We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, perfect location”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Reviewed 4 July 2014

From the beginning of our 2 week stay, the staff where super friendly, informative and went beyond & above for us both. Lovely sized double room with wash facilities close by. Toilets, showers and common area's are always spotless. Cool common area's with a chilled out vibe. Great coffee bar! House keeping available and 24 hour security. Great value room's, no frills-no hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNialls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your great feedback - glad you had a great time and felt part of the JUCY family! JUCY coffee is a good way to start the day for sure! Looking forward to seeing you next time!

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Jucy Snooze
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a double ensuite room on the ground floor round the corner from reception. The room itself was functional with no frills. It was clean if a little tatty. Jucy branding runs throughout the hotel and it's in a nice part of town.

Although the hotel location is excellent and the price is cheap I would not return or recommend a stay here if you want a decent nights sleep. We could hear people walking above us, outside our door, footsteps just seemed to echo and people seemed particularly prone to clomping up and down stairs here.

Overall, it was just far too noisy with people screaming and shouting into the wee hours and generally ignoring the "no excessive noise after 10pm" signs. I am aware it is also a hostel but it was by far the noisiest and worst policed hostel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi there,

I am sorry to read about the noise issues and feedback about your stay. The JUCY Hotel does have two different styles of accommodation - basic backpacker facilities and hotel style rooms with en suites. The backpacker side of the JUCY Hotel does have shared bathrooms, toilets, kitchen and lounge and due to this there is a lot more movement around this area. I have passed on your feedback to the Hotel Manager who is looking into the noise issues further. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, and hope you had a great time in Auckland.

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just a room with a bed. As it was a twin room It was a bunk bed with double at the top, but that was OK. The place seemed clean. It was not too busy, never had to wait to use the amenities. It wasn't too noisy, I was there on a Thursday night. I think the price was reasonable, it was the best option I could find in my price bracket at the time. It was very handy to walk to the concert at Vector Arena and also walk to other places like Sky Tower and even Parnell, though we caught the bus back from Parnell. It is basically a hostel rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pichelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your review! The JUCY Hotel does have two different styles of accommodation - basic backpacker facilities and hotel style rooms with en suites, so we cater to both backpackers and 'flash-packers'! The location is fantastic for exploring the city, and making the most of what Auckland has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Jucy in a twin room with shared bathroom. The room was clean and bathroom facilities were also relatively clean. Great value for the price paid. Friendly staff and great location - just a short walk from Customs St and Queen St.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi there,

Glad you had a great stay with JUCY! The Hotel is in a great location for exploring Auckland city! Thanks for your review. See you next time!

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The double hotel room was very well appointed, nice and clean and generally pretty sharp. You get what you pay for typically however this you get a little more than what you can or do get else where for similar dosh. Niggly things like the heater not working, a small stain on bed sheet and slightly dirty shower pale to what a decent nights sleep you can get. Not bad.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Jackie!

Glad you had a good time at the JUCY Hotel. Sorry to hear that your heater wasn't working. We do have staff on hotel reception 24 hours a day and they are more than happy to help with problems like these. Our beds are comfy and great to hear you had a good nights sleep! Thanks for letting us know, and for your review.

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Jucy Hotel is a great cheap option in central Auckland. It's location just 5 mins off Queen Street is great for accessing all parts of the city.
However, avoid room 117 if you can (family room) - it smelt terrible and was noisy both from the garage door and also the street. The window may as well have not been there for all the good it was.
Despite that, the beds were comfy enough and the en-suite convenient.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hi Neil,

Thanks for your review, and your feedback about room 117! Apologies for the smell of the room - unsure as to what this was, but we do have staff on hotel reception 24 hours a day who are available to help with any issues you have. Glad you had a great nights sleep, and made the most of the great location in Auckland City!

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We originally booked a double room in the backpacker bit with a shared bathroom. We then upgraded to an en-suite room when we saw how filthy the bathrooms were.
Our other room was really nice and very clean. A very comfy bed.
The staff are all really nice & polite.
We used the kitchen which is very small but it's okay because hardly anybody uses it.
We'd probably stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi there,

Glad you had a great stay with up and enjoyed the facilities the JUCY Hotel has to offer. Sorry to hear that the bathrooms weren't clean - we do have cleaners who regularly clean all of the common areas of the Hotel. This information has been passed onto Hotel Management to follow up. We often get great feedback on how comfy our beds are! Thanks for your review, and we'll see you next time you are in Auckland.

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland Central
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £32 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing