YMCA).

The only downside - the tree in the reserve opposite was a bit smelly (as it always is at that time of year) and when you stood on the bits that had fallen off the tree onto the grass and walked inside, it stunk out the interior too!

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are great value for money for budget travellers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review! It's great that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we definitely try our best to accommodate people with different budgets, which is why we work on a "plus-plus" model, so people can pay as they go for the little luxuries if they want to!

Sorry about the tree, there is nothing much we can do as the park is owned by the council. However, when the tree is in full bloom in summer, it is actually quite a beautiful sight and many guests enjoy the view!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I don't know where the rooms in the photos were but our room did not look anything like the photos. The carpet was coming up, the window was stuck, the lighting was poor and the whole place is just run down and old. The door handles in the bathroom were pretty much dangling from where they once were. The building needs some serious renovations. Hard to find parking and hostel/hotel parking is $15 a day.
Pro: Staff were nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't expect much and you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinbarnett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hi Erin,

Thanks for the review you posted.

The JUCY Hotel does have two sides – one side offering basic backpacker rooms with shared bathrooms and the other offering hotel-style rooms with private bathrooms. Our property runs off a “plus-plus” model. This means that we can offer guests affordable rates and those guests that would like the extra luxuries can receive these by paying extra for only the services they require.

Parking in central Auckland does command a premium due to location and we apologise for that. Most hotels in the CBD do offer paid parking and at JUCY we have tried to keep parking costs down and make it as reasonable as possible for our guests.

Glad to hear that you found our staff nice and friendly though, and hope that it helped make your stay more pleasant overall!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Liss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Overall we were disappointed with jucy hotel. The room was really cold and there was a fair bit of noise throughout the night. I didn't like the fact that you have to pay to rent a towel. The room was basic to the point that it literally only had a bed in it. It had a mouldly smell. We booked in for 3 nights and then decided to move to an apartment block just off queen street where we paid $9 each more per night and landed a new room with luxurious beds, sky tv, fridge, safe and a free beverage. We stayed there for 4 nights and wished we had gone there from the start. The staff were friendly enough at jucy but if your prepared to pay only a tiny bit extra you will get so much more elsewhere. pros - location pretty good, computers were of decent speed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel works on a "plus-plus" model, where customers can choose to add-on certain features as they go along, which can be very useful if you are on a budget.

Sorry that you felt the room was cold, we certainly want our guests to feel warm and cosy all the time! We'll definitely be looking into ways we can improve that in future. As you said, we have friendly staff who are often very helpful when it comes to making additional travel bookings or even just giving tips on where to go and how to best get there, and we believe that is one of the advantages we can offer over other places to stay in town.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've stayed in Jucy Hotel twice so far and would recommend it to single travelers who are on a budget and don't have very high expectations. I stayed in the single rooms and found them suitable for a couple of nights. You get what you pay for, I guess. I was a bit disappointed because the nightlight had no plug-in close-by. So if I wanted to use it, I needed to move it next to the entry door - which made it obsolete because I had to get up to turn it on and off - so I just used the regular light. The second time, the room didn't even have a light next to my bed. The rooms are very basic: a bed and a little nightstand, and a little place to hang up some clothes (not a proper cupboard). If the site tells you there is anything else in the single rooms, don't believe it!

The single rooms have the disadvantage that the windows open to the back of another building - where they keep the dumpsters. So you don't really want to leave them open. If you spend a lot of time in your room, then it's probably not the best solution for you.

However, if you only want to sleep in your own room, don't want to spend a fortune (and happen to find some of the special Jucy has every now and then) and don't want to have to do with other people much, then this would be ideal.

It's also very close to the centre, so you don't need a car at all.

Room Tip: Single rooms are on the lowest floor and can be quite noisy. Bring ear-plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback, and we will definitely take on board what you said about perhaps having the plugs a bit closer to the beds.

Many customers love the central location of the hotel and as you mention, you can actually walk almost anywhere you want within the Auckland CBD, which saves you having a car! However, we are also always happy to help you book a car or campervan if you wish to travel outside of the central city area.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Auckland and looking for a place to stay!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We only ended up staying 2 nights but it was good. Good central location. Cool little coffee shop they run outside the front. The bed was comfy compared to a lot of hostels. Bathrooms we good and toilet and shower are separate which is always good! Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownAlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback! We love JUCY Coffee too - a great way to get your caffeine fix first thing in the morning, and always appreciated by guests! Hope to see you again the next time you're in Auckland.

Cheers,
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The male receptionist was good and helpful on arrival, he began to seem a bit over it after awhile - maybe i kept bothering him with questions?? Stayed on the hostel side, whilst the colour scheme was nice and cheerful the photos dont quite match the reality. Shared bathrooms (which i was aware of), shower out of order so one for the whole floor - hardly any room to move about. Toilets ok, but people clearly lack the ability to flush - it is disgusting - certainly not the fault of the hotel but seriously is this how people live at home?? Lounge and kitchen small but adequate. Rooms comfortable unless you plan on getting sleep - jucy would do well to change the doors so every time someone leaves their room they dont have to slam it shut - at this time, that is the only way to shut the door - fantastic when you are actually trying to SLEEP!!! The bed was really comfortable and it could have been a good sleep if not for slamming every 15 minutes. Personally, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAYLEY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Hayley,

Thanks for your review. Our cleaners do go through and clean regularly throughout the day but we will definitely take your feedback on board and make sure we keep a closer eye on the toilets from now on! Sorry to hear you did not get much sleep due to slamming doors though. Many of the guests staying over at the hostel side bring earplugs as it can help with any problems getting to sleep. We do have very comfortable beds though, you are right - many people also comment on that!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing