We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value For Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #11 of 52 Auckland B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel. I thought it would be more like a backpackers, as they have hirecars with young people in them all over my region in the south, so I just assumed. Well, I was very pleasantly surprised! The room was bright and fresh and colourful. It was clean with crisp white sheets on the comfortable bed, and well stocked tea/coffee facilities on the table. The ensuite was huge, the shower had neverending hot water! We had all this plus a late checkout, plus 2 hours free wifi, all for just $59 on a Groupon special!! Now, don't get me wrong, this is no Hilton or 5 star boutique hotel, it is just a great value for money place. Also, it is very close to all you need, right in the city, plus a short walk from where we caught our cruise in Princes Wharf. Lovely reception staff also, who were very helpful in assisting us with bus timetables and food deliveries! Would definitely stay again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisabug1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review! Glad you have a great stay with us and enjoyed the facilities. The JUCY Hotel does have two different styles of accommodation - basic backpacker facilities and hotel style rooms with en suites, so we cater to both backpackers and 'flash-packers'! The location is fantastic for exploring the city, and making the most of what Auckland has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    199
    144
    51
    40
See reviews for
55
194
119
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed a night in a triple room (3 sisters) prior to our P&O Cruise on Pacific Pearl. The room was clean, spacious and great comfortable beds. Easy walking distance to wheel our luggage down to Queen's Wharf. Nice en-suite but this could include some hooks to hang clothes on. Definitely value for money and recommend to others wanting central accommodation at a great price.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room on lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Janne,

Thanks so much for your review, glad you had a great time at JUCY Hotel before setting off on your Cruise! Your feedback has been taken on-board, we always like getting feedback from our guests. See you again next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We returned this morning from a night in Auckland to go to a concert at Vector Arena. We didn't want to pay too much given we were going to be in the room only a few hours but wanted somewhere close to the Arena where we could park the car. Everything went extremely well. They were easy to get to, off the motorway, we were fortunate that there was an available car park underground (they told us there was plenty of parking a short distance away if their car park was full but I don't know how true this is), the room was basic but clean and tidy, the reception staff very friendly and helpful and it was a few minutes walk to get something to eat and drink before the concert. After the concert it was a 10min walk back to the hotel. The room could have done with double glazing to keep the noise from the streets out but thankfully we were too tired for it to keep us awake for too long. We found our bed to be very comfortable. Our night cost us $126 (double room) including parking which I think is excellent value given the location. I would definitely stay here again, if I was going to the arena, although perhaps not if I was staying longer than one night. Note to management: A shelf in the shower would be useful to put the toiletries on but good to see decent sized cups provided for hot drinks. Better than those poultry sized ones you normally get in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 879DebbieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review! Hope you had a fantastic time at the concert - and enjoyed the location of the JUCY Hotel! There is a car parking building a couple of hundred metres down the road that customers can use when JUCY's underground parking is full. Glad that you had a great nights sleep and we'll see you again next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The room had a smell of bleach that was rather unpleasent and the beds were very uncomfortable but overall this hotel is exactly what I expected, a basic hostel, so no major complaints. We did ask on the phone if there was parking to which the reply was 'yes', although they didn't mention the $15 charge which would have been nice to know before arriving.
It is an excellent location, very close to Queen St, however I know there are cheaper and nicer hostels out there so don't think I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hc_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you found the beds uncomfortable. Being located in the city centre is great for our guests exploring the city, but being centrally located does mean that parking is in limited supply. Our JUCY car park under the hotel is available for our guests to use at $15 per day. We're glad you enjoyed the location and hope you had a great time in Auckland!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have stayed before and love this hostel for the perfect location (close to vecter, queen st etc) but this time unfortunately we had a really awful receptionist. The woman was really condescending when two of our party of four picked up the room key and she said we hadn't paid more than a deposit - the girl who's credit card was charged was not there so the others wanted to check that she had only been charged the deposit before paying more. The girl at reception was patronizing and rude - and again in the morning when we were leaving and splitting the bill. She said she has to explain this issue to people 10 times a day so we are wondering if the explaination at time of booking is flawed. Either way the woman on reception was awful and really put a downer on an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for the review and for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you found a staff member to be rude. We have raised this issue with JUCY Hotel Management and this is being looked into further. The location of the JUCY Hotel is close by to many popular attractions and activities in Auckland, and we hope you enjoyed your time in Auckland!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel showed a good price on the internet but when we arrived there they asked $120 for a twin room. We had a good sleep and the room was nicely equipped. The bathroom was spacious but could have been cleaner. The staff was friendly. The only (huge) con is the smell. There is an absolutely horrible smell of poo all around and inside the hotel !!! When we first arrived we decided to go elsewhere but we couldn't find any other available place to stay in the city so we came back... the only place without this terrible smell was inside the room, but it smelled like they sprayed something to hide the smell... I've seen worse places but I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabichfabich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review. The smell you are referring to is the Ginkgo trees in the park out the front of the hotel - around this time of year (autumn) the fruit produced by these trees creates this smell as they ripen and fall. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the smell from these trees. Glad you had a great night sleep and enjoyed the facilities of the room!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Jucy is a straight and simple concept, located in walking distance to the city center. It could just as well be called a hostel as many of the rooms share a bathroom. I stayed on the first floor which shared only one shower, that was in the only bathroom with a sink - so if you want to either wash your hands or have a shower in the morning, you must be patient. You also have to pay for using the wifi (this however seems pretty usual all over Auckland). All in all a pretty average place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review! The JUCY Hotel does have two sides – one side offering basic backpacker rooms with shared kitchen and bathrooms, and the other offering hotel-style rooms with private bathrooms. There are three floors on the backpacker style side of JUCY Hotel, each with toilets, showers and bathroom. Glad you have a good stay with us, and enjoyed the location! See you next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
2,582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing