We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a traveller”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here in August 2011, i flew direct from London and was really pleased to find a nice hotel (or you could say very very nice hostel) waiting for me. My room was really nicely furnished, the furnishings are simple but excellent, very clean and very comfortable. The place was was so cheap, i booked 10 nights and was still able to travel around New Zealand, booking to stay in other places, using my room at Jucy as a bit of a base! I had nice tea and coffee facillities, the tv worked brilliantly and it was nice and quiet, they are right in the centre of Auckland and the reception staff gave us loads of good advice about where to visit etc. Wifi was available at an extra cost and they had computers in a shared area for those who didnt have a laptop. My ONLY criticisms would be, i had to ask for my room to be serviced, as after a few days i was still sleeping on the same sheets, using the same towels, the lady on reception was a bit defensive, saying the service reflected the price, i pointed out i was only asking for some clean linen, but she was ok about it and they responded quickly. Oh and when a very very tired looking young girl is struggling up the stairs to the front of the hotel with a big case maybe you should go and help her rather than watch as she continues to struggle haha, just saying! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernic5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your review! So glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service - but our staff are always more than happy to clean the room upon request. Our hotel works on a "plus-plus" model, where people can choose to pay more for all the little extras and helps to keep our prices reasonable. Looking forward to seeing you again in future!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here the night before my flight home. I chose it because of the convenient location and the rather low price. The location is indeed very convenient to explore central Auckland. But you only get what you pay for. I had a single room, which was as basic as it can be. There was a bed and a chair, nothing else. No TV, no bedside lamp, no other furniture. Bathroom was shared. Cleanliness was ok, but not great. Same applied to the service. There is a community kitchen, but they close that around 10 pm (for whatever reason). As I arrived somewhat late, I had no chance to use it, not even to make a tea. Shared bathrooms were hostel style, ok but not great.

Pro:
- very central location
- low prices
- no frills

Con:
- very basic rooms
- kitchen closes early
- slightly noisy

Summary:
Good place in the center if you have to go on budget. Considering the level of quality, the Jucy Hotel is not cheap. If you have some more bucks to spend, you might be advised to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruehstueckspause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for the feedback. We'll definitely be taking your review on board to help us make improvements in the future. Glad to hear that you liked the location though!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Given its great locality, I got value for money with this one. My son and I shared a private room and shared bathroom facilities. The room was very basic with a double bunk and mirror. But what more did we need? We are only there to sleep after all. Internet access was quite cheap. It is certainly better than some of the backpackers I stayed at overseas, but not better than others, which is why the average rating. Bathroom was ok, and there was no line for the 2 showers on our floor. Bed was comfortable. I wouldn't bring my partner here if you want to treat her, but for me and my son, it was perfect and his first experience of what to expect when backpacking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DylanMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear that you managed to share your son's first "flashpacking" experience with him - and hope there is many more to come.

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed two days and nights. Young people receptionist handy helpfull. clean room, nice sleep matters , large bathroom. We did not notice sound around however it might be our good luck. Couple things; if you want new towel bring to receptions used one for replace, you have make up your bed , there is no daily house keeping. We were happy with location is so convenient for reach to Main Street and tourists attraction. Quite reasonable price. I highly recommending to whom need inexpensive hotel but reasonable quality. Only !!! there is no elevator if you have heavy luggage.

Room Tip: Try order large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank managment5680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your review and the four stars! At JUCY Hotel, we operate on a "plus-plus" model, which means that guests can choose to get all the little extras like fresh towels and daily housekeeping if they want to. We don't have an elevator but our reception staff are more than happy to help out with carrying heavy luggage if you ask! Glad to hear you enjoyed the location and found our staff friendly and helpful though!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

As the title said location is great as you are in walking distance to shops, restaurants and public transport. Staff very accommodating and friendly, both reception and cleaning staff. Rooms clean and adequate. Noise would be the biggest issue, doors banging when they close and being able to hear toilets flushing and showers ... check it out when you get your room where you are situated close by to ...

Room Tip: Check where check in is and roads, also, outside drainage pipes for bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback! Glad that you found the location convenient and our staff friendly and accommodating. Sorry to hear that there was a bit of noise around your room, unfortunately that is something that is beyond our control - but most of our guests are normally very considerate and try to keep their noise level down around other guests.

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

a hotel located 10mins walk away from the main streets and shops. one thing was that you could hear other people talking in next room quite clearly, which was a bit annoying for us who tried to get up early the other morning.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank daisy1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback and glad to hear that you found the location nice and close to everything! See you next time you need a place to stay!

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice location situated near the city where all the shops and eateries are within walking distance. Not so convenient for those who need to carry heavy luggages as there was a steep slope leading up to the hotel. Other than that, love the ambience and the rooms are clean. The reception staff were very helpful by helping us to carry our heavy luggages up to our room. Nevertheless, we have a pleasant stay and would not mind coming back again.

Room Tip: Choose the lower floor if you have heavy luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parksong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear that you had an awesome time at the Hotel and enjoyed the convenient location to shops and eateries. We do offer guest parking (depending on availability) at the Hotel as well, at an additional cost per day, so if you have a lot of luggage and are driving, that is an option that could be looked at! Hope to see you next time you are in Auckland!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £39 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing