We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable and Close to Vector Arena”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #10 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable and Close to Vector Arena”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just a room with a bed. As it was a twin room It was a bunk bed with double at the top, but that was OK. The place seemed clean. It was not too busy, never had to wait to use the amenities. It wasn't too noisy, I was there on a Thursday night. I think the price was reasonable, it was the best option I could find in my price bracket at the time. It was very handy to walk to the concert at Vector Arena and also walk to other places like Sky Tower and even Parnell, though we caught the bus back from Parnell. It is basically a hostel rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pichelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review! The JUCY Hotel does have two different styles of accommodation - basic backpacker facilities and hotel style rooms with en suites, so we cater to both backpackers and 'flash-packers'! The location is fantastic for exploring the city, and making the most of what Auckland has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    201
    147
    51
    41
See reviews for
57
199
119
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Jucy in a twin room with shared bathroom. The room was clean and bathroom facilities were also relatively clean. Great value for the price paid. Friendly staff and great location - just a short walk from Customs St and Queen St.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi there,

Glad you had a great stay with JUCY! The Hotel is in a great location for exploring Auckland city! Thanks for your review. See you next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The double hotel room was very well appointed, nice and clean and generally pretty sharp. You get what you pay for typically however this you get a little more than what you can or do get else where for similar dosh. Niggly things like the heater not working, a small stain on bed sheet and slightly dirty shower pale to what a decent nights sleep you can get. Not bad.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Jackie!

Glad you had a good time at the JUCY Hotel. Sorry to hear that your heater wasn't working. We do have staff on hotel reception 24 hours a day and they are more than happy to help with problems like these. Our beds are comfy and great to hear you had a good nights sleep! Thanks for letting us know, and for your review.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Jucy Hotel is a great cheap option in central Auckland. It's location just 5 mins off Queen Street is great for accessing all parts of the city.
However, avoid room 117 if you can (family room) - it smelt terrible and was noisy both from the garage door and also the street. The window may as well have not been there for all the good it was.
Despite that, the beds were comfy enough and the en-suite convenient.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Neil,

Thanks for your review, and your feedback about room 117! Apologies for the smell of the room - unsure as to what this was, but we do have staff on hotel reception 24 hours a day who are available to help with any issues you have. Glad you had a great nights sleep, and made the most of the great location in Auckland City!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We originally booked a double room in the backpacker bit with a shared bathroom. We then upgraded to an en-suite room when we saw how filthy the bathrooms were.
Our other room was really nice and very clean. A very comfy bed.
The staff are all really nice & polite.
We used the kitchen which is very small but it's okay because hardly anybody uses it.
We'd probably stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi there,

Glad you had a great stay with up and enjoyed the facilities the JUCY Hotel has to offer. Sorry to hear that the bathrooms weren't clean - we do have cleaners who regularly clean all of the common areas of the Hotel. This information has been passed onto Hotel Management to follow up. We often get great feedback on how comfy our beds are! Thanks for your review, and we'll see you next time you are in Auckland.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spent the weekend at Jucy....was well worth it when travelling on a budget. The room was clean and tidy and just a short walk to the Auckland cbd....I'll be back later in the year for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theghost2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review! Looking forward to seeing you next time you're in Auckland!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel. I thought it would be more like a backpackers, as they have hirecars with young people in them all over my region in the south, so I just assumed. Well, I was very pleasantly surprised! The room was bright and fresh and colourful. It was clean with crisp white sheets on the comfortable bed, and well stocked tea/coffee facilities on the table. The ensuite was huge, the shower had neverending hot water! We had all this plus a late checkout, plus 2 hours free wifi, all for just $59 on a Groupon special!! Now, don't get me wrong, this is no Hilton or 5 star boutique hotel, it is just a great value for money place. Also, it is very close to all you need, right in the city, plus a short walk from where we caught our cruise in Princes Wharf. Lovely reception staff also, who were very helpful in assisting us with bus timetables and food deliveries! Would definitely stay again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisabug1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review! Glad you have a great stay with us and enjoyed the facilities. The JUCY Hotel does have two different styles of accommodation - basic backpacker facilities and hotel style rooms with en suites, so we cater to both backpackers and 'flash-packers'! The location is fantastic for exploring the city, and making the most of what Auckland has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#38 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing