We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff, great value, best stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #10 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing staff, great value, best stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at Jucy hotel for 1.5 month and it was really really a perfect accommodation for me! I stayed in the backpacker part of the hotel but I had my own room, with shared bathrooms and it was from far the best accommodation in Auckland I ever saw: great for small budget (or higher depending on the room you choose), it's really clean, functional and the location is perfect, at 2 minutes from the center but located in a quiet and lovely place (if you step by, check out the amazing trees of st Emily place)! You have the possibility to rent cars, get internet, buy breakfast boxes, cook, store your food and watch tv in the nice lounge of the hotel. For me it was really the best combination between a backpacker and an hotel, cheap and simple, but safe, clean and with the possibilities to meet and talk with so many nice people whenever you want!
For the previous review about the noise, well indeed it was quite noisy last week end, but it was really bad luck I think, there was a box tournament at that time and obviously, many people staying at this hotel for the occasion had apparently for only goal in life to make as much noise as possible, despite the big effort of the night staff to avoid it. However, it was the only time it happened in all my stay (and I used to work on my thesis day and night), and the staff apologized 1000 times for that, so well, bad luck for those who stayed at that moment, really, but I think they will avoid that in the future.
To conclude this review, I think the best part of Jucy is the staff itself, from the day and the night as well: so nice, so helpful, so friendly, they really contributed to make my stay in Auckland very easy and enjoyable, I never had such a nice staff in any other hotel I stayed before, so thanks a lot to them!!
Oh, a last thing if you have the chance to stay there, I really recommend Charlotte's coffee at the entrance! It made my day everyday!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carine530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the JUCY Hotel. It is a great location to explore the city, and is close to everything you need. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Auckland.

In regards to the noise, you are correct that last weekend was not the usual for JUCY Hotel. There was a UFC tournament in town, and some of the hotel guests were attending. Our Night Manager did everything in his power to control the noise. We do apologise for the noise, as it was out of character for the JUCY Hotel.

Thanks again for your review!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    198
    143
    50
    38
See reviews for
55
191
117
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel/hostel is quiet close to harbour and shops. The rooms are clean and tidy. There is no lift We had to pay extra for parking. The staff where ok not overly helpful. We did not use any services at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twixbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review! The location of the JUCY Hotel is very central to Auckland City! Glad you had a good time at JUCY and hope you enjoyed Auckland!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

From the beginning of our 2 week stay, the staff where super friendly, informative and went beyond & above for us both. Lovely sized double room with wash facilities close by. Toilets, showers and common area's are always spotless. Cool common area's with a chilled out vibe. Great coffee bar! House keeping available and 24 hour security. Great value room's, no frills-no hassle.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNialls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your great feedback - glad you had a great time and felt part of the JUCY family! JUCY coffee is a good way to start the day for sure! Looking forward to seeing you next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a double ensuite room on the ground floor round the corner from reception. The room itself was functional with no frills. It was clean if a little tatty. Jucy branding runs throughout the hotel and it's in a nice part of town.

Although the hotel location is excellent and the price is cheap I would not return or recommend a stay here if you want a decent nights sleep. We could hear people walking above us, outside our door, footsteps just seemed to echo and people seemed particularly prone to clomping up and down stairs here.

Overall, it was just far too noisy with people screaming and shouting into the wee hours and generally ignoring the "no excessive noise after 10pm" signs. I am aware it is also a hostel but it was by far the noisiest and worst policed hostel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi there,

I am sorry to read about the noise issues and feedback about your stay. The JUCY Hotel does have two different styles of accommodation - basic backpacker facilities and hotel style rooms with en suites. The backpacker side of the JUCY Hotel does have shared bathrooms, toilets, kitchen and lounge and due to this there is a lot more movement around this area. I have passed on your feedback to the Hotel Manager who is looking into the noise issues further. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, and hope you had a great time in Auckland.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just a room with a bed. As it was a twin room It was a bunk bed with double at the top, but that was OK. The place seemed clean. It was not too busy, never had to wait to use the amenities. It wasn't too noisy, I was there on a Thursday night. I think the price was reasonable, it was the best option I could find in my price bracket at the time. It was very handy to walk to the concert at Vector Arena and also walk to other places like Sky Tower and even Parnell, though we caught the bus back from Parnell. It is basically a hostel rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pichelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review! The JUCY Hotel does have two different styles of accommodation - basic backpacker facilities and hotel style rooms with en suites, so we cater to both backpackers and 'flash-packers'! The location is fantastic for exploring the city, and making the most of what Auckland has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Jucy in a twin room with shared bathroom. The room was clean and bathroom facilities were also relatively clean. Great value for the price paid. Friendly staff and great location - just a short walk from Customs St and Queen St.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi there,

Glad you had a great stay with JUCY! The Hotel is in a great location for exploring Auckland city! Thanks for your review. See you next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The double hotel room was very well appointed, nice and clean and generally pretty sharp. You get what you pay for typically however this you get a little more than what you can or do get else where for similar dosh. Niggly things like the heater not working, a small stain on bed sheet and slightly dirty shower pale to what a decent nights sleep you can get. Not bad.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Jackie!

Glad you had a good time at the JUCY Hotel. Sorry to hear that your heater wasn't working. We do have staff on hotel reception 24 hours a day and they are more than happy to help with problems like these. Our beds are comfy and great to hear you had a good nights sleep! Thanks for letting us know, and for your review.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing